Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous & Magical
This set looks fantastic. It has a cardboard sleeve and the main box inside is large, solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. If you have all the sets together, they are quite phenomenal to behold! Inside there is a 'Creating The World of Harry Potter' photo album and this contains photographs of many of the Harry Potter film sets. There is also a paper...
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by Quinn

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but a disappointing Blu-Ray
The film is wonderful, for me clearly the better of the two Christopher Columbus 'family films', and in many ways my favourite before the obsession started with making Harry Potter increasingly 'darker'. Extras are not bad including around nine minutes of deleted scenes and numerous behind the scenes features. But the main issue here is the Blu-Ray quality and that is why...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Mr. Blu


‹ Previous | 122 23 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film :-), 22 Mar 2002
The books are fantastic, so the film has alot to live up too. The casting is faultless. The special effects are superb. Diagon Alley, Hogwarts and Quiditch are all fantastic. Like some others have said, the only drawback is that the film does leave out large sections of the book, thats Hollywood I guess. I would happpily have sat through a three hour "Dances with Wolves Epic" to see the whole book trascribed to film. Cant wait for the DVD, next book and next film to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars still waiting, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
still not been received which is a shame as the other items ordered arrived within a couple of days of ordering, but since this is the first harry potter needed in the series its a shame we are still waiting x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed by Lord of the rings, 10 Jun 2002
By A Customer
On the big screen this would get a 3.5/4 rating but it doesnt translate well to VCR, as some of the handsome production values are lost e.g. the approach to Hogwarts at night and the dining hall sequences. On the plus side some of the characterisations are well realised especially Snape, the Dursleys and Hagrid, although Snape is pretty much relegated to a cameo appearance which is a definite minus. Ian Hart was miscast as Quirrell as was the actor who played Malfoy. Unfortunately for 'HP', 'Lord of the Rings' hit the screen soon after, and was in all areas far superior, making 'HP' look like a Channel 4 low-budget kitchen sink drama. It would probably be advisable for the next 'HP' sequel to be screened a good few months after 'The Two Towers' this christmas to avoid being overshadowed again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harr Potter Philosopher's Stone, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. S. C. Bissell (Hertfordshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always intended to buy the DVD's from the Harry Potter films and I will enjoy sitting down to watch them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly void!, 12 May 2002
By A Customer
I'm insulted that this was the best the Warners could do! If you just want the film, by all means buy this DVD the film has never looked better. If you want more depth and want to know how the film was made then avoid this DVD. There is nothing on the second DVD and it's a constant hassle to navigate, not to mention that none of the sections are clearly labeled. It looks nice, but says nothing. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the second, 20 July 2007
Overall this was a pretty good movie. It had good acting. It had an exciting adventure and was quite original. I'm still surprised though how famous the movie became. I'd quite probably recommend it. 3 out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - But not as good as the book!, 4 Jun 2002
By 
Ms. Rebecca Hancox "Becky" (Pontefract, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Harry Potter is a creation of genius. J K Rowling has achieved something amazing here. I waited for the film in anticipation and am glad to say that on the whole Harry's transition to the big screen was successful. Rupert Grint is amazing as Ron Weasley and Alan Rickman is delightfully sinister as the wonderful Snape and Daniel Radcliffe is about as convincing as anyone could be as Harry - it must have been difficult finding just the right person.
All of the cast are incredibly convincing in their roles and they have remained true to the wonderful storyline - missing just a few moments out.
This is a great family film for ALL the family and I would recommend it to anyone. It makes you laugh, cry, scream with fright and on the whole make you want to watch it again and again.
The only reason I have given it four stars and not five is simply because the film is great but the book is better.
I would definitely recommend the widescreen edition of this DVD though, even if you've got a normal TV. I've seen both and the extra features you get far outweigh the problem of having a couple of lines at the top and bottom of the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just For Namesake, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
Honestly - that's all that the fuss is over. "If it's Harry Potter, it's got to be brilliant." But actually, the film is quite disappointing. Apart from Diagon Alley and Gringotts, which stuck very close to the book, the rest wanders. Some scenes went too fast, others went too slowly. Some parts didn't even make sense, and others were skipped completly. The book is far, far better - and at least then you can imagine it all for yourself, and see the characters and scenes as you want to see them, without the need for it to be brought to life by a over-hyped film based far too loosely on the original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews