Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War is the most profitable business
In this book, Michael C. Ruppert attempts to find the masterminds behind the 9/11 attacks. For him, the prime suspects are a group of people operating within certain government agencies, including the White House, for the benefit of major financial US and foreign interests. The only possible thread is the intelligence community.
This book is more or less a...
Published on 27 Nov. 2005 by Luc REYNAERT

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The causes and consequences of 9/11
I first read this book not long after it came out; several years on, I thought it deserved another look. My old review has now been deleted.

Michael C. Ruppert (publisher of the now-terminated From the Wilderness) has written, in Crossing the Rubicon, an in-depth analysis of the probable causes for both 9/11 and the ensuing invasions of Afghanistan and...
Published on 4 Oct. 2006 by Tristan Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War is the most profitable business, 27 Nov. 2005
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this book, Michael C. Ruppert attempts to find the masterminds behind the 9/11 attacks. For him, the prime suspects are a group of people operating within certain government agencies, including the White House, for the benefit of major financial US and foreign interests. The only possible thread is the intelligence community.
This book is more or less a compilation of the author's contributions to the internet site 'From the Wilderness'. It lacks the solid structure of the works of N.M. Ahmed and M. Chossudovsky, on which it heavily draws. The style is rather egocentric (a lot of 'I's).
Nevertheless, it throws a shrill light on some major aspects of the framework wherein the 9/11 attacks took place.
Clearly exposed are the links between the CIA, Wall Street and 9/11, through the heavy buying of put options on airline shares before the attacks (2.5 M$ profits on one bet were not claimed!).
He shows also clearly that there was sabotage within the US intelligence services and that those services had infiltrated Al-Qaeda. More, US government services shielded the hijackers from being arrested. Still more baffling is the fact that a third tower in New York collapsed without being hit!
A very murky affair is the organization of 'wargames' on 9/11 apparently in order to paralyse information channels. There is also the Cleveland mystery: the landing of two unidentified planes. Still more outlandish are the claims that some of the alleged hijackers are still alive or that the planes flew under remote ground control.
The paramount question is: cui bono? After the 9/11 attacks the US defense budget was raised by 48.1 billion $. Indeed, war is the most profitable business.
For the author, the US government crossed the Rubicon after 9/11. From a republic, the US became an empire, a hegemon.
In order to defend its national security, the empire now can make preemptive strikes (war is peace) and create artificial terrorist activities in order to stimulate reactions which could serve as a pretext to invade other countries.
The Total Information Awareness asks the whole population to become spies (Big Brother in the nth degree), while the Patriot Act undermines general civil liberties.
On the economic front, the author stresses the importance of oil and 1.3 billion Chinese consumers.
However, he sometimes formulates extremely important issues without developping them. One example: the policy that 'the world population must be reduced by as much as 4 billion people is secretly accepted and is being acted upon by world leaders.'
Nevertheless, this book is a goldmine for those who want to understand the 9/11 massacre. Michael C. Ruppert poses at the end the right questions: who are we really? And why are we here?
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pragmatic, well-intentioned, terrifying and hyper-relevant, 18 Oct. 2005
By 
Mr. A. Zomerplaag (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first five years of this particularly horrible decade have been marked by a rise in the popularity of political writing. Accordingly, I have for a number of years assumed the role of left-leaning book-buying enthusiast and before coming across the information in Crossing the Rubicon, considered myself a pretty well-informed member of society.
Soon after 9/11 I had encountered websites which proposed alternative theories about the culprits of those attacks and didn't give them very much thought. Then earlier this year I attended a public meeting in Manchester which had been organised by survivors and witnesses of the New York attacks and my opinion was forever changed about the likely culprits. A fellow-attendee recommended Crossing the Rubicon.
Having been familiar with From the Wilderness for many years, I had also come across material about Peak Oil but admittedly, I'd ignored it. One day at work, I took the time to read about it in detail and like so many others, my world was altered forever.
Making sense of an era which seems to be dominated by hallucinatory levels of delusion, violence and quite obvious campaigns of disinformation isn't easy. In my opinion, by far the most plausible backdrop to the events we have seen is not esoteric conspiracies or secret societies, but an energy crisis.
Crossing the Rubicon's implications are profound and terrifying and before buying the book, you need to be aware that it will challenge not just your beliefs and assumptions but also your aspirations and ambitions to.
The world is full of ideologues who want to tell us what is right and what is wrong. Ruppert seems only to want to tell us what is; and he let's us decide what to do with this information.
Pragmatic and not paranoid; level-headed and not sensationalist, I have never come across a reason to doubt the author's credibility or his intentions and for this reason, the book has to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Smokes Batman! This book is amazing, 23 Oct. 2004
By 
For some reason, Amazon.com US has removed all reader reviews for this book - over 26 at last count. Does anyone know why this would happen?
It's a frightening amazing look at US and world politics, the dwindling of oil supplies (at least those feasible to access) and the impact it's having on us all.
The current administration in the US was in charge on that fateful day back in September 2001 (9/11) and this book points the finger directly at Dick Cheney for "pulling the lever" and being at the helm.
Did you know that on 9/11 there were war games and other internal government training exercises being conducted? They included crashing planes into the WTC and Pentagon.
The frightening thing is, Dick Cheney was given complete oversight over these war games and exercises in May 2001. WHY? Why would the vice president be given control of these exercises?? This is a military issue, not an executive branch issue.
There is so much uncovering in this book's 600 + pages yet fortunately the author writes in language that nearly everyone at any age or education level could understand.
He uses nearly 1000 footnotes to substantiate the conclusions and all his data is gleened from media reports, government employee interviews and press releases, congressional and senatorial hearings, investigations and other sources deemed 100% reliable.
WHAT HAPPENED TO THE US READER REVIEWS?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and empowering., 8 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not another book out to bash Bush. Neither is it a conspiracy yarn about secret societies. Rather it is a comprehensive expose of the reasons behind the tragedy of 911 and the "war on terror", by a seasoned ex-LAPD investigator.
Michael Ruppert gathers a well-balanced set of intelligence data from a variety of resources and sets out in a clear and considered manner, the case agains the American Government: namely that they had prior knowledge of 911. He also engages the reader in interpreting the "war on terror" against the backdrop of diminishing oil reserves.
A truely blistering book, free from party-political motivations, that seeks to empower you and I - the public - with information and an overall perspective of the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American view, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
As an American who has lived through some of the most trying times of the past century, I found Michael C. Ruppert's Crossing The Rubicon an amazing find.
Whether it is the Gulf of Tonkin "incident", the assination of JFK or the rigging of the 2000 American election, many Americans who disbelieve in official explanations, are called conspiracy therorists. Those who run this evil empire count on the relative ignorance of the American public and their narrow self-interest to buy their rubbish.
Michael Ruppert has the willingness, integrity and staff to look long and hard at the real facts. Peak Oil, and the geopolitics that flow from its increasing scarcity fan the flames of many decisions made in Washington. Ruppert has the resources to dissect facts and timelines in the areas surrounding the 9-11 attacks and expose the Cheny-Bush-Rumsfeld-Wolfowitz cabal for what they are - The true terrorists.
It was also clear that Mr. Ruppert is not an idealogue. I don't even recall the mention of his political party affilitation, as it is unimportant. He is writing as an American. Ruppert is an investigator of the highest calaber who stops at nothing to uncover the truth. Please read this book!
A California resident
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The causes and consequences of 9/11, 4 Oct. 2006
By 
Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I first read this book not long after it came out; several years on, I thought it deserved another look. My old review has now been deleted.

Michael C. Ruppert (publisher of the now-terminated From the Wilderness) has written, in Crossing the Rubicon, an in-depth analysis of the probable causes for both 9/11 and the ensuing invasions of Afghanistan and Iraq.

He reasons, with much evidence and justification, that world oil production will peak within a decade or two, a concept that has become known as Peak Oil (even mentioned in The West Wing episode entitled, "Hubbert Peak"). This awareness by the United State's planners, led to an obvious military scramble for most of the world's remaining supplies and their pipeline routes, ensuring that oil reserves will be in the hands of the population that counts, as seen from an elite U.S. perspective. The terrorist attack of 9/11, according to Ruppert, was engineered by some of the same U.S. planners, or at least those who had access to that intelligence and shared the same opinions.

This is obviously highly incendiary material. However, Ruppert's sources are often drawn from quite mainstream material, including the national press.

Ruppert's book is divided into a prosecutor's means, motive and opportunity and the quality of the various chapters varies widely. The first part of the book is generally very good (Motive) and the first chapter on Peak Oil is particularly excellent - indeed, this was the first book that really opened my eyes to this most urgent of issues. For helping to bring this subject to much needed public attention, Ruppert is to be congratulated. However, section two - Means - is erratic and quite poor in many places. The chapter on PROMIS software is confused and badly written; it is rather difficult to fathom what Ruppert's point actually is and the evidence he produces is vague. Another section on Delmart "Mike" Vreeland, is not worth the time or space he devotes to the subject, an interesting character though he is. Ruppert's rambling and incoherent style continues into Part Three - Opportunity - unnecessarily lengthy sections on the From the Wilderness reporters 'bravely' confronting Congress and the 9/11 Independent Commission, pages and pages on descriptions of Pentagon Wargames, the TRIPOD II scenario and so forth. Interesting but again, not worth the amount of space he devotes to it.

Essentially, there is some excellent material in Crossing the Rubicon but this is buried in amongst some bad and incoherent writing. Perhaps this is the editor's fault, as the book could be vastly improved with some judicious editing.

Other sections in the book include the by now, well documented relationship betwixt the Central Intelligence Agency and the international drug supply, how the Taleban eradicated approximately 95% of the heroin crop in Afghanistan and the impact this had on the CIA/Wall Street's profits, intelligence penetration of Al Qaeda and many others.

Crossing the Rubicon is, in places, a fascinating read for getting behind the headlines and the day-to-day gossip that passes for political analysis; the intention of the author Mike Ruppert was to provide a roadmap for comprehending the driving forces behind current events so as to correctly interpret forthcoming events. Whether it has succeeded in that is a judgement for other reviewers but the book certainly demands to be read. For assembling many of the controversial facts into one publication and putting them into the public domain, Michael Ruppert has at least to be congratulated. Read and make your own mind up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Detailed Analysis of World Events + 9/11, 17 Oct. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crossing the Rubicon was one of the first books I read in this subject area, but I've subsequently realised it is the best. Michael Ruppert was someone I found out about when, like many, I tried finding out about the realities of 9/11 and the politics and manoeuvring behind the scenes. I watched one of his lectures delivered at a University in which he covers, at a high level, all the major topics addressed in Crossing the Rubicon.

Rupert uses the massive interest in the attacks of 9/11 to get the reader interested, and then begins on his analysis. The core issues discussed in the book are:

- The role 'Peak Oil' plays in the geopolitical world

- US markets dependence on the 'liquid cash' of drug money

- Links between wall street and CIA - to the point where he concludes 'wallstreet is the CIA, CIA is wallstreet'.

- CIA drug trafficking and money laundering, including details of covert operations and how they were covered up.

- US tactics used to destabilise governments and support coups in strategic areas

- Mike Vreeland - who predicted the 9/11 attacks in details months prior and tried warning the government - something that is officially recorded.

- PROMIS software and the its role in the world of high tech crime.

- Blow-by-Blow analysis of the events of 9/11, and the best timeline I have read to date. Ruppert details the chain of command on the day, other events scheduled for that same day, the role of war games being played out on the day also.

- Biological warfare is looked at, exploring who was behind the 'anthrax' samples spread to people in the US via mail, and a look at the scary world of forced vaccinations and their results

- We end with another look at 'Peak Oil' and predictions about where the 'war on terror', which is really a 'war on oil and drugs', will go next.

This book has been a massive education for me. It is a disturbing book and its details will make readers very uncomfortable and at times just plain angry that such information is not being broadcast to the masses on TV. I cannot say that I checked all the hundreds of references in this book, but the ones I did check out were all credible. Reading this books gives you a much clearer picture of what is really going on in the world today and what are its driving forces

and who are the key players.

Many people are misdirecting their criticism of the 'war on terror' and as a Muslim I know many feel its a war on Islam. After reading this book I can know say confidently 'Its not a war on Islam, as the US need Saudi Arabia as a strong ally to get at Saudi oil, to have them as a key supporter of it Persian gulf area. They are key as approximately $700 billion of Saudi Money is invested in the US economy'. Before reading this book I could not have given, nor would have given that answer.

There are two small things that detract slightly from this book in my view and they are the following:

1. Using 9/11 to get people interested.

Ruppert talks about a lot more than 9/11, but he continually refers to it to keep the readers interest. The same can be seen in his lectures. This is a minor point, but at times it is a bit irritating for the readers who are prepared to wait and do not need to hear 'ok - we are going to get to the juicy part in a few pages!' constantly.

2. Self Importance + Promotion of From the Wilderness Magazine

Ruppert is constantly quoting from his magazine 'From the Wilderness' which is a subscription only publication, and many times he talks about how his predictions were right, how 'From the Wilderness' readers had this information in advance, and there is a lot of self promotion. This, again, is a minor criticism as he is selling products, like all of us he has to make a living etc. It does not detract from the material, but at times it can be frustrating.

Its interesting to note that in the US this book on Amazon has mixed reviews from readers, with some angrily opposed to its content. In the UK based Amazon reviews its has 100% 5-star record. The reason is simple - the book paints a very negative picture of the US government, and its foreign policy, and for some this is just too much to deal with. Denial is then the only path to avoid massive guilt for Americans who support - or have supported - the current administration.

To conclude this book is a must read for everyone. Its 600 pages, so that will immediately limit its appeal, but its the most rewarding political book I have read to date. Its analysis fits world events and it opens the readers eyes to the real issues in the world today.

I recommend anyone considering this book should buy it read it right till the end - as there are some special bits of information saved till the very last chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterwork, 19 Dec. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a masterwork. Its a pity it isn't in hardback as it deserves to last and to be read for generations. The author is an ex-detective turned journalist and he combines the methodology and thoroughness of a criminal investigation with the readability of a seasoned journalist. He actually invites us the readers to examine his sources for ourselves and challenge his conclusions.
His conclusions are overwhelmingly significant for this century, this millenium that will see the end of the 'Age of Oil' and the beginning of what...? to replace it. And he makes a tight and evidence-rich case for pointing the finger at the present US administration as being criminally involved in 9/11 and the subsequent military adventurism to secure the oil. He shows how the oft used quote 'The American way of life is not negotiable' is used as justification for invasions and covert operations abroad and similar illegal activities within the US, by its government and its agencies, to try to put off the day when the end of oil will signal the end of 'the American Empire' and 'the American Dream'.
He has done a superb job and whether you agree with all his conclusions or not, at the end of the day this work will stand as a masterwork for this time in the history of humanity in general and of 'Petroleum Man' in particular.
Thank you Michael C.Ruppert for your efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossing the Rubicon, 26 Jan. 2005
By 
Nicholas Rodriguez (Halebank, Widnes United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
MY GOD YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!
This book appeared in my Amazon recommendations and to be honest the 9/11 part of the story put me off. I thought "crank, money spinner coming up with wacky stories to get published". How very very wrong I was! What made me buy this book was the Economic story (I had just finished Globalization and its discontents by Joseph Stiglitz).
I've never wished to accept that 9/11 & Iraq was all down to oil. Mr. Ruppert touches on the American Public and their reluctance to believe that their country would do such things as detailed in this book. Being English I don't think a Labour Gov' would take UK soldiers to war over oil, surely WMD would be found in due time... well we know what happened their so I think all nationalities suffer from the "we don't do things like that" syndrome.
Please read this book, judge for yourselves and then pass it to your friends asking them to do the same. I tried to buy this from 2 of the national book retailers in the UK. One who's name begins with the letter B and the other with the letter W. Neither of them could get me it, in fact store B laughed when they noticed it was no longer available and suggested someone didn't like the content. Too right this is powerful stuff.
I finished the book this evening and nearly missed the last part tucked away at the back. Without spoiling the end I nearly screamed on the train when I read a certain set of memos regarding a particular incident that in the Caribbean in 1962. Mr Ruppert God bless you. I will be saving my money to afford a subscription to your website. You are not a crank and believe you to be an honest and trustworthy source, you will be receiving my congratulations on one of the best books I have ever read via your website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a theory, 15 Mar. 2005
By 
G. Easton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off let me say this to the previous reviewer: The removal of the reader reviews from Amazon's US website was not some kind of conspiracy theory because it happened and I saw it first hand. The person who asked why the reviews had been removed did not state there was a conspiracy, they simply wanted to know why. This and problems getting the book published were all addressed in an article on the authors website. I suggest you have a look.
On to the book it's self.. Well if you have read the majority of the reviews you will see that most people think this book is groundbreaking and I couldn't agree more. I have finished the book now but frequently pick it back up and use it as a reference guide to remind me of names places and events. If only there were more awareness and availability of this publication. Unfortunately this doesn't happen by staying silent so I have made an effort to inform my friends of the books contents as I knew most of them would turn away at the thought of reading the full 600 pages themselves. However many were surprisingly interested and I am pleased to say one of them has now purchased his own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews