Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Adjustable and Discreet.
This came in an inordinate amount of packaging, which wouldn't usually be worth a mention, but surely goes against the ethos of the Amazon Basics range, which is to provide the essentials without all the unnecessary extras that come with most name brands?

However, the item itself is hugely practical and just about every strap has maximum room for adjustment, so...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Bruce

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good for small packings.
It's a good product. It feels safe, rather rain proof and hold tight.
BUT it's small... Like really small. Wich is good and Bad.

I have a 6D with a 24-105 L, a 50mm, a rain shield, few memory cards, few lenses and the bag is PACKED.
I will NOT fit my flash into it.
And the 6D with a vertical grip does NOT fit into the bag.

So beware,...
Published 15 months ago by Artek


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Adjustable and Discreet., 24 April 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This came in an inordinate amount of packaging, which wouldn't usually be worth a mention, but surely goes against the ethos of the Amazon Basics range, which is to provide the essentials without all the unnecessary extras that come with most name brands?

However, the item itself is hugely practical and just about every strap has maximum room for adjustment, so this should really be - one size fits all. Inside, this fits well with most DSLRs and being black, also tones well with popular brands like Nikon. The bright orange interior ensures that you won't lose any small black parts - like lens covers - that you would have done in a black interior. It also makes a nice contrast that looks good as well as being ultimately practical.

The interior dividers can be adjusted - they have velcro ends which can be placed where you like - but are set up perfectly to take a DSLR like my own Nikon D3100 and a few spare long lenses, plus other essential bits and pieces. There is a main unit in the middle, which would take the camera body and lenses, then there is a separate compartment on top which could be used for anything else and means the expensive items are in the safest place and can be isolated, if necessary. Each part can be accessed separately with zips.

This is a small unit and basically fits a one camera set up - so is aimed at the "amateur/hobbyist" end of the market. A pro would want more than one camera, more lenses and more back up than you can fit in this pack. However, it is good for what it is and discreetly carries a DSLR without advertising its presence unecessarily, due to its black and unbranded exterior.

A useful addition to the Basics range and for those who want to get out with their camera and not worry too much - practical, adjustable and discreet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Backpack for the money!, 27 July 2012
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This is an excellent backpack for the money, I got it on lightening deals but even without the extra discount it's only around 30 euro shipped to Ireland. The backpack is a perfect size to carry a DSLR with lens attached plus flash and an extra lens.
Great for going on hill walks or a family outting. It also has a pouch on top for lunch, water etc!

I have no hesitation in recommending this product, it's well put together and cushions the gear snuggly. Its very comfortable to wear when out walking and sits very securely on your back.
It isnt too big or too small and it carries all the essentials for a days leisure photography. I now take it with me at all times in the car just in case a photo opertunity arises.
You won't be disappointed and at the price you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basically the best bag for £20 - also; see link to waterproof cover, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
For the money this is a great sling backpack. Once you've configured the inside to fit your kit there is no stopping you. The bag has a couple of straps to stop you opening the zips the whole way thus preventing you from spilling the entire contents on the ground. In the main compartment I have been able to fit my D90 spare lens and speedlight flash, all with room to spare. I tried one of the configurations shown in the 'images' for this bag, but you have to open the bag fully to access the camera - this is not a good thing when you have it slung round your shoulder - rather you want the camera to be the most accessible item in the bag (See photo from Eric.D) this is how the bag is supposed to work! The bag also has a top compartment 7x5x3" - it's pretty useful for accessories but not very accesible in the slung position. The bag also has a zip at the base which conceals a stirrup to hold the base of your (small) tripod, should you wish to strap one to your bag. The sling shoulder strap is secured at right-angles with a small strap coming from the bottom of the bag to half-way up the main strap - this makes for a very secure fit and means the bag doesn't slip around your shoulder and neck. As the description states the orange interior helps you identify kit inside - I imagine this would make a great beacon if you found yourself stuck on the side of a mountain with no mobile service and a broken leg (dont forget to photograph the rescue team on their approach - never missing an opportunity!)

The only thing I'd want extra with this bag was a waterproof cover, otherwise a super bag, I'm still going to give it 5 stars. UPDATE: found Tatonka Kid Pack Rucksack Rain Cover - Up To 20 l, Spring - here on Amazon for just over £7 - Went for the smallest size backpack cover I could find to ensure a snug fit. Well it arrived this morning and it fits really well - great if you get stuck out in a sudden downpour or showers it tucks away in its own little bag about the size of a tennis ball (but more squishy) - I stow mine in the top compartment, sorted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera backpack, 20 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I am only a new hobby photographer, so did not want a bag that was too flash or expensive, but which was still practical. This is perfect for a single camera, a couple of lenses, and a selection of odds and ends. I have a Cannon AV 1, with a 55mm lens attatched, a 55mm macro lens, a flash, and odds, like cleaning tools and spare batterys and there is still a reasonable amount of space left. It also holds a reasonable sized tripod on the side. (I have a Slik compact 2.) The inner compartments adjust easily,without being too flimsy, and are well padded. The bag itself is made of fabric, but is still reasonably firm and well padded. The best thing about it, is being able to whizz it around your body from carrying position to your front so you can rummage around in it with both hands, without the whole trying to find somewhere safe / dry / out-of-the-way thing!
All in all, I find it a nicely thought out and comfortable bag, and am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good for small packings., 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
It's a good product. It feels safe, rather rain proof and hold tight.
BUT it's small... Like really small. Wich is good and Bad.

I have a 6D with a 24-105 L, a 50mm, a rain shield, few memory cards, few lenses and the bag is PACKED.
I will NOT fit my flash into it.
And the 6D with a vertical grip does NOT fit into the bag.

So beware, if you are serious about photography, you might want to go to a bigger model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I like this bag. Mainly for the reasons coming from the negative reviews. This bag IS small. But I knew this when ordering. How? Because I read the description and was one of the main reasons I bought it. It's a day bag. Not a complete carry all of your camera gear. You pack it with the kit you may use for the day. Going for a walk/trek, you don't need your separate flash gun. Going to a party, you need your flash but not your super zoom! Being small, cuts down on the weight you carry also. If you want a bag that carries everything, you will need to spend more.

I saw complaints that the inside was garish orange. Well, most insides are. As camera equipment is almost always black, it's nice to be able to have a bright background.

I saw someone mark the bag down because it would not sit straight on their back, and sat diagonally. Well it's a sling bag. That's how they sit. If you want two straps, buy a rucksack.

The bag itself seems to be made pretty well. Nice material inside and out. Lots of ways to configure the insides. Lots of padding.

Personally, I'm going to use this bag for my Fujifilm HS10. A large bridge camera, with a x30 zoom. I actually put it in the top compartment(nice and snug, easy to get at), leaving the large bottom compartment for my filters plus a drink/snack, mobile, iPad mini etc.

All this and the price is all that I wanted and expected. Why then only 4 stars? It will be five if, after using it lots, it holds up in the field.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great size, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Great bag and fits loads in it. Have my camera, 3 lenses, filters and also the top pocket takes the phone, wallet and some snacks for when you're out. And I have room to spare. Also used as hand-luggage when travelling abroad and still,fitted in everything I needed. But doesn't feel massive or too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tardis Bag!, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
You can get an unbelievable amount of kit in these bags. I have 2 camera bodies and 4 lenses in mine, plus a load of accessories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice bit of kit.., 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I have been looking for a bag to transport my old Nikon 5000, with attached battery grip, in. It's amazing, and very evident, that the majority of this type of bag (or backpack style too) doesn't come with enough depth unless you're prepared to fork out a lot of cash for a Lowepro or similar make.

So it was with a little trepidation that I ordered this AmazonBasics bag. I need not have worried as it turns out to be perfectly suited to the job and will comfortably accommodate everything I need to carry.

Ergonomically it sits well across the body and I like the addition of the little retaining strap that secures it even more than just the main strap. The bag moves round smoothly to access the internals, everything is readily to hand once it's open. The inclusion of the two small snap buckles means the user can't inadvertently open the bag too far when it's being carried. Nice touch. And I like the inclusion of the integral tripod/monopod 'holster' which tucks away neatly at the bottom of the pack.

All in all it should do exactly what I want it to do. I don't go in for 'extreme' photography, I just want something that will afford my camera and lenses reasonable protection and that will let me carry it all in comfort. I do believe I've found the very thing.

Excellent price, excellent order/delivery timescale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camera back pack, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I'd been looking for a decent bag to hold my camera and some extra stuff and finally found this item.
This is a great bag for your camera equipment. Managed to pack two SLR's and two compact digital cameras, extra lens and still had room for more.
Nice little pocket at the top for camera cards and notebooks etc.
Easy to access the cameras in a hurry and the back pack feels remarkably comfortable to wear. Perfect for what I needed it for.
Delivery was an other matter though, I paid for next day and it didn't arrive, had to wait an extra day!
Amazon were very good and apologised and offered to refund my money or replace the item for something similar, luckily it arrived the following day.
All in all a great little bag a bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AmazonBasics Sling Backpack in Black for SLR Cameras
£18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews