Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a staunch supporter of Harold Wilson and a self-opinionated bigot - but Bill is little better, a Jamaican with a distrust of 'ho
Back in the early 70s, racial tension was endemic to the cities of England, nowhere more so than London. Increasing immigration led to fears based on a misunderstanding and a suspicion of West Indian newcomers, fed by ignorance. 'Love Thy Neighbour' was an attempt to bring this into focus and to teach the English that a black man's skin is no more offensive than his...
Published 8 months ago by NB

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, have to be open minded and remember people were really like that.
I forgot how racist it was, but there showed how stupid and bigoted he was. Also a bit repetitive throughout.
Published 20 months ago by bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a staunch supporter of Harold Wilson and a self-opinionated bigot - but Bill is little better, a Jamaican with a distrust of 'ho, 8 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Back in the early 70s, racial tension was endemic to the cities of England, nowhere more so than London. Increasing immigration led to fears based on a misunderstanding and a suspicion of West Indian newcomers, fed by ignorance. 'Love Thy Neighbour' was an attempt to bring this into focus and to teach the English that a black man's skin is no more offensive than his politics. To stress this, Bill moves next door to Eddie Booth, a staunch supporter of Harold Wilson and a self-opinionated bigot - but Bill is little better, a Jamaican with a distrust of 'honkys' and with chips on both shoulders (he is also a Tory). The prickly subject is addressed by humour although in 2014 the scripts come across as offensive to many people. A major problem is that Eddie is not as credible as Alf Garnett and the scripts are poor but Powell made a conscious effort to put racism into context and to teach the public that blind prejudice is both ridiculous and disdainful. Booth always comes off worse and the man of bigotry is held up as a figure of stupidity. It was a worthwhile effort to face a major problem and to educate the uninformed masses, but it is now dated and much-maligned; coming full circle, this attack against racism is now viewed as the ultimate in racism. Smethurst (Booth) put it best when he commented: 'it was a series made in the seventies for people of the seventies - and it should stay in the seventies.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
OK , so this is not PC these days - but it is VERY funny and Bill (Eddie's Jamaican Neighbour) usually gets the upper hand anyway! This comes from an era when we could laugh at ourselves however and appreciate just how ridiculous we could be. A bygone age! The language though would cause some disapproval in today's world and may even offend, so just be aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband couldn't belive I'd managed to get 'love thy ..., 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
My husband couldn't belive I'd managed to get 'love thy neighbour' dvds although we were children when it was on TV, we both remember it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Brings back a lot of memories from the 70's. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great program, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Arrived in no time. Still makes me laugh, great comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Definately a funny series at the time it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooooooooooooo funny, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
This is classic comedy. Got if for my hubby. I remember it from when I was at school (a while ago!!). How they got away with it I dont know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Nice item - received quicky, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
Great un PC humour from the 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd (DVD)
brill series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Thy Neighbour - The Complete Series: 8dvd
£32.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews