Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Nadia!, 16 Feb. 2004
By 
As the winner of the 1976 Montreal Olympics, Romanian gymnast Nadia Comaneci made history. Aged only fourteen, she won the all-around gold medal, scoring an unheard of series of seven perfect tens!
She was the heroine of little girls the world over. But being Romanian, her life seemed shrouded in secrecy and mystery. In 1981, the book ‚€˜Nadia ‚€" My Own Story‚€™ was published and we felt we had received answers to some of our many questions. But it has since been revealed that she had very little to do with that book.
January 2004 saw the release of her book - Letters To A Young Gymnast ‚€" and finally, we were offered the opportunity to discover something of the real Nadia, the person behind the impenetrable deep brown eyes.
Reading the book was a wonderful experience. It is written as if Nadia is answering questions from a young fan, but this does not make the subject matter childish or limited. She details her life from birth to her wedding to American gymnast Bart Conner in a way which is so readable and compelling, that you will find it hard to stop reading until the very end.
Her frankness and honesty is enchanting as she responds to rumours that have haunted her over the years. At last, she has her opportunity to tell her story and it is an amazing one. You discover her reaction to winning the 1976 Olympics and losing her title in 1980. But you also find out how she planned and executed her defection to the USA ‚€" a journey just as brave as her long route to world glory.
Her story is captivating and inspiring ‚€" not only to young gymnasts, but also to anyone of any age. She explains how she applies her philosophy to life in general and how we can achieve our own goals and see each step as a positive one.
Nadia is now in her forties, but she remains an icon to sports fans all over the world and her enthusiasm is infectious. Her book is a great read and a must for anyone who has ever wondered how she got to the top or what she has achieved as an adult.
Bravo Nadia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Jun. 2004
It was a real treat for me to read this book. Nadia had a huge influence on my life as a young girl training to be a competitive gymnast. Nadia has always been one of my idols & reading her own story, in the way in which it has been written, has answered alot of questions for me.
Nadia explains her life, her ambitions, her relationship with her coach, her life in Romania and why and how she defected in such a way that you feel as though you are living through her experiences with her.
Thank you Nadia, for your story and for the influence you had on me as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a gymnastic biography., 30 July 2007
By 
Avril Collins (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An amazing book about both Nadia's strength and determination in both her sport and life and the struggle it was living in Romania at the time. Both her love and devotion to both sport and country are apparent. This is the story of a woman who works hard for what she has got. A book that is compelling read for anyone not just fans of gymnastics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very insightful book, 9 Sept. 2006
By 
Unlike most gymnastics biographies I have read, this is not your usual gushy and glamourous fare. Believe it or not, Nadia has had a very hard life. The book is extremely well written, and has the perfect tone for younger readers. Nadia explains the tougher times of living in communist Romania and her subsequent defection totally honestly and clearly and without partronising. Although a children's book, adults will appreciate the quality of the writing and a riveting story she has to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and Inspiring, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very inspiring and captivating biography. The book reveals a very honest and down to earth side of Nadia, who, despite her perfect tens and successful achievements in her gymnastics career, has lived a very hard life under the Romanian communist regime. Nadia shares many words of advice to her readers that I believe will get through all readers regardless of age. A must read. Bravo Nadia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nadia letters to a young gymnast, 16 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. RE MATTHEWS "humptybackwoodpecker" (Hayling Island, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a 'must have' read for all young gymnasts, you are able to learn how a world champion overcame problems including training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nadia, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Young Gymnast (Kindle Edition)
A name everyone should know associated in the gymnastics world. Well written book.
A young Olympic champion and loved by many. Certainly educated me on a few things about Romania and her defection to USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Sumit Rai (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Letters to a young gymnast is one of the most beautiful, inspiring books about one of the worlds most fascinating athletes. Nadia Comaneci wasn't just a lucky kid who turned up in Montreal 1976 at the age of 14 and performed the perfect routine... she trained for years to become the worlds best gymnast and then faced a difficult, hard life following her success under a communist regime. Like a good fairy tale she's able to escape to live a better life with the man of her dreams. It's not just a nice story told in her words, it's a book full of life lessons and unique outlooks on life. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read it in less that 24 hours as I was so captivated! Dive into the mind of a true champion. Nothing is a given but the result of hard work and determination.
I had seen the movie Nadia before but it is not as worth as this book in which we follow Nadia not only until she won the gold medals at the Olympics but also after her gymnastics career and when she escaped from Romania.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Letters to a young gymnast (art of mentoring), 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Young Gymnast (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read ,informative, and passionate. I enjoyed ever minute of it. Made me want to learn more and engage more in life's passions as life is to short to give less then 100 percent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters to a Young Gymnast
Letters to a Young Gymnast by Nadia Comaneci
£6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Grace, Gold, and Glory My Leap of Faith
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12)   
Buy new£6.99
Available for download now

Nadia Comaneci: Perfect 10
1.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1)   
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now

Balancing Act (The Gymnastics Series Book 1)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2)   
Buy new£2.96
Available for download now