Customer Reviews


340 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shut up and drive.
With the title "Drive" and the tag line "Get in. Get Out. Get Away" one could be forgiven for thinking that this was a fast paced heist movie focused on long car chase get-away sequences. It isn't. Less 'Fast and Furious' and more 'Subdued and Serious'. The film starts with a getaway drive that rather sets the tone of the film; our driver says very little and only picks...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Richard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Running on empty
Drive tips it's hat to classics like Bullitt [1968] [DVD] and adds a dash of David Lynch, While it looks great, the glacial pace and minimalist script left me un-engaged. There is little in the way of character to become involved with. In the final third it ramps up the action but with violence so over the top it's almost cartoon.

Not awful but couldn't...
Published 5 months ago by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shut up and drive., 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Drive [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
With the title "Drive" and the tag line "Get in. Get Out. Get Away" one could be forgiven for thinking that this was a fast paced heist movie focused on long car chase get-away sequences. It isn't. Less 'Fast and Furious' and more 'Subdued and Serious'. The film starts with a getaway drive that rather sets the tone of the film; our driver says very little and only picks up the pace if cornered at which point he can and will do whatever he has to.

Arguably our driver is either mysterious or astonishingly lacking substance; new to an apartment he quickly develops a bond with his neighbour. When the neighbours husband needs a favour things go terribly wrong, and with the driver's life threatened, but more importantly the neighbour and her child's life threatened, driver does everything he has to to keep them safe. At times this gets very gory, and there are those who will question the need to be quite so graphic. Drive does not glorify violence by any means, but does tell us a lot about Driver whose quiet demeanour could otherwise be mistaken for passive or apathetic.

Pros:
- Stunning visuals and sound. Fans of 80's Michael Mann films will be happy in this respect.
- A serious and engaging story for the more patient viewer.

Cons:
- Many will be put off by the graphic violence. Some will say it is unnecessary, although probably most will disagree.
- What for many will be an interesting albeit quiet protagonist, will for others be soulless and borderline sociopathic.

Bottom Line:
- Engaging and stylish for the patient.
- Tedious and one dimensional for the impatient.
- Horrific for those with weaker constitutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not for everyone, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, loved the way it's filmed, music etc. however it's not for everyone. There are moments where no one speaks and characters facial expression are enough. There is some violence although not as much or as bad as some say. All within context of the film. As with all films, it's personal preference - I liked it, husband didn't. He thought it was boring. Look at the actors in it, or the director. If you've seen/like their previous work then watch it. If not, then don't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 April 2012
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
I loved Drive - an incredible piece of film making. Dreamy, languorous atmosphere punctuated by intense and often shocking violence (in this it reminded me of A History of Violence). The soundtrack was perfect and Gosling and Mulligan are well cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of stuntman by day and a getaway driver at night, 4 April 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
This movie initially reminded me of Michael Mann’s cinematography of the 1980s, in terms of the sound track, the vibrant colours, the use of landscapes and modes where the heroic protagonists occupy a somewhat secret world, away from ordinary concerns. There is a feel of stylishness and emotional intensity and sexual subtext and strong violence. However, where this splits from a Mann production is that at times the film has no dialogue – instead the viewer has to rely on gestures and or facial descriptions and that in its self can be disconcerting. Therefore, it is quite understandable that people will not like this type of storytelling and will reach for volume control on the remote.

One of the outstanding scenes was the elevator sequence, which was essentially a series of striking visuals and explicit imagery that’s a key example of how the film conveys so much through emotions and through the moving image as opposed to the use any spoken narrative. The use of very capable Bryan Cranston as Shannon is great casting, he seems to have such a far raging palate of characterisations. The whole casting of the film is good, and in some ways rather quirky.

To sum up then, this is a good neo-noir crime thriller film that for me really delivers. That said, and I hate to sound repetitive, but I can appreciate why there detractors as my partner is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Running on empty, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
Drive tips it's hat to classics like Bullitt [1968] [DVD] and adds a dash of David Lynch, While it looks great, the glacial pace and minimalist script left me un-engaged. There is little in the way of character to become involved with. In the final third it ramps up the action but with violence so over the top it's almost cartoon.

Not awful but couldn't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
As ever Ryan Gosling is superb. This man has such screen presence. For once the main characters don't jump into bed the first chance they get which makes for a much more believable story. Understated performances from Carey Miligan and Gosling.
Indebtedness extends beyond prison and Gosling is unwittingly caught in a chain of events from which he struggles to escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
I had a lot of people tell me how good this film was and should watch it so got a copy and i have to say i was pretty disappointed. Don't see what all the fuss is about at all. i just couldn't get ryan gosling, just didn't do it for me im afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, violent and a central character borrowed from a better film, 16 Jan 2013
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
With all that other reviewers have said I'm not going to go into lengthy narrative. It's a film in which the central, unnamed "driver" (Ryan Gosling) has very little dialogue but the two gangsters are characteristically given lots of colourful lines. Carey Mulligan serves her purpose as the waif-like woman who with her little boy breaks through to the driver's soft centre. There are other characters like Blanche, a trashy girl criminal, who are well-played. The violence is not excessive in my view given the subject matter; indeed one episode is portrayed mainly by the shadows of the combatants. Overall it's an atmospheric film, well made but of no lasting consequence.

Those who like it should seek out a better film of the same type, "The Driver" directed by Walter Hill with Ryan O'Neal in the title role (not the normal choice of role for him). He too says very little, is unnamed and opens up because of a girl, but in that film he's up against a cop as devoid of humanity as he is. There's also a similar running conflict between the driver and robbers who want his services. Check it out, it's a little gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parfait Gentil Knight, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive [DVD] (DVD)
Drive is an odd film, its hero is strangely other-worldly in his platonic romance with another man's wife. Yet at the same time he is capable of extreme violence (lots of skull crushing noises for your delectation). In between extreme action he drifts a bit driving the lonely streets in search of an arthouse meme. I thought the ending was a bit of a cop-out but it is otherwise a rather good modern version of a chivalric geste (the noble hero, the damsel in distress, the condign punishment visited on the evil) delivered by actors who all count to two before emoting. The action, when it came, made the dreamy stuff acceptable. Some others have a different view and you need to think about this before watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA: Vice City-esque Getaway movie, with a mellow spin., 18 May 2012
This review is from: Drive [Blu-ray] (2011) (Blu-ray)
This is a brilliant movie, it is very subtle and has a gentle pace. It is very 80's and fans of the Grand Theft Auto series will find familiarities with it and Vice City, especially the sound track with is brilliant, Nightcall has become one of my favourite songs. Though it is not for thrill seekers, it does have some getaway and shootout sequences.It's story will captivate you and Ryan Gosling performance as the strong, silent type is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drive [DVD]
Drive [DVD] by Nicolas Winding Refn (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews