Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2016
Every politician, both here and in the USA should be forced to read this book. Rothbard should be on the curriculum in every school.
This book really does explain how we all might be experiencing true independence and freedom from our enemy, the state. Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
Most people today think that the government is both good and necessary. Rothbard demolishes both these propositions.
Rothbard first outlines the classical liberal theory of human rights,that each person is an end in himself with a right to their life, liberty and property which trumps any claim about the "good of society". He then shows how governments, which are supposedly set up to protect these rights, have always and everywhere been their chief violators.
By insisting that the government be subject to the same moral standards as individuals Rothbard shows that warfare is murder, conscription is slavery and taxation is robbery.
Having proven the immorality of the state Rothbard then goes on to show how unnecessary it is, and indeed how much better off we'd all be without it. He shows how private charity would provide for the poor (not that there'd be many) in a free market society better than the "welfare-warfare state" forever dispelling the myth that socialism is the best way to relieve poverty (and that socialism in fact causes and perpetuates the misery it is supposed to cure).
He also demonstrates how protection from crime could be supplied more effectively and more morally by private security and courts than is currently supplied by the government monopoly of these services.
For a new liberty explains how all manner of services might be provided without coercive government including schooling, roads, environmental protection and economic stability.
Rothbard has a tremendous talent for destroying many of your preconceptions and will forever change the way you look at society and the state, at every point demonstrating an extraordinary depth of scholarship and clarity of thought which will leave you wondering how you didn't "get it" before.
If you believe in free markets and civil liberties this book is for you. If you're a socialist you'd also benefit from this book as it is the best guides for understanding what it is you oppose. (Rothbard is to libertarianism what Marx is to communism) If you've never heard of libertarianism and you want to know what it's all about this is the perfect introduction by the man who more than anyone else helped launch the modern libertarian movement.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
This is serious stuff and you have to work at it. It's not an easy read. However this man takes liberty seriously. For this reason it's worth reading. You'll find your self rubbing your chin and thinking hard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2002
So there is only one way to tell if we are real Libertarians. This is the book. This book is not radical except to those who are kaffeeklatch Libertarians. As we read this book it clarifies what we were already thinking. It is just nice to see it organized and spoken about. Normally we do not mark up good books but in this case if our high liter does not go dry, we missed something.

One of my favorites is:

As we have seen, police service is not "free"; it is paid for by the taxpayer, and the taxpayer is very often the poor person himself. He may vary well be paying more in taxes for police now then he would in fees to privet, and far more efficient, police companies.

Well if we made it through the book, we are the real things.

If not you still have a chance to be radical and confuse everyone with "A Piece of the Action" by Louis O. Kelso. If you can't find it, then "Democracy and Economic Power: Extending the ESOP Revolution Through Binary Economics"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2002
The book, after a short introduction, opens with the axiom which the Libertarian Creed rest upon: "that no man or group of men may aggress against the person or property of anyone else".
The consequences of this axiom is outlined in a lot of areas in the book. The consequences are quite intriguing like privatising the courts, the police, the military etc. (Abolish the state altogether since it break the axiom above).
If you want to read a book that may change your deep preset assumption about a lot of areas this is it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 July 2013
So there is only one way to tell if we are real Libertarians. This is the book. This book is not radical except to those who are kaffeeklatch Libertarians. As we read this book it clarifies what we were already thinking. It is just nice to see it organized and spoken about. Normally we do not mark up good books but in this case if our high liter does not go dry, we missed something.

One of my favorites is:
As we have seen, police service is not "free"; it is paid for by the taxpayer, and the taxpayer is very often the poor person himself. He may vary well be paying more in taxes for police now then he would in fees to privet, and far more efficient, police companies.
Well if we made it through the book, we are the real things.

If not you still have a chance to be radical and confuse everyone with "A Piece of the Action" by Louis O. Kelso. If you can't find it, then "Democracy and Economic Power: Extending the ESOP Revolution Through Binary Economics"

Conceived in Liberty (4 Volume Set)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Within these pages you will find a simple, logical and uncomprimising destruction of the states moral claim to mould and control the individual.

In an era of increasing economic intervention, state surveillance and nonsense laws - this is essential reading.

For the price of a Big Mac meal £3.21 ($5.50): my perspective is forever changed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 March 2005
So there is only one way to tell if we are real Libertarians. This is the book. This book is not radical except to those who are kaffeeklatch Libertarians. As we read this book it clarifies what we were already thinking. It is just nice to see it organized and spoken about. Normally we do not mark up good books but in this case if our high liter does not go dry, we missed something.
One of my favorites is:
As we have seen, police service is not "free"; it is paid for by the taxpayer, and the taxpayer is very often the poor person himself. He may vary well be paying more in taxes for police now then he would in fees to privet, and far more efficient, police companies.
Well if we made it through the book, we are the real things.
If not you still have a chance to be radical and confuse everyone with "A Piece of the Action" by Louis O. Kelso. If you can't find it, then "Democracy and Economic Power: Extending the Esop Revolution Through Binary Economics"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Been meaning to buy this book for ages. This edition and special price was irrestible! I can even read it without glasses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
A concise and well written introduction to Austrian economics and the libertarian movement in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.