Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Does what it says on the tin. Not cheap.
Same review for bars and feet.
Works well. Quick and easy to attach to roof rails. Easy to lock.
Seems very strong
Initial assembly instructions are a bit abstract. Followed instructions for bars and then went to feet instructions. The first instructions for the feet were to throw out the instructions for the bars!
Would recommend checking out...
Published 12 months ago by Brian Ganly

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with branded ski carriers, whistle
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:38 Mins
I bought this item from different reseller with Rapid System 757 approximatelly one year ago, but had to return them after the fist use for two reasons:
- The bar is slightly bent, which causes the ski carrier to deform (bend) when it is attached to it. This will dislocate the lock reed and the locking exercise becomes very difficult and...
Published 7 months ago by Jan Janikovic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incompatible with branded ski carriers, whistle, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Jan Janikovic - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
Length:: 2:38 Mins

I bought this item from different reseller with Rapid System 757 approximatelly one year ago, but had to return them after the fist use for two reasons:
- The bar is slightly bent, which causes the ski carrier to deform (bend) when it is attached to it. This will dislocate the lock reed and the locking exercise becomes very difficult and can take several minutes to accomplish.
- They whistle in a very annoying high-pitch noise starting at 80 km/h. Removing the ski carriers from the bar shift the whistling to 100km/h and above.

Moreover the attitude of the support was terrible: After contacting Thule they asked to send some pictures. I created for them a very decent photo-documentation with video showing the problem with the deformation. They did not dare to write back even after a remainder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Does what it says on the tin. Not cheap., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
Same review for bars and feet.
Works well. Quick and easy to attach to roof rails. Easy to lock.
Seems very strong
Initial assembly instructions are a bit abstract. Followed instructions for bars and then went to feet instructions. The first instructions for the feet were to throw out the instructions for the bars!
Would recommend checking out thule + <model number> on youtube for initial assembly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... 2012 Ford Focus and they have proved to be perfect. Doors, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
Have used it on my 2012 Ford Focus and they have proved to be perfect. Doors, timber and a trunk have all survived intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good sturdy racks, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
The wing bars are very good and relatively easy to fit. The only trouble I had was with a rubber insert that I think could have been fitted at manufacture. Over all very happy with the bars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2002 astra hatchback, don`t bother !,unless fitted properly !, 21 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
I admit I did not buy my set from here but Got them from Halfords one week ago and had them fitted by them. I had them fitted to my 52 plate astra 5 door hatchback, They look great for a set of roof bars very sleek and neat,they are supposed to be the quietest around.what a waste of money , at 35mph they start to whistle, for every 10 mph over this the pitch of the whistle raises and so does the volume , by 55mph even with the stereo turned up loud you cannot drown out the scream that these bars cause,I can`t dare to take them up to 70mph I don`t think my ears could stand it without bleeding, I have been back to Halfords and they are talking to Thule to see if anything can be done , they have suggested a bar spoiler but I do not want any more trash strapped to my little car or anymore financial outlay. I cannot say how they perform on another vehicle but if you have a 52 plate Astra hatchback I would say that these bars are not fit for purpose and should be avoided at all costs, as you may have figured out I am not happy at all with Thule , supposed to be the best around ,forget it they are worse than having a flute orchestra on the roof !!!....further to my initial review , I have been back to Halfords and they found that the numpties who fitted my bars had left the rubber inserts off from the underside of my roof bars , they cut some rubber inserts from another set in stock and fitted them to the underside of my bars, what a difference, these bars are now almost silent , you know you have a set fitted due to slight buffeting at speed but no noise, so to update my initial review...these bars if fitted properly are great, I would praise them to any one thinking about buying them ,just make sure you do not let the Stevie Wonder twins fit them for you !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thule wing bars, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
Thule wing bars were easy to fit and felt very secure once fitted, there is no noise coming from the bars when driving at speed. Very good items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely quiet, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System (Automotive)
Have been really impressed with just how much quieter these are than the old aero bars I had been using. They are as solid as all Thule's products and integrate well with the feet and accessories. All in all, they are solidly made, fit well and make very little noise at speed. The only thing against them is the price - good though they are, the price of the bars and feet is very steep. That said, I've never regretted buying Thule, and that piece of mind goes a long way to making up for the premium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thule 961100 Wing Bar 961 Rapid System
76.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews