Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 9 Aug 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
There is a reason this game is currently ranked 12th on boardgamegeek. Well balanced, fun and tactical, this game is easy to enjoy right from the start.

The aim of the game is to get the most victory point after 5 "years" of the game; each year consists of 5 phases. The game lasts for approximately 45 minutes to two hours, depending on the number of players and how experienced with the game each person is. It plays 2-4 players.

The mechanics of the game are fairly straightforward. The player rolls two dice, and can carry out an action with each one. It can be used to buy tiles, place tiles, sell goods or recruit more workers. Workers can be used to alter the dice roll by +1/-1, reducing reliance on luck, whilst keeping the element there. The number will relate to which pool you can pick tiles up from, or which tiles you can place, and which goods you are allowed to sell. Workers can be picked up regardless of dice roll.

I have played mostly two player games, and the odd 4 player game, and I can honestly say it is one of my favourite games-for-2-or-more-players that works extremely well with two. My girlfriend and I are very fond of this game and find it keeps its balance very well with two, and in some ways it is much more tactical.

The only factor I would change is the card the individual player boards are made of, when unboxed it feels flimsy and disappointing, but it has endured thus far. However, when you remember the current price of the game, the quality of the card is more than reasonable compared to, for example, Agricola, with thick card for playing boards (and countless tokens) that puts it in the 50+ price bracket.

I would say this is a 5* game, brilliant for two players, brilliant with 4, and absolutely exceptional for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gamers game - lots of people love it (but not me), 14 April 2013
By 
Adrian "adrianjfrost" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
I hope this review is helpful (that is my intent) but this particular game leaves me a bit cold and that may come across in the review. To be clear, many people think this game is utterly brilliant (it is one of the highest ever ranking Strategy games on BoardGameGeek)

It is a proper strategic game with some real depth and challenge to it (not that it is a heavy game by any means). Works well with 2 to 4 players but seems better suited to 2. If you are looking for a light or family game then this isn't it. But if you like thoughtful, multi path games that take less than 2 hours to complete then this is well worth a look. The basic premise is that you build and run an estate, building buildings, trading goods, develop knowledge etc

The game mechanics are very "Euro", so it is all about planning, decision making and Victory Points. The added twist is the use of dice which do add some element of luck, but there really isn't anything particularly exciting here. Rules take a little learning but again nothing too onerous

There are a lot of components, mostly of reasonable quality, though (for me) the artwork and cardboard is a little bit uninspiring. For the (modest) price it is perfectly acceptable

All in all if you have already played entry level Euro style games (like Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride etc) and want a new challenge it is possibly a good choice (that is why we came to it). Other similar games to think about would be Agricola (which is rather more expensive) or Puerto Rico. If you have played other Euro style games and find them a bit soulless then it possibly isn't for you - but one thing is for sure, it is still more interesting than playing Monopoly . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new style boardgame, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
If you are looking for a Monopoly type game, this will not be for you. But if you are looking to get something more complicated than Settlers of Catan, something that is excellent with 2 players (but playes up to 4 if you are up for more playtime), something that is challenging but easy enough to teach and understand, than this is definitely your game. An excellent game, although you shouldn't expect the highest component quality (I personally would not have minded paying a bit more for better quality components - but for a game this good, I will gladly overlook this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game for relative beginners, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Steve Lloyd (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
I played this game for the first time the other day with my regular gaming group. I find playing slightly serious-looking Euro games like this against people who have played it before a fairly daunting experience and usually expect to miss some fairly important aspect of the rules and get royally thrashed. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by CoB - the basic idea of the game is simple, the individual turns are quick (so little "downtime") and, as I discovered, you can get away without necessarily knowing all the functions of all the tiles (I posted a reasonable score and came a healthy 3rd out of four against experienced players).

At 20-odd pounds, this is a very reasonable price for a really good game for people familiar with Settlers or Carcassonne who want to try something a bit more challenging. My only criticism of the game is the quality and type of components. Its a bit tile-heavy - I'd rather they'd used wooden meeples for the workers, at least - and the player boards could do with being stiffer cardboard. Still, perhaps this is the downside of that low price. You pays your money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
Highly recommended. If you enjoy game like Settlers of Catan but a little more complex this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best 2-player games ever, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Ian Grant "grumpy" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
My wife and I are addicted to this game and play several times a week.
A good combination of skill and luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent strategic game!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
The Castles of Burgundy has a permanent place in my top 3 favourites! The game play is very easy to learn and has just the right balance - it's not too easy, so you don't get bored with it, but it's not too hard either, so you don't feel overwhelmed when you're supposed to relax and have some pleasant leisure time. In my opinion, it's best with 2 players and it's suitable for all ages. The 9 different player boards provide a lot of diversity and each game is very different from the others. The only downside is that the quality of the pieces is a bit low (as other customers have already mentioned). However, I really don't think this is such a big deal because the price is good and the game is marvellous! This product deserves 5 stars and if I could, I would give more!

P.S.: According to the rules, the players choose their boards, but I think it's more honest to close your eyes, shuffle and pick randomly, because there's a huge difference from one board to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing game., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
great game. skill an tactic. some luck with dice involved. but handling the dice needs skills. middle euro game. go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A game for intermediate players, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Banck "MasterBofSweden" (Sweden, Helsingborg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
Good game for the people familiar to games like Monopoly or Settlers of Catan and want to spice things up. For the price it is a must in any serious collectors collection. It is a game that is fast and also makes room for the social aspect of boardgaming after the first playthrough. Also available to play free online, which adds an extra dimension to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy (Toy)
A good game that works well with 2-4 players. There is a depth and variety of strategies possible, with that little bit of luck thrown in by the dice throw making different action easier or harder each turn. We really enjoy playing this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ravensburger The Castles of Burgundy
19.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews