Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars safari 3d
Interesting documentary not the commercial likes of attenbourgh but fresh and enlightening. The filming with the use of 3d was great and the close ups of wild animals was fantastic IMPRESSED
Published on 10 Jan. 2012 by Michael R. Silcocks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I miss Steve Irwin
Steve could have salvaged this badly written and acted "documentary"... Very poor 3D, it looks like they converted this to 3D. It has the cardboard stand-up look of 3 layers of 3D, not true depth of objects. I own probably 30 3D blue rays, underwater and dinosaur documentaries plus many 3D movies for the grandkids. This is the worst one that I own and I would not...
Published on 8 Dec. 2012 by 18wheelhigh


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars safari 3d, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Interesting documentary not the commercial likes of attenbourgh but fresh and enlightening. The filming with the use of 3d was great and the close ups of wild animals was fantastic IMPRESSED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply grrreeeaat ..., 19 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Safari 3D may not be a BBC production, often synonymous with impressive nature documentaries, but it is a pleasantly surprising underdog with impressive 3D technology being using subtly and sympathetically.

Although subject matter may have been done before, Safari treks having been followed frequently, the 3D element really adds (literally) another dimension that makes Safari an enjoyable and impressively original watch for the whole family.

Hunter Ellis is a likeable guide and adds to, rather than encroaches on, the footage that is put together in a well thought through collection of wildlife goings-on and impressive natural behaviours.

Well worthy of a watch. Grrrreat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Safari - Bargain 3D Trip!, 29 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
There are quite a number of these 3D documentaries now availble and as one reviewer points out those filmed in Imax are amongst the very best. What that reviewer doesn't point out is that, more often than not, you also get little more that 40 minutes run time for you money from those discs. Safari 3D gives you around 90 minutes which, given the price, is a good start. The content is also very good - yes, the tour guide is a bit on the cheesy side and it quickly becomes clear you are not in the company of David Attenborough but rather a Crocodile Dundee type. So what?, this is a fun trip not a university lecture and it is all the more charming, I think, because of the guide (Hunter). Some of the scenery is stunning and the close up and personal shoots of a variety of animals often quite beautiful. I'm not sure what one or two other reviewers were watching but the quality was generally excellent - crisp, clear, vivid - typical HD quality for this kind of disc. As for the 3D? Generally very good, sometimes excellent, with very good depth, clarity, and no discernable crosstalk (ghosting)or camera judder, etc. Some scenes were clearly not 3D but these really were nothing more the brief moments and usually transitional, between events, or during narration. Some of the 3D is actually quite impressive (e.g. the village scenes, and the elephants) though if you are looking for those 'pop out' moments you will be disappointed. The real strength of this 3D disc is in some of the depth and perspective it creates, giving a real sense at times of 'being there' without actually over baking the 3D imaging just for its own sake (as some do). One is left with the impression of having been somewhere without leaving the sofa and having the jabs! Is it perfect?, no, by no means - the narrative isn't great at times, there are occasion 2D moments (if viewing in 3D), and sometimes the pace is a little slow and lumbering. But overall this is an excellent 90 minutes of African magic. Regards those comments claiming the 3D and/or picture quality is poor, shakey, whatever - either I have an extra good 3D TV (I don't) or I strongly suspect they haven't properly set up their TV. Proper set up is crucial for good HD and this is even more the case with a 3D set up. So, to sum up, for less that 9 quid (on Amazon at present) as I say it's great safari and a bargain 3D trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant In Depth Film, 5 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Excellent narrative film with suberb close up shots of the animals
Well worth watching for young and old alike
You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
A really breathtaking way to view a safari documentary. This really is one made for 3D, very well thought out and filmed to really enhance the viewing. I've been on safari and it is the best way currently to share my experience, with this documentary you really get a sense of the landscape and the awsomness and majesty of nature. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D excellent, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
This DVD is to date the best 3D I have watched.It bring so much realism to the screen it is the only format I will watch in future for wildlife DVD's. The presenter is not up to Attenburgh standards but fortunately he does not intrude too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ON SAFARI, 12 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Like just being on safari great buy for those who appreciate great HD 3D quality highly recommended not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safari 3D, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Purchased this only to be dissapointed that I already own it under the title -Safri Africa 3D.The cover is differant and title changed slightly to catch the consumer.I thought it was a second edition and was very disapointed,shame on the ones responsible.I will say fantastic viewing but dont be caught as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I miss Steve Irwin, 8 Dec. 2012
By 
18wheelhigh (Lawrenceville, Ga) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Steve could have salvaged this badly written and acted "documentary"... Very poor 3D, it looks like they converted this to 3D. It has the cardboard stand-up look of 3 layers of 3D, not true depth of objects. I own probably 30 3D blue rays, underwater and dinosaur documentaries plus many 3D movies for the grandkids. This is the worst one that I own and I would not recommend this to anyone. Even for a 2D documentary. I should rate it 1 star but trying not to burn them any worse. Dang, I even think Jack Hanna could have done a better acting job. I do not understand why some 5 star reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad in 3D, but not without it's problems...., 21 May 2012
By 
ymo1965 (Peterborough, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
I have viewed 'Safari 3D' via a 3D projector and have to say i was quite pleasantly surprised by how good it was. The background music is quite fitting for the african setting and much of it was real nice. It was however not without it's problems. There was one scene that might not be suitable for children and i found it a little icky. Natives welcomed the host into there village and extracting blood (pouring) from a live animal and then seeing the host drinking the blood afterwards. I found this a little shocking when i can guess many families might not be expecting it (i know i wasnt). If this sounds like it might upset your household then avoid. There were also times when the 3D would slip back to 2D and back again over a space of a few minutes. I have no idea why they would mix 2D and 3D footage together. Did they think we wouldnt notice? If i buy a 3D documentary i expect it to be all in 3D. I know it was only a few scenes, but just something that niggled me. The host did at times make a few comments which were silly/not professional for a documentary like this. The volume level with the commentary at one point was washed out with the sound of singing/chanting natives and i couldnt hear a word he was saying. A bit poor and not well put together really. I think us brits do a far better and more polished job of making such films. Apart from these few niggles, i enjoyed it and most of the photography was really quite impressive up close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray)
Safari 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-Ray) by Hunter Ellis (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews