Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunted Anthology
The Haunted anthology includes the following short stories:
The Castle Ghosts - Joseph Delaney
The Caretakers - Susan Cooper
Good Boy - Mal Peet
The Blood Line - Jamila Gavin
The Ghost in the Machine - Eleanor Updale
Songs the Dead Sing - Derek Landy
The Beach Hut - Robin Jarvis
The Praying Down of Vaughan Darkness - Sam...
Published on 31 Oct. 2011 by Sarah (Feeling Fictional)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Library Book
Book in good condition, but is a library book and not I will return it to the library as it has not been decommissioned by them. The book delivery was quick and the book was a good read, just think the seller should have checked that the book before sending it out.
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunted Anthology, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Haunted (Paperback)
The Haunted anthology includes the following short stories:
The Castle Ghosts - Joseph Delaney
The Caretakers - Susan Cooper
Good Boy - Mal Peet
The Blood Line - Jamila Gavin
The Ghost in the Machine - Eleanor Updale
Songs the Dead Sing - Derek Landy
The Beach Hut - Robin Jarvis
The Praying Down of Vaughan Darkness - Sam Llewellyn
The Ghost Walk - Matt Haig
The Ghost Wood - Philip Reeve
The Little Ship's Boy - Berlie Doherty

Haunted is an anthology containing scary short stories from some of todays best children's writers and it makes for perfect Halloween reading. Immerse yourself in stories of haunted prisons, demon worshipers, trapped ghosts, demon dogs and even a spooky beach hut. These stories may be short but they're all well written and there are some great twists in there too.

Stand out favourites for me included Good Boy by Mal Peet, The Beach Hut by Robin Jarvis and The Ghost Wood by Philip Reeve but I enjoyed each of the stories and The Ghost Walk by Matt Haig brought back memories of the ghost walk I did in York a few years ago. Anthologies are a great way of trying new authors and I've definitely found some I want to add to my to read pile with this one.

If you're a horror fan then you'll love Haunted although if you're a bit of a wimp like I am you may find you only want to read it in daylight! Treat yourself to a fright this Halloween & pick up your copy today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 14 April 2012
This review is from: Haunted (Paperback)
An original collection of short stories, by mainly well known children's writers on the theme of ghosts, all interpreted in different ways; many taking the idea of souls in limbo as the main thrust. I found Derek Landy's a slight cheat in that he's obviously taken the idea of the Death Eaters from Harry Potter, but called them Soul Eaters who fill a similar role, whilst Eleanor Updale's "Ghost in the Machine" was quite a clever twist on using modern technology in a less than modern world; Berlie Doherty's even includes a song with words and tune. Some were creepy, but mostly they were an OK read, but nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely haunting!, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Haunted (Paperback)
Here are 11 excellent short stories from some of the very best authors currently writing for children and young adults.
Short stories are not as popular as they once were, but this collection could well do something to change that. Each one is well told and original. A murdered girl needs to see her killer brought to justice before she can move on,a family go on a very ghostly ghost walk around York and there is even a haunted beach hut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted (Kindle Edition)
Thrilling with creepy stories. It almost has to be one of my best books on my kindle. I'd give it 5 out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great variety, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Haunted (Kindle Edition)
Worth while buying. Lots of different tales. Some rather creepy. Was pleased to find this gem as it has stories from favourite authors. Including Joseph Delaney. I'd highly recommend this and even more so his spooks books. Read them all to date. Fantastic. (I am 33 now.... And till enjoy them!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted (Kindle Edition)
My kind of book, not everyones, read sample first👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Library Book, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haunted (Paperback)
Book in good condition, but is a library book and not I will return it to the library as it has not been decommissioned by them. The book delivery was quick and the book was a good read, just think the seller should have checked that the book before sending it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haunted
Haunted by Eleanor Updale
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews