Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING NEW INSIGHT INTO THE HISTORY OF THE FREEMASONS
This is one of the great key-stone books of the popular history/religion genre.
The Hiram Key combines an interesting review of the history with some compelling theories, fascinating new ideas, and informed speculation.
The book is essentially a review of the mysterious history of freemasonry in the light of information from ancient Egypt and Christian...
Published on 4 Oct 2001 by Tim Acheson

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It's stories I'm telling you"
Like one of the previous reviewers I have come to realise that this book has it's pitfalls. Poorly squared conclusions, leaps of imagination and to an extent an agenda that drives the narrative. But to those who attack it's content with all the vigour of the inquisition I would say this, "what are you so scared of?"

It is obvious to the discerning reader, as...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by ark


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING NEW INSIGHT INTO THE HISTORY OF THE FREEMASONS, 4 Oct 2001
By 
Tim Acheson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the great key-stone books of the popular history/religion genre.
The Hiram Key combines an interesting review of the history with some compelling theories, fascinating new ideas, and informed speculation.
The book is essentially a review of the mysterious history of freemasonry in the light of information from ancient Egypt and Christian scripture. A revised version of historical events is proposed, and some intriguing solutions offered to some unanswered questions.
The authors argue their points so confidently that the less sceptical reader might be convinced by everything they read. The purpose of this text is to present a new theory, rather than consider the opposing arguments. The reader should explore other sources for additional evidence to balance the author's arguments.
I strongly recommend this book to anyone interested in secret societies, history, or religion - especially freemasonry, ancient Egypt, Christianity, or the knights templar.
You'll enjoy reading this fascinating book and perhaps learn a little bit of history too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-altering book, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
Other reviews convey the sense of astonishment I felt when I first read this book. It really is shattering and can change the whole way you look at life, history and Christianity. However, to me the book has a fatal flaw. Each step in their argument (from modern freemasonry back to the king-making ceremonies of Ancient Egypt) seems reasonable in itself, but there is a lack of hard evidence to link the whole series of suppositions into a convincing theory. What is stated as a possible or even likely supposition on one page becomes an undisputed fact on the next, and stages of the argument are built up in this way. This is not good scholarship, even if it makes a very readable and exciting book. All the way through reading it, I wanted to shout "how do you know that?" or "prove it!" I think there is a lot of truth in what the authors say, and I think they have stumbled on a very interesting line of enquiry, but I am not yet 100% convinced. Having said all that, it's still a fantastic book that will change your life, and I recommend it to every thinking person. Freemasons especially will find the book of interest, as Grand Lodge seems to discourage this kind of research for people genuinely interested in the history of the Craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT! A BREAKTHROUGH BOOK!, 8 Dec 2002
By A Customer
The Hiram Key sets you off in freethinking mode. It challenges the scared beliefs of Christendom and tells of the secret king making rituals of the Egyptians.
It's amazing to find that the origins of the Freemasons stem back to almost the beginning of civilisation itself.
The book covers many things from Christianity, Freemasonry and Rites and Rituals of Freemasonry to the knig making rituals of the Egyptians.
I gave this book 4 stars instead of five because a few of the chapters are quite boring for the reader to read and also because the book is presented in a slighly different context to what I am used to.
The authors talk about one subject, then go back in time in later chapters to find answers to their questions. Then they come back to their original time period. This can be annoying because the reader might forget some vital information about this question, which was covered in the first chapters of the book.
I also found the first Appendix quite tedious, but on the whole the book is rather good.
I found it rather informative and mostly easy to follow, although I do not agree with some of the authors findings. This book is a must for people who are interested in History,Judaism, Freemasonry, Christainity or occult in general.
I would also not recommend this book to any Christians, unless they are freethinkers of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dispite the holes, a great read!, 9 May 2001
By 
Matt Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The problem that the authors have is that their research, whilst passionate, extensive and (to a certain degree) well grounded, does not follow traditional scientific methods. It merely leaps from one hypothesis to another with balletic grace. The trouble is that, to the layman, it all makes perfect sense.
The best route is to read it, then go out and search for the dis-proof of its hypothesis. There are some errors, some howlers, but it's very hard to rubbish any of the underlying messages.
Worth a thorough read, whatever your point of view. Who knows - they may be right! <g>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hiram Key, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This puts forward a plausible alternative to the highly unbelievable version of Jesus as propounded by Paul which lead to the declaration of heresy by the Roman Church towards the Jerusalem Church as run by Jesus' apostles. The link between freemasonry, the values as expressed by Jesus and Ancient Egypt might appear to stretch a point but the development of what most people think of as worthy and 'Christian' treatment with our fellow men and the Egyptian Ma'at provides much thought stimulation. It also shows how the established churches, in general over the centuries, have fallen short of their own professed ideals. It is a volume which is not easy to take in at one sitting but requires a return to the text and further inward digestion. It can be thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some here, some there, 13 Aug 2004
By A Customer
I have read all the writings of these authors, as well as a great deal of background history for over 15 years dealing with all the current related subjects. I wish to say that those overly critical of The Hiram Key are forgetting that the authors clearly qualify the work as one of theory. Merely picking out weaker points of the aurguments to dismiss the more reliable parts is disingenuous and probably the product of a threatened Christian mind, as I have personally found to be the usual case. If one goes on to read the authors subsequent work, the reader will find an increasingly scholarly aproach with input provided, often voluntarily, by recognized authorities. The bibliography also increases in subsequent publications. Readers who dismiss the whole because of weak passages strike me as habitual hook-line-and-sinker thinkers; they swallow it all, or none at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Mind-blowing, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I read this book with an open mind,and if the authors are correct I can only hope that the Truth is made known to the world. You will never look at Christianity in the same way again. A fascinating, very well researched and put together book, but one which begs 2 questions - where is the solid proof to make the jump from hypothesis to fact, and how can this Truth be made known to all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations of Religion, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Research into the meaning of the ceremonies of Freemasonry leads us on a whirlwind tour starting in ancient Egypt, via Moses to the Jews, via Qmran to the Templars and from the Templars to modern Freemasonry. This is a fascinating account, based on archaeological and scholastic findings, stitched together with imaginative flair. A truly amazing read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authorative work on real Masonic History., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was the second hardback copy that i have purchased. I needed it to replace the original which has not yet been returned by a "friend" and it is essential to my own library of books on masonic history. It is extremely well written and a constant source for my own personal historical research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge to Christianity, but sensible, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a replacement for an earlier, well worn and read, copy! Recommended to all who have questioning minds. The research and conclusions will not suit or please everyone, but its honest opinions and good reasoning behind the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews