Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!
After seemingly hundreds of `Greatest Dance Anthems' type compilations churned out from the Ministry of Sound stable, they FINALLY hit the nail on the head with this well thought out 4CD collection.

What makes it really special is that they've focussed on the club itself and the tracks the label was built on, so there's plenty of cult classics amongst the big...
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by C. Wheeler

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Variable Bit Rates
I appreciate that Amazon use variable bit rates when encoding some of the music but 159kpbs (De'Lacy - Hideaway (DD remix)) is unacceptable to me I'm afraid. Although not a full-time dj by any stretch of the imagination, I do play out on public systems and this simply sounds substandard. Perhaps satisfactory for the Beats by Dre generation or when using the free...
Published 12 months ago by Regg


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
C. Wheeler (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
After seemingly hundreds of `Greatest Dance Anthems' type compilations churned out from the Ministry of Sound stable, they FINALLY hit the nail on the head with this well thought out 4CD collection.

What makes it really special is that they've focussed on the club itself and the tracks the label was built on, so there's plenty of cult classics amongst the big hits.

CD One, Rulin, reflects the mid-90's big room house sound from their most infamous Saturday night residency with plenty of diva vocals and big dance smashes.
Standout tracks include: Goodfellaz - Soul Heaven, Spiller - Groovejet, David Morales - Needin' U.

CD Two, Smoove, captures the more urban sound of U.S. Garage and the big 4/4 sound of 1997, Speed Garage, before gradually, and chronologically, morphing into the 2-step/UK garage anthems that dominated the end of the `90s.
Standout tracks: Hardrive - Deep Inside, Scott Garcia - It's A London Thing, Wookie - Battle, Y-Tribe - Enough Is Enough.

CD Three, Trance Nation, focuses on the huge selling series of the same name and captures the big euphoric tracks that dominated the turn of the millennium.
Standout tracks: Lustral - Everytime, Veracocha - Carte Blanche, System F - Out Of The Blue.

Finally CD Four, Chillout Session, winds down with the post millennial chilled anthems that flooded the market around 2001-2002.
Standout tracks: William Orbit - Dice, Royksopp - Poor Leno, Roger Sanchez - Another Chance (Afterlife Remix).

This is an epic body of work which reflects all that was great about the club and their compilation output golden era between 1995-2002. Each disc is housed in its own slipcase and boxed together with a nice little booklet telling you all about the legacy of the club and the music featured on this collection. The tracks are digitally mixed together and the effect is very polished, which arguably lacks the charm of old vinyl mixing like they used to do, however I'm pleasantly surprised how well they are mixed together.

A fitting summary and celebration of twenty years of dance music's finest moments captured, an absolute must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better!, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
B. J. Lee (England, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
I just wanted to say that this is a much better CD than the dross that MOS have been pumping out recently.

Well worth owning in my opinion.

Cheers,

Ben.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great journey, 2 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
I must admit I really love this collection of MoS:Twenty Years. I have pretty much everything from MoS and this is a welcome addition to that colelction!

I like how the 4 CDs are sequenced (Rulin, Smoove, Trance nation and Chillout Sessions) in that order. I love all the CDs but being a Trance addict, I'm loving CD3

Well worth adding to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every clubbers Dream, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
See this advertised and thought it may just be like most CD's advertised on T.V, just play the good songs, you buy it and the rest not good but ALL tunes on these 4 CD's are Brilliant, some like the tittle says from years gone by. If you're an old clubber like myself this is the cd for you, beware teenage children though, have had to hide mine for fear of it going missing. A must for summer BBQ's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Y. Batson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
WELL worth buying this CD, it has an amazing variety of songs on it.
Its so much better than all the ones before it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mr, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
very good listen to it all time have it in the car on stereo on my ipod good to go for runs with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hubby loves it!, 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
I bought this for husband and he absolutely loves it. He takes it everywhere.
It is even used in his morning meetings to get his staff in a good mood.
Some of the tunes I haven't heard for a long time.
I keep trying to sneak it into my car but he won't part with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sons chrissy pressie, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
I bought this as part of my 29yr olds sons chrissie pressie. He is a taxi driver and enjoys listening to all kinds of music, he particularly likes cd 3.for chilling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
wayne (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
Very pleased with the album and also very impressed with the super fast shipping.
I am new to this and will look forward to buying more things from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 20 Dec. 2011
This review is from: XX Twenty Years (Audio CD)
I ordered this for a friend! she loves it! with all the hits she will have hours of music to bring back a few memories! £10 very well spend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XX Twenty Years
XX Twenty Years by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews