Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TH1RT3EN PROVES LUCKY FOR REVITALIZED MEGADETH
In 2010 when Megadeth were in the middle of 20th anniversary tour for metal masterpiece "Rust In Peace" as well as playing the album from start to finish most of the other material played was also older tracks from the likes of "Peace Sells", "So Far, So Good..So What? and "countdown To Extinction" only a couple of tracks from current album "Endgame" made the cut, this...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by nin/ja77

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice album...
Th1rt3en is a nice, well-produced album. Is that what you want to hear from Megadeth? Nice?
Well, I don't anyway...This album is more in the vain of Cryptic or Youthanasia rather than the great Peace sells or Rust in Peace or Endgame but without the novelty those had at the time of their release.
Rather short tracks, predictable structures, silly lyrics (Black...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Phil On


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Belter From Megadeth, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
I was a little worried about this album after hearing it had been thrown together and contained 4 rehashed songs. I needn't have been because this album is modern Megadeth on top form. The production is not as crisp or as clear but has all the power and raw energy the songs need. It was a good move as the bass drum really thumps through and the guitars are fatter in sound. The rehashed songs are excellent and suit the flow and feel of the album. I personally would have opened the album with Never Dead with FastLane second but that's just personal taste. Megadeth have delivered (again), it's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting better, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
I had very, very high hopes for this album. I must admit to being a bit disappointed although thirteen albums in you would think I'd know what to expect. Megadeth, even at their height, struggled to be consistent enough to create full albums, normally they have a few incredible tracks with the rest being fair to middling filler Th1rt3en is a strange beast. This time all the songs are generally quite good but there aren't any massively good songs; it does however stand together more as an album. Who knows maybe we are close to getting a modern day Megadeth classic with the next album, or the next two albums, maybe.

If you are new to Megadeth go straight to their earlier stuff then jump to this one. A word of warning which I feel is relevant to the album ; if you ever have the chance to hear or read about anything that Dave Mustaine has to say on anything please try and avoid it he has a habit of saying incredibly stupid things and it can ruin the joy of hearing his albums. This problem is reflected thankfully only partially in the sometimes quite childish lyrics, which are a particular weak point of the album.

Seeing the pictorial representations of all thirteen albums and trying to guess which is which is particularly fun and a nice plus point to quite a nicely laid out booklet.

Sudden Death: Nice beat, nice lead. There is a weird feel of Judas Priest's `Sad Wings of Destiny' it sounds oddly like the introduction on there. While a little bit mid paced as a Megadeth opener, it's a very good song.

Public Enemy No 1: I know its poppy and it's supposed to be the single but damn I can't get this song out of my head. Fast paced and so funny, love it.

Whose Life (is it anyways?): I like the music on this track but it really does sound like Mustaine's mum caught her son wearing eyeliner and stopped him going out, unfortunate.

We the People: This song has a really good staccato riff, screaming leads and good vocal spit.

Guns, Drugs and Money: Apart from a stupid effect applied to the vocals on the pre-chorus it's quite a good rock song, it has that alcohol fuelled night out feel to it. More sleazy rock than thrash but it's still a highlight.

Never Dead: Marching band drums, followed by a heavy but possibly over simple track.

New World Order: Moments of superb riffing and amazing leads, towards the end anyway, the first half of the song is a bit flat

Fast Lane: One of the best tracks, musically anyway.

Black Swan: No waiting just squealing guitar introduction, the rest of the track feels like it should be faster, but it does have a nice groove.

Wrecker: The guitars are full of bounce on this song, very danceable.

Millennium of the Blind: Quite disjointed, there are good sections but I think there are just too many ideas wedged together.

Deadly Nightshade: The verse riff reminds me of Weezer's `Hash Pipe' song.

13: Soft track done well.

None of the songs stand up to Megadeth's earlier stuff and the lyrics deserve minus ten, however even after all that you can still get a lot out of this album. It's not a classic but it is getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So far but not as good, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
As you may gather so far so good so what is my favourite Megadeth record. This offering from Dave Mustaine is ok with a few tracks tearing up the ear drums. However thirteen has a number of also rans on it and these follow the pattern of records such as Risk which is not the greatest Deth album. If you love Megadeth then buy it if you only like then so far so good so what!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eighties window down, volume up, power rock., 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
If like me you rocked out to Metallica, Maiden, Alice Cooper and Megadeth in the eighties, then this album will appeal.

I haven't managed to sit through more than 15 minutes of Megadeth from 'Rust in Peace' onwards, but this album takes me back.

Yeah, they were good times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just simple megadeth going back to just being pure awesome, 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
i can't say it enough, this album is awesome, they re did sudden death new world order and millennium of the blind to sound as polished as the rest of the album with out over doing, there are a few songs which are pretty forgettable but they do kind of grow on you, the main song on this album, 13, is truely the best song on the entire list, if you love megadeth you will want to buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
The Meagdeth album is alot better then the Metallca LULU. In th1rt3en it is alot like thair previous album Endgame. However when i bought LULU i was expexting it to be alot like death magnetic...Its nothing like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Awesome Album., 31 Oct 2011
By 
Behzad Ansarinejad (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
Pretty much everything I expected from a Megadeth album!
Now I have even more Awesomeness on my Ipod! \m/ (^_^) \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOD DAYUM IT'S AMAZING, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
It might not be Rust in Peace but its a very good almost return to form by Megadeth. Prefer second half of the album with some faster riffier pieces. If you like Megadeths other stuff and this is more Countdown to Extinction than Rust in Peace or So Far So Good then its well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong as ever! \m./\m/, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
Megadeth once again delivers true, no bs metal to it's fans unlike some other bands with metal in their name and no longer in their music. Thirteen is an epic album, amazing songs, great vox, kick butt riffs like only Megadeth can provide and solid song structure. Great lyrics too, this record has it all \m/\m/ HAIL MEGADETH!!!! \m/\m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fast(track) lane, 9 Nov 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Th1rt3en (Audio CD)
I am a long-term fan of Megadeth dating back to the release of Peace Sells onwards. But unfortunately I cannot force myself to think of this as anything other than mediocre or average. It does not sound like a heavy metal album, more of a heavy rock one, and most of the tracks here have been recycled in one way or another. On top of that the tracks themselves are not particularly earth-shattering. After the release of Endgame I hoped that the Megadeth of old was back. Sadly, on the evidence of 13, this is not the case. However on the plus side, this does smack of contractual obligation to release an album as opposed to the band writing songs they want to release. I hope this is the case and album no 14 returns to at least Endgame quality.

'Sudden Death' was written in 2010 for the Guitar Hero game so it has been around for a while. It's an ok song, got a nice sneery vocal from Dave, some nice riffs but ultimately it's a good song, not a great one. 'Public Enemy No 1' is better and a 'new' song for this album. It does play like a rock track though and sounds slightly dated. The production on the album is noticeable here as this track should spark and ignite with power; instead it feels quiet and dampened. 'Whose Life' and 'We The People' may also be new tracks written for 13 (all good considering much of the material is not) but they are not great. Again, sounding like generic rock tunes with no discernible worth. Choruses are all ok but they should be stunning. 'Guns. Drugs and Money' follows the same template. A very boring song. 'Never Dead' is better. The riff is fantastic and it has some 'oomph' but it fails ultimately as a song. It was written for a computer game.

'New World Order' was written yonks ago and didn't even make it onto Youthanasia. That said, sadly it is probably the best track on here, bar one other late arrival. Angular and interesting, it is actually a pleasuarble song to listen to. 'Fast Lane' is as 'Guns, Drugs and Money'. Bit boring in music and theme. 'Black Swan' is the other saving grace of this album. It's aproper Megadeth track that has great driving riffs, chugs the bar chords sufficiently and exhibits a very good chorus indeed. Not a classic (there are no classics herein alas) but a quality tune and one worthy of playlistability. 'Wrecker': see 'Fast Lane'. 'Millenium of the Blind' is another left-over from Youthanasia and is not really as good as 'New World Order'. In tone it reminds of 'Dawn Patrol' from Rust... but not even a whisper of its genius exists here. 'Deadly Nightshade's riff was apparently created in the Youthanasia sessions so it's not entirely new either. And it's not entirely interesting also. Run of the mill just got a new name. The title track is ok. It's another trawl through the Mustaineadeth genealogy, surmising that they are all still standing after the obvious highs and lows of being a recognisable and fallible rock group.

And long may they continue. But not if they keep writing throwaway MOR material like this. They have had their share of peaks and troughs since (probably) Countdown to Extinction but have always bounced back. It would maybe be better if they took longer between releasing albums in order for them to get some GOOD songs together. Unless the well of creativity has already dried up? Endgame did not show evidence of this. And the fact that this really does feel like a b-side-with-bonus-tracks kind of a release to honour a contract is a point towards the positive as well.

Sadly an average album from a legendary band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Th1rt3en
Th1rt3en by Megadeth
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews