Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing
This book was not particularly scary, but a much more interesting read ,as written by someone who is willing to broach the possibility of the supernatural with an open mind and in doing so, allows the reader to believe that amongst the show men (or show women) who do nothing more than ridicule the possibility of the supernatural, there are those that are trying to find...
Published 13 months ago by carole

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm
After reading some of the other reviews I was looking forward to some interesting tales. I can't say I was disappointed some if the stories are very interesting. If you are expecting to be terrified of even slide to the edge of your seat I'm afraid you may well be disappointed. I've been more frightened going to the bathroom in the dark. However a reasonable summary if...
Published 19 months ago by Michael Scahill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 8 Sep 2013
By 
carole (canterbury, kent, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
This book was not particularly scary, but a much more interesting read ,as written by someone who is willing to broach the possibility of the supernatural with an open mind and in doing so, allows the reader to believe that amongst the show men (or show women) who do nothing more than ridicule the possibility of the supernatural, there are those that are trying to find natural explanations to unexplained phenomena and in doing so prove that sometimes, it could actually be real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've bought two books by this author and really enjoyed reading both, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've bought two books by this author and really enjoyed reading both. A lot of paranormal authors are either over dramatic or they tend to be too boring lol Peter Drake makes an excellent balance of both and his books are hard to put down. Hope her writes more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Occult Horror, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
These 13 tales are accounts of various haunted buildings and areas around Britain and areas associated with occult practices. Some of these accounts are scary, Clapham Wood being one such example. A very good, spine-tingling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of occult horror, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
As with Peter Drake's previous book 'tales of ghostly horror' this book involves stories mostly from around the British isles.
The book is short but keeps you entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
an enjoyable book, some heart stopping moments,not one to read before bed.ok for on a sunny day sunbathing, or with the lights on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
Smashing read loved it shame no pics though. Quite a short book sadly but have bought his other book book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror, 30 Jan 2014
By 
CAS (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
I am not really interested in horror but thought I would give this book a go. Good read if you like horror stories, a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
After reading some of the other reviews I was looking forward to some interesting tales. I can't say I was disappointed some if the stories are very interesting. If you are expecting to be terrified of even slide to the edge of your seat I'm afraid you may well be disappointed. I've been more frightened going to the bathroom in the dark. However a reasonable summary if some haunted venues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
These thirteen (now there's an occultish number) really did leave me with a terrible sense of dread and the creepy feeling I was being watched. This type of book is quite rare, although Eerie Britain is in this mould. I love witchcraft and of course, the Pendle Hill witch trials of Lancashire have left a creepy uneasiness in the area where they took place, and I would implore anyone who can to visit Pendle. Denny Abbey is also the subject of one tale, and without spoiling the ending, can I just advise the reader not to read this book with the lights off?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff, but a captivating read, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tales of Occult Horror: Real-life Encounters with the Supernatural (Kindle Edition)
Having read the author's previous book that I really enjoyed very much, I thought that I would read this follow up. This book focuses more on the occult and darker aspects of the paranormal. These is a good variety of material, from lesser known locations through to larger, more infamous cases. Some of the details are really quite scary, and in some cases a little disturbing. However, despite that, it is a captivating read and I just could not put it down. If you liked the first book, then you will love this one. Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews