Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top-value download for Delians, 9 Mar 2013
By 
A. I. Wilkinson (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary (MP3 Download)
This celebration of Delius' music includes some of his finest works from some of his finest interpreters: favourites like 'On Hearing the first cuckoo..' sis alongside comparative rarities such as 'Cynara' and 'Late Swallows' from the likes of Barbirolli, Beecham, Handley and Hickox. Wonderful stuff! Sound quality (as burned onto blank CDs is excellent. Five stars' worth indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of its kind, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius (Audio CD)
I have recently acquired a taste for early 20th century British classical composers. Butterworth and Vaughan-Williams are a delight but this is the stand-out play. Soothing yet strong, easy on the ear, yet deep. A must listen for fans of this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 12 July 2012
By 
J. Maycock "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius (Audio CD)
Having heard a programme on the BBC about Delius, I was curious, only remembering `On hearing the cuckoo in spring`. I have been used to associating Amazon with books but lo, an excellent selection of CDs including Delius was available. I chose the `essential Delius` and it is well worth getting. Amazon.co.uk were their usual excellent selves in delivery of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary (MP3 Download)
Some great tracks to listen to & for the price of the album, its well worth the money, very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of Delius and this cd captures all of his most brilliant pieces of music. A must for newbies and oldies alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacing old vinyl records, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary (MP3 Download)
At last we've thrown out our record player so I've nothing to play my Delius records - this is better than the record - lot more music on it and it doesn't take any space whatsoever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delius under revival!!, 2 April 2013
By 
P. Winterton (YORK U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius (Audio CD)
What an exquisite couple of discs!!! Sadly Delius has suffered relative neglect here along with other very fine 'British' composers like EJ. Moeran, Arnold Bax, John Ireland and Sir Granville Bantock. I accept Delius was from German stock and lived much of his life in France but many musicians regard him as quintessentially British, English even! These two discs offer a reasonable cross section of his work and how beautiful much of it is too. When I was a child during the mid 1940s I had an uncle who played Delius very frequently on 78rpm shellack discs using equipment with thorn needles which always seemd to require re-sharpening in the middle of each side of the 12" discs. Happy memories!!

This edition apperas to be a re release and is excellent value for money!!

Peter Winterton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary (MP3 Download)
As a lover of Delius and having worn out all my old vinyl albums of his music, I was very glad to find this downloadable album on Amazon. Nice performances and quality MP3's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Summer, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius: 150th Anniversary (MP3 Download)
More than two and a half hours of Delius might seem daunting to some. Ghastly chromatic harmonies, yes there are a few. But not many, for this album is full of surprises and many rewards. Just look through the list of titles and see how many times the words 'summer' and 'song' appear. The first surprise is that this album contains not only sumptuous orchestral music but choral: a most enchanting two-minute piece for wordless choir "To Be Sung On A Summer Night". Absolutely beautiful.

The next surprise is the outstanding quality of the woodwind playing from various British orchestras, that wonderful lyrical style that distinguished 'English' players from those on the Continent. Sadly this is gradually being replaced by a sort of Euro style as players move between countries. Who were these wonderful players? We may never know, but the unmistakable playing of Terence MacDonagh, Beecham's principal oboist, can be heard in Sleigh Ride.

Overall this album deserves its title 'Essential Delius'. It captures the very special mood of this powerful, romantic, visionary, and unique composer: 'summer in a bottle', and frankly for 2.49 you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Delius [Double CD], 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delius (Audio CD)
A recent TV documentary on Frederick Delius made me realise that I only possessed the Piano Concerto and the First Cuckoo. This double CD set gives 150 minutes of Delius' principal works and represents extremely good value. I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews