Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2013
This celebration of Delius' music includes some of his finest works from some of his finest interpreters: favourites like 'On Hearing the first cuckoo..' sis alongside comparative rarities such as 'Cynara' and 'Late Swallows' from the likes of Barbirolli, Beecham, Handley and Hickox. Wonderful stuff! Sound quality (as burned onto blank CDs is excellent. Five stars' worth indeed!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have recently acquired a taste for early 20th century British classical composers. Butterworth and Vaughan-Williams are a delight but this is the stand-out play. Soothing yet strong, easy on the ear, yet deep. A must listen for fans of this era.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
More than two and a half hours of Delius might seem daunting to some. Ghastly chromatic harmonies, yes there are a few. But not many, for this album is full of surprises and many rewards. Just look through the list of titles and see how many times the words 'summer' and 'song' appear. The first surprise is that this album contains not only sumptuous orchestral music but choral: a most enchanting two-minute piece for wordless choir "To Be Sung On A Summer Night". Absolutely beautiful.

The next surprise is the outstanding quality of the woodwind playing from various British orchestras, that wonderful lyrical style that distinguished 'English' players from those on the Continent. Sadly this is gradually being replaced by a sort of Euro style as players move between countries. Who were these wonderful players? We may never know, but the unmistakable playing of Terence MacDonagh, Beecham's principal oboist, can be heard in Sleigh Ride.

Overall this album deserves its title 'Essential Delius'. It captures the very special mood of this powerful, romantic, visionary, and unique composer: 'summer in a bottle', and frankly for £2.49 you can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
Having heard a programme on the BBC about Delius, I was curious, only remembering `On hearing the cuckoo in spring`. I have been used to associating Amazon with books but lo, an excellent selection of CDs including Delius was available. I chose the `essential Delius` and it is well worth getting. Amazon.co.uk were their usual excellent selves in delivery of the product.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
What an exquisite couple of discs!!! Sadly Delius has suffered relative neglect here along with other very fine 'British' composers like EJ. Moeran, Arnold Bax, John Ireland and Sir Granville Bantock. I accept Delius was from German stock and lived much of his life in France but many musicians regard him as quintessentially British, English even! These two discs offer a reasonable cross section of his work and how beautiful much of it is too. When I was a child during the mid 1940s I had an uncle who played Delius very frequently on 78rpm shellack discs using equipment with thorn needles which always seemd to require re-sharpening in the middle of each side of the 12" discs. Happy memories!!

This edition apperas to be a re release and is excellent value for money!!

Peter Winterton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
At last we've thrown out our record player so I've nothing to play my Delius records - this is better than the record - lot more music on it and it doesn't take any space whatsoever!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A charming collection of the works of Delius. Despite his living in France there is something quintessentially English in his compositions. Perhaps distance adds charm but he is certainly a great miniaturist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
As a lover of Delius and having worn out all my old vinyl albums of his music, I was very glad to find this downloadable album on Amazon. Nice performances and quality MP3's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
I am a huge fan of Delius and this cd captures all of his most brilliant pieces of music. A must for newbies and oldies alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Peaceful, flowing music. If you've never taken hallucinogenic drugs, you don't have to, just listen to Delius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£12.89

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)