Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brothers and Lovers
Michael J Davidson's story of a doomed love affair in a small South African city in the 1950's is an engaging read. Brothers and Lovers is his first novel.

The relationship between the teenage Crystal (Afrikaans) and her Jewish boyfriend Raymond is bitterly opposed by her right wing anti-Semitic father. Also his orthodox parents forbid continued liaison...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Dr. S. Issroff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Hardly great literature but an easy and sometimes funny read. On a couple of occasions I laughed out aloud. On the whole enjoyable.
Published 2 months ago by Mr M Herman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brothers and Lovers, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Dr. S. Issroff (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
Michael J Davidson's story of a doomed love affair in a small South African city in the 1950's is an engaging read. Brothers and Lovers is his first novel.

The relationship between the teenage Crystal (Afrikaans) and her Jewish boyfriend Raymond is bitterly opposed by her right wing anti-Semitic father. Also his orthodox parents forbid continued liaison . Family conflicts and sibling rivalry abound! He leaves the city to study in Johannesburg and has other relationships. There is pathos as the death of his younger brother from a brain tumour is described with deep emotions coming though.
One of the funniest episodes is on the liner up the east coast of Africa where he is willingly seduced by an older woman, whose fiancé joins the boat at the next port.
The ribald humour moves well, often with a fast flowing dialogue.
There are many complexities and twists to this novel, and it gives an excellent portrayal of life in a white middle class environment in the Apartheid era.
I thoroughly recommend it as a very good read and look forward to sequels from the `Portnoy of Port Elizabeth!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brothers and Lovers, 27 April 2010
By 
David Stroud (Harrow, Middx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
This is essentially a historical novel, tracing the fortunes of a Jewish family over a period of more than 50 years. It is an authentic account of the political and cultural problems of South Africa, and in that sense I found it quite educational. The details of everyday life are fascinating.

It portrays ideological clashes within the family and a fair amount of sibling rivalry. In the tradition of Romeo and Juliet and Westside Story, the Jewish protagonist and an Afrikaans girl fall in love, attracting the wrath of their respective families.

Although the novel is an action-packed page-turner, the characters are well-drawn and believable. The intimate physical scenes, of which there is no shortage, are very well written.

In some novels phonetic spelling can be a problem, slowing the reader down, but not so in this case. It is so expertly done that it greatly enhances the reader's enjoyment. You effortlessly hear the South African and Jewish accent.

The novel ends in a surprising, unconventional way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers and Lovers, 26 April 2010
By 
Nicola Sarfo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
A truly outstanding book. I struggled to put the book down. The writer cleverly brings a saga of politics, romance and religion into this delightful novel full of unlimited twists and turns over a period of 50 odd years. You can never guess the next part. In every chapter you read, you will be gripped to the edge of your chair desparate to find out what will happen next and whether there will be a happy ending for everyone.

A short (so the reader does not get the feeling they are reading a history text book!) but clear insight of South African politics merge with the complications of different religions. The writer does not hide the normal 'silent' truths of such reality, instead, he tells us in black and white, exactly what the outcome can be from complicated backgrounds, in this case, an orthadox Jewish man and a young Afrikans lady with a father of severely right wing anti-Semitic views.

If Michael is planning a sequel to this book, (which I hope he is) he's going to have a hard job to match the magnificance of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larger than the average paperback, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Simon G. B. Lucas (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
A really good read. I found it difficult to put the book down! Politics, religion, romance and many suspenseful twists and turns should make this book a best seller. The author cleverly uses historical events to help the reader remember what life was like in the fifties, sixties and seventies.

Raymond, the leading character, is both a scoundrel and a lovable person and so believable in the way he copes with family struggles and anxieties.

If Michael Davidson writes another novel, he will find it hard to improve on this first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers and Lovers - an unforgettable read!, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. NMA O'Leary "Nicola Anthony" (Harrow, Middlesex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
I have just finished reading Brothers and Lovers and feel the need to share my views on what has been a most wonderful read - I highly recommend it! This is a book that once I started reading, I found very hard to put down! Michael Davidson writes a very honest account of growing up in 1950s South Africa, with Raymond being the central character. The story details his life as a young man, falling in love for the first time, dealing with conflicts and politics and its effects in later life. I really didn't want this gripping story to end and if you plan to read Brothers and Lovers, prepare yourself for a few twists, shocks and catastrophic events - particularly during the final chapters! When I had finished the book, I was left wanting more and my head was buzzing with so many questions. Here's hoping Michael Davidson will write a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers and Lovers, 8 Nov 2009
By 
C. Bray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
Books about sex and politics have always sold well, and there is no reason why this book should be any different.

The politics concerns Apartheid in South Africa and its effect on various members of a middle class Jewish family. The sex centers on the hero, a virile South African stud, as he grows up in South Africa and moves in later chapters to England. The author has cleverly introduced each chapter by setting out the world events, both political and cultural, that cover the period contained in this riviting story.

The book is well written. However, I have a small quibble with one of the early chapters where the author uses phonetic spelling when quoting the South African vanacular, which I found slowed down my reading. Don't let this put you off. It is worth the effort, as the rest of the book is a pleasure to read.

I understand this is the author's first book and I look forward to his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, 7 Nov 2009
By 
A. Nagle "Booklover" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Paperback)
Loved this book. It has believable characters, pacy dialogue and the perfect mix of low and high emotional moments. 'Brothers and Lovers' personalises the brutal truths of apartheid without ever being preachy. Looking forward to a sequel !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Kindle Edition)
Hardly great literature but an easy and sometimes funny read. On a couple of occasions I laughed out aloud. On the whole enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable family saga, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Kindle Edition)
Such a nice easy read that makes you think of families and how true these situations are - worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers and Lovers (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book with its setting in the part of SA that I know, the relationship between the brothers and the dramatic conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8ac954)

This product

Brothers and Lovers
Brothers and Lovers by Michael J. Davidson
1.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews