Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true talent..., 19 July 2004
Before purchasing 'Loft music' I had come to love Thea's 'Avalanche' and 'Songs from the Gutter'.
She is an outstanding talent and her albums have been subject to rave reviews of her songwriting abilities. To me, it is this songwriting skill that shines through on the other albums, to the point that it almost eclipses all else.
'Loft Music', however, showcases her fantastically mature voice, as she sings songs that we are already familiar with. I particularly love her renditions of 'Crazy Love' (Van Morrison) and 'Ever Fallen in Love with Someone' (Buzzcocks).
Because she's singing these songs in such a different way to her own material, it is pretty hard to recognise her voice at all.
A must for all Thea fans, if only to give a glimpse of another side of her abilities, and a must for any who appreciate good quality, heartfelt music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want a loft like that, 3 Feb 2006
I've always had a strange fascination for covers and how the artist re-interprets them. Its rare, though, that an artist manages to make the song sound like their own yet here Thea manages to own every one of these songs. Taking us on a journey through the songs and artists that have shaped her musically, she brings her own unique vocal style and ability to each. My stand out track would be "The Old Laughing Lady", though the whole album is a joy, and, for the aufiophiles out there, very well produced. An excellent addition to her own works, more in the style of "Songs From the Gutter" or "Lipstick Conspiracies" than her more rocky "Avalanche" or "Burning Dorothy" albums and a showcase for her fantastic voice separate from her songwriting abilities showcased in her own albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want a loft like that, 3 Feb 2006
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
I've always had a strange fascination for covers and how the artist re-interprets them. Its rare, though, that an artist manages to make the song sound like their own yet here Thea manages to own every one of these songs. Taking us on a journey through the songs and artists that have shaped her musically, she brings her own unique vocal style and ability to each. My stand out track would be "The Old Laughing Lady", though the whole album is a joy, and, for the aufiophiles out there, very well produced. An excellent addition to her own works, more in the style of "Songs From the Gutter" or "Lipstick Conspiracies" than her more rocky "Avalanche" or "Burning Dorothy" albums and a showcase for her fantastic voice separate from her songwriting abilities showcased in her own albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars likeable, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
As I said in reviewing her album From The Gutter, her voice is pleasant and capable but lacks individuality. Except in one very pleasant respect - her mildly English accent, which may seem strange to say, but what a change from the usual mock-mid Atlantic that most British singers lapse into. Here we have a selection - a good selection - of songs that she covers in an acoustic style. Some sound better like this, but not all. Again , nothing really grips me. It's nice enough but hardly spine-tingling. I found myself fast forwarding to find a track that really moved me,but never found one. Competent, I kept thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set of Cover's, 3 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
as a singer-songwriter/musician, I highly rate Thea Gilmore and then, on top of all her ability she has a knack of taking an already great song and producing a really excellent cover version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars from a fan, 30 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
interesting new take on an eclectic list of song from various genres. "ever fallen in love" and "bad moon rising"in particular are excellent.a must for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
My album of the year. As always I checked it out on Grooveshark, and after listening for a while thought it was well worth paying for..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No complaints!, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seller excellent, item as described (second hand) and arrived quickly. Huge fan of Thea and trying to complete my collection. This addition did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingling voice, 14 Feb 2013
By 
DC Nicoll (Daventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loft Music (MP3 Download)
I have just discovered Thea through her incredibly beautiful version of Ever Fallen In Love, on the strength of which I bought this album. I wasn't disappointed. For me, this is shiver up the spine wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loft Music (Audio CD)
Why Thea / Nigel and the talented individuals they play with do not get more recognition I will never know. Went to a gig in Bristol recently - small cellar club packed out. Should be playing bigger venues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loft Music
Loft Music by Thea Gilmore (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews