Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prob the best Ben Bova book ever.
I first read this book - the exiles trilogy- about ten years ago and have since read it twice and passed it on to a good friend.

basicaly this book tells the story of a group of scientists and adventurers that are exiled from earth for various reasons- mainly political and follows their life onboard a rather large spaceship into deep space. these people have to...
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by Stuart Curtis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Compared to other stories such as Moonrise and the Keith Stoner series, then this fell far short of the mark for me. Having 3 stories in one book made it feel disjointed as individuals lacked depth and I felt I could not 'get into' the characters. Also the plot itself was too unbelievable in my opinion.
Published on 6 Sep 2012 by Mr. F. Reid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prob the best Ben Bova book ever., 31 Oct 2007
By 
Stuart Curtis (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exiles Trilogy (Paperback)
I first read this book - the exiles trilogy- about ten years ago and have since read it twice and passed it on to a good friend.

basicaly this book tells the story of a group of scientists and adventurers that are exiled from earth for various reasons- mainly political and follows their life onboard a rather large spaceship into deep space. these people have to survive all kinds of problems on their way to an unknown promised land many millions of miles away which will take a number of lifetimes to reach. theres policial intrigue between rival factions, break down in technology and, in the final throes of the book a complete breakdown in what they would call modern civilisation- the final section of the book is a written masterpiece. The people on board live and die on board their ship and their children take over from them, over and over again. as more and more systems fail on their way life becomes harder and harder for each generation- plus the upper and lower class thing that goes on in the background- its a very very good read.

without giving too much away, by the time the ship is truly falling apart around them and they are approaching what could be their only chance of survival- an M class planet in an unknown solar system the one last adult guardian/pilot/navigator goes to the people in his care to report that theiy are finaly at their new home to find that the technology that controlled the education (amongst other things) had failed years earlier and his charge have regressed to something akin to the dark ages with no knowledge or understanding of technology. he has to pursuade them to leave the ship- the only world they have ever known and somehow bring them up to speed... not an easy task.

like I said, awesome read, real page turner and definately gets the thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Superb concept, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Excellent! Superb concept, well written and gripping from start to finish. It can be difficult to follow stories that span three separate generations or 'starting' points, however bearing with it for a few pages you soon pick up where the old story left off. Wonderful book for those who like sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Basicaly this book tells the story of a group of scientists and adventurers that are exiled from earth for various reasons- mainly political and follows their life on board a rather large spaceship into deep space. these people have to survive all kinds of problems on their way to an unknown promised land many millions of miles away which will take a number of lifetimes to reach. theres policial intrigue between rival factions, break down in technology and, in the final throes of the book a complete breakdown in what they would call modern civilisation- the final section of the book is a written masterpiece. The people on board live and die on board their ship and their children take over from them, over and over again. as more and more systems fail on their way life becomes harder and harder for each generation- plus the upper and lower class thing that goes on in the background- its a very very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Bova at his best, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
As always, Ben uses imagination linked with scientific knowledge to produce a really good read. Science fiction at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read !, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Could this scenario possibly be the destiny of the human race .....?
Highly recommended .
Ben Bova's vivid descriptions and wonderful characters draw your mind into the scenario from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. F. Reid "Frank Reid" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
Compared to other stories such as Moonrise and the Keith Stoner series, then this fell far short of the mark for me. Having 3 stories in one book made it feel disjointed as individuals lacked depth and I felt I could not 'get into' the characters. Also the plot itself was too unbelievable in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
3 stories, written many years apart. The early work occasionally shows its age, but was nevertheless a fine exploration of the political consequences of genetic manipulation.
Story 2 carries on where the Exiles find themselves closing in on Alpha Centauri, and it isn't looking too good.
The final chapter concerns what happens when a generation ship suffers a calamity and the survivors are mere children.
The stories are good narratives without there being anything very radical about them, but they form an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles Trilogy (Paperback)
Have enjoyed many of Ben Bova's books and this was no exception. I especially enjoyed the idea of bringing together three volumes in one. Could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Started well, 2 Sep 2014
By 
M Clarkson "love sci-fi" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Exiles Trilogy (Kindle Edition)
First story was pretty good. Second story was terrible, seemed like the author got bored thinking about plot, science or even the charcters. Third story I gave up on even though it seemed to get a little better. Wasn't even good for reading in the Cafe with a bacon sarnie ... very dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Exiles Trilogy
The Exiles Trilogy by Ben Bova
£2.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews