Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantics Anonymous - A Wonderful Film
I brought this DVD as I had missed my chance to see it in the cinema and am so glad I did! What a delightful film, beautifully written with the right mix of sadness, romance and comedy. A fairly short film but it kept my attention the whole way through. I love watching French movies and this one is definitely up there with the best.
Published 22 months ago by Anne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting but OK
Not quite the film I was expecting but it had some interesting moments. Not sure how many time I would want to watch it. So perhaps one to rent rather than buy.
Published 13 months ago by A.J.E.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an iced gem, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Anyone who denies watching sub-titled foreign movies are missing so much good cinema. I really cannot imagine this story being "americanised" and still being so touching and rewarding. This has to be a french film. In my view the French make the best romances and the Spanish the best horror.

This is a story of two people who lack confidence, but not passion and love. Thats love of chocolate and a passion for the milky cocoa substance which goes beyond any other passion they have. Its a French rom-com though that degrades the film somewhat. Its funny and it is a comedy but it is much more entertaining then that.

The film draws you in and in no time you overlook the fact that you are reading sub-titles. In my eyes thats my idea of a good foreign movie. It is slow-paced, as I reckon any romantic film should be, but it flows and ends with that good feeling you get after a pleasant chocolate desert.

please watch it, be drawn in and buy some of the finest chocolate after. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming romantic comedy, 7 Jan 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Quite cute romantic comedy that manages to overcome being predicable in the broad sense with lovely performances, and a quirky
sensibility that allows for smaller surprises within the established rom-com format.

Benoit Poelvorode (in a 180 degree turn from his famous, chilling performance in "Man Bites Dog") and Isabelle Carre are both, in
different ways, suffering from terrible shyness and fear of emotions and attention. Yet, when she comes to work at his chocolate
company personality and fate keep conspiring to force them together, in spite of their fears.

This has a few laugh out loud moments, and lots of smile inducing ones. In the end, it doesn't add up to more than what it is; a
blissfully compact (78 minutes) good hearted romantic comedy done with expertise, but in a world full of painful and dead
rom-coms, this is s very nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romantics Anonymous, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Titled "Romantics Anonymous" in English, this short film introduces us to Jean-René, the chronically shy owner of a failing chocolate factory who pays regular visits to a shrink in an attempt to overcome his inability to relate to others. He hires Angélique, a hypersensitive young woman, as a totally unsuitable sales rep, not realising that she possesses a rare talent for making irresistible chocolates which can save his business. Unable to cope with personal recognition and being the centre of attention, she has managed to pass herself off as a mere go-between ferrying what have become widely celebrated chocolates made by an imaginary elusive "hermit" to a confectioner who is "in" on her secret but whose death has forced her to seek another job.

In this short, lightweight comedy, much of the humour revolves around Jean-René trying to fulfil basic tasks to develop his social skills: steeling himself to touch people, or to take Angelique out for a meal. We realise why he brings a suitcase to the restaurant and hides it in the gents: he needs to rush off every few minutes to change his shirt, as he is "burning up" over the stress of the meeting.

Similarly, we see Angélique taking her problems to a support group full of ironical situations, such as when the girl who "can't say no" proudly tells the others that she has managed to resist a man's advances, only for it to become sadly apparent that she has destroyed what sounds like a genuine relationship which she should have encouraged.

The incidents are too exaggerated for anyone to take offence over laughing at what is in fact a real problem for many people. Overall, the film is quite well-made, and it is all "wonderfully French" apart from the jarring, glaringly inappropriate English pop music inserted to cover some scenes.

Can Jean-René overcome his gaucheness sufficiently to stop driving Angélique away because she thinks she has "done something wrong"? Can two such emotional people find happiness together? The outcome is not really in doubt. If it all sounds too trivial, you can at least take the opportunity to practise your French comprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little film, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A totally fantastic French film! If you loved Amélie or anything else like it, this will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, funny, quiet story, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film, I can really identify with Angelique and her shyness and little quirks like singing to herself and jumping in the streets. You can really feel with the characters and it's hard not to laugh at the funny situations.

I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet love, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Taking place against the background of a small chocolate making company the painfully shy boss and his new sales recruit Angelique get together following a set of mishaps caused by each other's neuroticism. An amusing and heartwarming tale. excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quelle surprise!, 11 Dec 2013
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Romantics Anonymous is a delightful,uncynical French trifle or bon-bon,whipped up like a new recipe for chocolate, but having very old ingredients.A sweet and witty romance set,appropriately, in a chocolate factory. Isabelle Carre is the shy young Angelique who goes to work for the nervy,struggling Benoit Poelvoorde.They are both cripplingly shy,he has a counsillor who sets him secret tasks to overcome his problems,she attends an Romantics Anonymous group to share her problems.She knows how to make chocolate to a high standard,but packages herself for the sales-woman role.A major outlet wont accept their old product any longer,so Angelique pretends to know a hermit who has a remedy for this disaster.They use his recipe and hey presto,they're winning prizes and selling again.

Two borderline dysfunctionals finding sugary solace together while trying to get the company back on track.Of course the old hermit who is the source of their success together,is really Love,with the softest centre of all.I think they must have watched some Ealing Comedies in the way they created their little world of chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet as chocolate, 5 Sep 2013
By 
A extremely cute & quirky French film about a shy failing chocolate maker & the equally shy girl who joins his factory. It's very heartwarming & made me smile. The film is also very funny in parts with many scenes making us laugh out loud. The wonderful cast come together to make this a great little film. Fully recommended if you liked Amelie [DVD] [2001] or The Science Of Sleep [DVD] [2006]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed it, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, arrived quickly. Ideal film for anyone who knows what it is like to feel shy or anxious with others, gentle humorous moments and inspiring theme. One of my friends who watched it with me is now working in the industry as a result - spooky :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet film, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is lovely - it's not hugely challenging but it's a nice story, not too long, and well acted. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Romantics Anonymous [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews