Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Black Keys - Magnificent seven
It's a Black Keys album and you pretty much know what your going to get. This is the seventh outing from the great Patrick Carney and Dan Auerbach. They work in what is somewhat restricted musical seam yet they seem to manage to squeeze every ounce of funky blues and soul base metal from its core and add their own little discoveries. It all adds up to a quality product...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Red on Black

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as previous albums
I only discovered the Black Keys through Keep it Hid, Dan's solo album but fell in love with the sound and have been collecting their back catologue ever since, when the last Black Keys album came out, Dan said in an interview that they had made a more commercial album to make some money to fund their 'not so commercial' blues sound, it looks like fame got them hooked...
Published on 27 Jan 2012 by Jules


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars the black keys :el camino, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
if youre not sure about shelling out for this, then buy the 2 cd cheaper option

entitled Brothers.i really liked the origionallity of this band ( actually only 2

of them )theres something that keeps you humming these tunes,so try this band out

you will not be dissapointed !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
Get this album or miss out!!!
It grabs you from the opening track and does not let go until the closing bars. The feel and the pace, great.
Best album of 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big, fuzzy, bluesy rock and roll..., 23 Dec 2011
Admittedly, I'd only heard bits and pieces of The Black Keys before their last album "Brothers", which was tremendous.

This is even better - there just isn't a single wasted track on this album. From start to finish, they sound absolutely spot on, creating the best modern take on old-fashioned bluesy rock and roll I've heard.

It's taken til nearly christmas but, this may be my album of the year and its been playing pretty much non-stop since I downloaded it.

An essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Keys Added, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
Purist fans of the two piece Black Keys have expressed their doubts about the latest, and possibly best of the Black Keys contributions to R&B based white rock - but they are wrong. This is one fabulous disc.

Building on the expansion in Brothers - a great record by my standards - adding a bass and keyboards, and a new producer -not only does not hurt the Black Keys, it makes them a great normal band. Dan writes, sings and plays great songs, and Patrick adds his drumming, production and sense of insanity to one of the great iconoclastic bands of the last decade.

From the kickoff track, Lonely Boy,the album shows its wares. It fills the ears - Stop Stop, Nova Baby, Run Right Back. Where are the dud tracks, I kept asking myself? Nowhere on this record is there a dull moment, an unmemorable riff, a foot placed wrong. Yet it still has some of the rough edges of earlier recordings, the unpolished sound is still there.

Fresh as a daisy - and in the UK in February, this is a must own, must see band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl version: a bit overpriced, but worth it, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Ø. Hjartnes (Bergen, NO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The vinyl version of this album is really cool. It comes with a shrinkwrapped mini-cover thing with the CD version and a huge poster. The mastering is also done excellently. Even so, I feel the overall thing is a tad overpriced. The album itself is of course seemingly flawless and truckloads of fun to listen to. All in all it's worth getting.
Note: this is a 1LP release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you can see by my name I am an avid fan of a particular root vegetable butt I am also a great Phan of the black keys you should get this slbum!
This has been a potato joe message
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I tried, I really did, 22 Dec 2011
By 
V. EADES "Ink Maiden" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
As much as I have tried to enthuse myself about this album I just think it's mediocre. And I've not come to expect that from The Black Keys, at all, so I think this is a poor quality album.
It sounds like too may other indie-poppy things in places and lacks the real grit and soul a lot of their previous releases had. I was really pleased when they became real popular but if this is the result maybe i'm not so pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's the Black Keys, Jim, but not as we know it...., 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
For new fans of the Black Keys this might just be the best thing they've heard all year. Catchy, well produced (by Danger Mouse) and played, you just might be wondering why I gave it 3 stars. I've been listening to the Black Keys for years and loved their earlier stuff, recorded as a duo, with a dirty, bluesy sound. This, to be honest, could almost be anyone (Dan's vocals apart). They've lost almost everything that made them sound original in the first place.

Good luck to them. I hope they're successful. I'll not be buying their albums too quickly though. Now, where's that copy of 'Thickfreakness'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit more than glam rock, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
This band gets better and better , after the much hyped but underwhelming Brothers this is a massive step forward.
More edge, rockier and loads of glam rock/blues fun ( remember that ?)
Brilliant performance live also at Ally Pally in February where the crowd went mental over great tracks like Gold on the Ceiling, Little Black Submarine and Lonely Boy.
Why arent there are great British guitar bands like the awesome Black Keys ??
Should be album of year but check out Thickfreakness/Attack & Release.

CANT WAIT FOR NEXT ONE BOYS AND A UK FESTIVAL PERFORMANCE PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 17 Jan 2012
By 
J. M. Dolton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Camino (Audio CD)
They have finally perfected the rawness of their original blues with the smooth production that comes with Danger mouse. I LOVE THIS ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

El Camino
El Camino by The Black Keys (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews