Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'And tonight's sessions come from...', 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Goodnight and good riddance' - John Peel's sneery sign-off after his Road-to-Damascus conversion to all things punk, new wave and reggae. And for many of us that's the only J/Peel we knew having tuned the dial to him some time in '77. It was only years later I discovered his hippy-era (and he championed some decent stuff then too - if you want an example of his earlier laconic feel listen the intro's and interviews on Bowie at the Beeb-1968-1972). But for me 77-79 was his peak period - and the creme-de-la-creme of a Peel show was frequently the sessions. Across 2-discs here you get The Jam, Buzzcocks, Stranglers, Adverts, 999, Penetration, SLF etc - representing the various shades of punk itself but you also get some great (what we later came to know as) 'post punk' in Wire, Magazine, Joy Division and an awesome 'Poptones' by Pil, the burgeoning eye-liner brigade of Simple Minds and the Psychedelic Furs. Rounded off with the reggae and ska of the likes of Aswad, Steel Pulse, Madness, The Beat. Some curios like Adam and the Ants 'Deutscher Gilrs' from the period when the Ants were would become most of Bow Wow Wow and Adam was into S&M rather than First-Nation-American-Pirate-Highwaymen, Human League (when they were 2/3 Heaven 17) with the bonkers 'Being Boiled' - a long way from 'Love Action', J-C-Clarke's sleazy/dreamy 'Readers Wives'. And if you've got all these tracks in their record form? So what, everything here has something different and worthwhile - even if only the immediacy and live feel. And of course, in amongst it all Peel's fave-raves The Undertones turning in not 'Teenage Kicks' but a barnstorming 'Get Over You'. I was 14 to 16 in the period these tracks were recorded - teenage dreams so hard to beat indeed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john peel sessions-1977-1979, 25 Feb 2013
By 
S. G. Mills "hawk69" (reading england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sir peel never had crap on his sessions&heres a great collection of peel sessions..great cd.anyone geting into punk/powerpop/ this is a great introduction to a great period in british music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up illicitly listening to the Peel Sessions on my cassete radio when I was supposed to be asleep, so this is a real blast from the past.
Recommeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music !, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am absolutely loving this !41 raw,top quality,songs from artists who at the time of recording I'm guessing were striving for greater recognition but were NOT prepared to compromise . The overall feel teeters on the edge of raw demo versions / single versions . All VERY listenable ,you may find yourself UNAPOLOGETICALLY turning the volume up as the songs spread across the 2 cds slip by. ENJOY !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john peel show, 20 Nov 2011
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
i used to listen to the john peel show on headphones most week nights in the late seventies because the sounds were great and it was much better than watching boring tv with my parents.
many of the songs here i listened to for the first time months before they were released on vinyl, because there were no cds or downloads in those days.
it is a good selection but there are a lot of big names missing including the sex pistols who were not invited because the producer did not want them spitting or throwing up in the studio!
no clash they attempted a session but walked out after an argument with an engineer about the basic studio equipment?
no elvis costello he recorded four peel sessions and these remain locked in the bbc vaults.
no Boomtown Rats, Pentration, Gang Of Four, Ultravox, Gary Numan and did the Heartbreakers ever perform?
for an overview of what important music was like in the late seventies this is essential listening.
year zero surely that was 1976 when the first alternative singles were released and newspaper headlines introduced angry punks to the nation.
It was all over by late 1979 when 2 tone records dominated the pop charts.
john peel was up to date of course and their first recordings can be heard on this album.
there is a good cd booklet with session details and a few b&w photos.
i am looking forward to a second volume 1980 - 1982 new wave, new romantic and possibly some nwobhm.
Movement - The Peel Sessions 1977 - 1979
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets., 9 Nov 2013
I don't like reviewing too quickly in case I change my mind. However, having owned this CD for two years, I thought I might mention that this is, by far, the best compilation CD I own, and I still play this regularly. However, there are so many other tracks that could have been on this that I keep checking for a volume 2 (hint hint).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent cd recommended, 30 Dec 2011
By 
I. Tandy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
excellent cd highly recommended. Sound quality is superb as all acts are recorded live. Memories of my youth !! John Peel RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peel Sessions 1977-1979, 28 Dec 2011
I first knew about Peel Sessions back in the metal days, thanks to Carcass and Napalm Death. John Peel really set a path for great music and attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JOHN PEELS FINE MOMENTS, 5 Dec 2011
By 
I. Davidson "Iain" (Downtown Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
as someone who used to listen to john peel during these times it was great to rehear some of the songs long forgotten, its hard to compile this sort of comp without some average tracks but fantastic to hear these again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch!, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Mark Butler (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent selection. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews