Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any avid fan of this period in history
Could not put down the book once I began reading -- just looked on amazon and found it is part 1 of a trilogy -- need to read the other two parts ...the ending is a decent cliffhanger!
Published 14 months ago by Jo Varma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better fiction books about this period out there
One of the lesser books available on that period in Roman history. Characters hardly believable, quite a few facts questionable. Have read a couple of books by Ludlow set in post-war Britain (Frederick Troy series) which are a goodly cut above this.
The Pillars of Rome compares poorly with his other work. There are better fiction books about this period out there,...
Published 7 months ago by Carlo Kergenmayer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better fiction books about this period out there, 14 Nov. 2014
One of the lesser books available on that period in Roman history. Characters hardly believable, quite a few facts questionable. Have read a couple of books by Ludlow set in post-war Britain (Frederick Troy series) which are a goodly cut above this.
The Pillars of Rome compares poorly with his other work. There are better fiction books about this period out there, such as Steven Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa or Lindsey Davies' Didius Falco series, both whodunnits with a very solid historical background and great fun to read besides.
Am going to avoid the rest of Ludlow's Rome books... but certainly not his other work! Hence the 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For any avid fan of this period in history, 29 April 2014
By 
Jo Varma (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Could not put down the book once I began reading -- just looked on amazon and found it is part 1 of a trilogy -- need to read the other two parts ...the ending is a decent cliffhanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... through this book but i find it interesting and easy to read i find often on stories set many ..., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
am only about halfway through this book but i find it interesting and easy to read i find often on stories set many years ago you have problems keeping track of all the names not so with this one interesting to see that some political characters have not changed over the years the only differance is its not so easy to kill off the opposition looking forward to reding the rest of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thepillarsofrome jack ludlow, 3 May 2011
could not put it down when only half way through i order the second book in series so i would not have to wait to finish the story so its all go to finish i will be looking for more from this writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All as described and delivered promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First in a great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Pillars of Rome, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of Roman politics drags on a bit I have not finished it yet
I may give it up and call it a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews