Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His name's Smiley. George Smiley...
This is the book which started it all; the gripping series of intrigue, betrayal and an examination of human nature which has become the ultimate espionage collection.
This is the first of Le Carre's books and it contains the secret origin of George Smiley AND a rippingly good little espionage mystery. It introduces Mundt, too, who becomes rather more important in...
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Smiley began - a little rough but a good intro into Le Carre
Le Carre's first novel sees the introduction of George Smiley who would later become the pivotal hero of so many of the author's works. Here the introduction embellishes the reader with swathes of detail of Smiley's background, as he investigates the mysterious death of a Foreign Office worker, Samuel Fennan, whose passing is shrouded in mystery.

Arguably...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by Tom Hobbs


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars First but fantastic, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
I was not expecting his 1st novel to be this good. But it was a great read. It didn't last long as I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learning his craft, 18 July 2009
By 
Lila M (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
A very good read, but does not have the labyrinthine plotting of his
later novels. Good characters, though, and if you like the Smiley
series, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Kindle Edition)
As you would expect, a classy read, well written and believable. A time of spies with a newspaper under their arm and a flower in their lapel. No superhero or over the top action, (which I love), just a real story with characters who you can believe in. A feel of a murky seedy underworld, and that was just Whitehall. If you have never read a book by this author then please do, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call for the dead, 4 Feb 2011
By 
J. G. Spry "Crispin" (Hornchurch, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
The first of the George Smiley books and le Carre's. I wanted to see where it all began and wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just the job for bedtime listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
Excellent book great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boaring, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Fred (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
I find that reading John le Carré is like reading a dictionary , his story line , if that is what I should call it , just goes on and on and he plays his characters to death. What does get me is the number of five star reviews his books get. Do not get me wrong - I have to date all the Smiley books and a number of others and I have worked my way through them possible they need to be read without a break as on a long flight and then if you do not get into the story you will at least sleep all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Le Carre, 31 July 2011
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Paperback)
This story is typical early Le Carre and features George Smiley in what was probably his debut. It features Inspector Mendel of Special Branch who also appears in later stories, whenever there is need of someone from Special Branch.
It was made into a film, but like this 50 year old story, that was a long while ago.
This is a counter intelligence story in which the deceit and subterfuge slowly enravels in much the same way as the best detective stories.
It was an enjoyable read in spite of the fact that I read the story and saw the film of it many, many moons ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor product, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call for the Dead. (Paperback)
The quality of the booklet was poor, it appears to be part of an English lit exam, very disapointed in general with the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call for the Dead
Call for the Dead by John le Carré
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews