Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Buy it. Good chilling out music. Noel at his best. It's one that you will listen to often. Will become a classic
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by Louise

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noel playing it safe.....
I'm a little disappointed with this release...yes, there are some excellent songs here...and the album is extremely pleasant for the most part...but I just get the feeling if Noel Gallagher had let himself go a little bit, this could have been an exceptional album...I know he didn't want to alienate his followers - as if that is ever likely with Oasis diehards - with a...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Martino


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Dec 2011
Buy it. Good chilling out music. Noel at his best. It's one that you will listen to often. Will become a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
At last - and worth the wait. Noel Gallagher proves he's worth the accolades that are frequently thrown his way by producing this, his debut "solo" album, which is both interesting and comfortable in its content. All 10 songs are of a good quality (with perhaps "Stop The Clocks" my least favourite but it's all relative). Opening track "Everybody's on the run" sets the tone and all that follows doesn't really reduce the quality with "If I Had A Gun", "...Record machine", "AKA..What a Life!" and "Broken Arrow" all top notch songs. Think of Noels clearly solo offerings on past Oasis albums such as "Importance of Being Idle", "Sunday Morning Call" and "The Masterplan" and that's about where we are here.

All in all an excellent debut from a very assured and accomplished artist. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Lushy, 26 Oct 2011
By 
Vinyl Review.

Love the arrangements the songwriting and the whole confidence thats on display here. Its distinctly Noel but some of the songs seem great departures in his style, others have a slight Oasis feel to them. If I had a criticism its the fact Noels brought over from Oasis that horrible fat wall of sound finish to the engineering and production. This album feels like it needs much more air to breathe and its never given it properly though at least the vinyl sounds warm and easy compared to the CD which has a harshness and horrible compression.

The package is nice with a great gatefold selection of pics and a illustrated inner sleeve with lyrics. Vinyl is excellent quality and nice and silent. All in all excellent but could have been so much better with a different engineering approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 17 Oct 2011
By 
jj webb "JW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very high quality album, every track is a killer and there is no filler. The whole album plays together as one great experience that is greater than the sum of it's parts. Noel's best album since what's the story, glad he's ditched the baggage. Nice one Noel, about time! I knew you really had a masterplan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Flier, 9 Jan 2012
I know music reviews are always very subjective but I've got to say I enjoyed this album on first play and it just gets better. Even my wife who detests Oasis with a passion finds it tolerable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Genius behind it all........, 5 Jan 2012
By 
T.Heard (Northampton) - See all my reviews
This is a great album although I would agree with some other reviews, I think there is better to come from Noel and yes I think he has played it safe. For me I loved Master Plan, Sunday Morning Call, Magic Pie, Don't Look Back in Anger which are the Songs that Noel not only writes but sings and there is a song that is pretty much a copy of the Importance of being idle. If your a Noel or an Oasis fan then I think you will enjoy this debut and I'm sure there will be plenty more to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Grower, 4 Jan 2012
Was not sure on the 1st listen but High Flying Birds is a real grower. If you take all of the laid back harmonious Oasis B sides (when there was such a thing) and develop them for an album, this is what you get (Half The World Away etc). It is the mellow brother ( no pun intended) to Beady Eye's full on Rock - mix them up an you have an Oasis album (funny that). A recommended work from a great songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it a lot, 2 Jan 2012
I wasn't sure about whether to buy this album but I'm so glad I did. Its brilliant. It felt like playing 'What's the Story?' for the first time. Noel is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 22 Dec 2011
One of the best albums of all time. The work of a genius. This proves where the Oasis magic came from. BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal debut, 21 Nov 2011
By 
John Bennett (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Was really looking forward to the release of this album. The work Noel did with Oasis was phenomenal and his itunes solo live album 'The dreams we had as children...' showed he has the talent to go solo with versions of some Oasis songs even better than the originals. There isn't a bad song on this album, from the opening track to the last song, which was originally wrote to go on an Oasis album. Vocals, guitar playing and songwriting are all excellent and show Noel Gallagher to be in a class of his own. If you liked Beady Eye's record, you will love this one even more. Shows where the talent in Oasis really was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds [Explicit]
Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds [Explicit] by Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews