Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaavie KS-0
I purchased this from UK Highland and it was very reasonably priced. (27.40 including postage) For the money I was not expecting amazing quality but I am really pleasantly surprised. Any minor quibbles (not many so far) are outweighed by its ease of use. It is far smoother than the ball head it was replacing (a 20 year old Benbo one) which was obviously not in the first...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by T Howes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money
This ball head is fantastic value for money (I paid 22.99 fullfilled by Amazon). The maximum load capacity of 8KG which is enough for the majority of people on a tight budget. If you need a higher loading capacity, be prepared to pay over 100 approaching 200 GBP for such a head. For this price and loading capacity it is adequate.

The ball head comes with three...
Published 2 months ago by Moo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
This ball head is fantastic value for money (I paid 22.99 fullfilled by Amazon). The maximum load capacity of 8KG which is enough for the majority of people on a tight budget. If you need a higher loading capacity, be prepared to pay over 100 approaching 200 GBP for such a head. For this price and loading capacity it is adequate.

The ball head comes with three (3) major controls, a pair of ball head locking clamp knobs on each side, an arca swiss dovetail plate clamp knob (and associated press safety release button) and panoramic release knob.

So major features are ball head free orientation and portrait slot (but I would recommend you use an Arca compatible L-plate as to keep the camera body balanced on the center of the tripod rather than move weight to the side for portraits), panoramic rotation and camera body/lens plate with safety feature.

The ball head comes with a thread adapter if your tripod legs head is not 3/8", some are 1/4" (for example, the Horizon 8115 that I mount 25x100 binoculars on is 1/4" thread) but most photographic tripods should be 3/8" attachment.

Check out Ex-Pro 1/4'' to 3/8'' Threaded Nuts for Tripod, Light Stands and Digital SLR [5 Pack for appropriate adapters, these are made from STEEL and not Aluminum as others are so should reasonably strong if you need more or to replace this one.

I also have a Hahnel ball head Hahnel BH-40 360 Degree Panoramic Rotation Quick Release Ball Head, however, it is not Arca Swiss compatible so I bought this ball head for arca compatibility with L-plates Emgreat Quick Release L Plate Bracket for Canon Nikon Camera Benro Arca Swiss Tripod Head.

The safety release is just a screw on a spring loaded bar, the Hahnel ball head has a bigger and better safety pin (not just a screw). The Hahnel also has better controls and more solidly built.

Of the two ball heads, I do prefer the Hahnel, but again, it is not Arca compatible, this ball head IS arca compatible so that is why I use it currently.

So why not full stars, well, because

1) Knobs are not as nice as the Hahnel BH-40 (only one knob is required to tighten the ball head on the Hahnel and it is larger for easier grip),
2) Safety pin is just a screw, not as safe as the Hahnel safety pin,
3) Clamp feels wiggly, Hahnel is tighter clamping, more reassuring and less wiggly,
4) Does not feel as strong as the Hahnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaavie KS-0, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
I purchased this from UK Highland and it was very reasonably priced. (27.40 including postage) For the money I was not expecting amazing quality but I am really pleasantly surprised. Any minor quibbles (not many so far) are outweighed by its ease of use. It is far smoother than the ball head it was replacing (a 20 year old Benbo one) which was obviously not in the first flush of youth when it was retired. Amazingly after 20 years the Kaavie was actually cheaper! Highland delivered it quickly and efficiently. Very pleased so far. Lets see how the next 20 years go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as many twice the price., 3 Feb 2012
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
I needed a head that was easily adjusted and would hold a heavy DSLR and even heavier lenses at various angles, without slipping due to the weight. The problem I had was not so much telephoto lenses, which generally attach directly to a head, but lenses in the mid range (made of metal, with a lot of elements)which you have to use the camera attachment for. This head so far has done the job on top of a carbon fibre tripod and adjustment of camera angle is easy and the head locks well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Gitzo Traveler!, 8 July 2014
By 
C. Hawkes "Livefats" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
I bought this when my Markins Q3 ballhead jammed solid, and needed a replacement whilst it was repaired. At 27, I wasn't expecting much, but this seemed a reasonable emergency stop-gap. But I was VERY pleasantly surprised.

First, it fits perfectly on my Gitzo traveler tripod - just as neatly as the Markins.

It holds my Canon 7D with 70-300 lens solidly - again, as does the Markins.

The ball does not swivel as smoothly as the Markins - but it's very acceptable in the field.

UNLIKE the Markins, it comes with an Arca-Swiss/Markins compatible camera plate. (Not as good quality as the genuine articlle, but does the job fine, and is a free addition rather than 50!

AND - it is a tenth of the price of my Q3. How could this NOT get 5 stars?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality product, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
Excellent quality product. Delivered very promptly. Feels very sturdy. And has no ball movement when tightened up. Only slight criticism is the ball head movement was stiff to start, but this has loosened up. We'll worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
Nice heavy and solid ball head

Be advised the screw adapter is already fitted so you need to unscrew it to reveal the larger thread for most tripods

Packaging is white box with no insert to tell you anything at all so it's just trial and error setting up

Using it on a Manfrotto 055 tripod and fits well and is very secure with my Nikon D7000

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazed, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
Bought to replace panhead on backup old battered Japanese heavy legs but am thinking of getting 2nd to put on set of manfrotto legs to replace my primary velbon tripod. Amazed at quality for the price, cheaper than some Asian websites sell this model too. Order was VERY swift next day despite free p&p. Only negative (nit picking) is tolerances/gap between threads and screws not perfect fit so bit wobbly but secure and they are greased so not issue.

Full alu no plastic, anodizing seems better than some expensive flashlights I own @ few times price of this, possibly HAIII but decent HAII job if not. Flawless shot peened finish with no tooling/casting marks etc. All lubed and very smooth, was expecting to have to do this myself and had rock'n'roll joint grease out and ready for arrival in anticipation but no need as it's fine. Movement is fluid, slightly stiff but smooth (no grinding) an feels like decent machining tolerance between ball and cup. Prob loosen up a bit after use, bit too stiff out the box for my liking in the horizontal pan dimension but minor issue as it'll loose up a bit and semi none-issue for still image (video users wont be using ball head anyway since they'll be looking at pan or fluid heads).

Tightens up rock solid without much torque, holds my consumer level (ie. light plastic) body + with grip, 55-250mm and strobe with cell pack and trigger weighing in at around 1.5Kg (just over). Zero creep at steep diagonal angle no problems, total stability. Seems like it'd hold a mid level mag/alu body (ie. around 1Kg) and moderate tele without issues.

QR plate is nice size, well machined with rubber pads of right thickness in proper places so don't marr camera base/grip base when tighten up and stops cam turning on the plate when on tripod like some do. I prefer the thinner plate style too since it less in way when off camera (ie. when lay on table etc) so I'm less likely to remove from grip base when off tripod. Very secure and releases quick enough for my taste. Not as feature rich as higher end big brand ones but for the price bracket it is the best I've seen and surprised me a lot and is as good as the cheapest ranges of the bigger brands IMO and they're all 3 times the price. Skeptical about 8Kg as that's probably close to its fail zone and I'd imagine creep at the very least but I'd trust 3Kg on it. For expensive pro gear you shouldn't be looking at this price range though and only high end gitzo and like should be trusted with several grands worth of gear on esp with heavy long glass.

Get yourself a hotshoe mount spirit level to go with it and you wont miss the absence of a QR plate integrated one. Hope longish review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaavie KS-O Ballhead, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the engineering quality of this Ballhead. Nothing plastic about this one.A real solid feel to it that gives confidence in mounting your Dslr and heavy lenses on it. Very smooth in in use with just the right degree of resistance when properly adjusted.I can fully recommend this to anyone considering a new Ballhead. It does,in my opinion, put a lot of more expensive units in the shade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recent purchase of the Kaavie KS-O, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
Delivery was prompt, as usual. Although the item was inexpensive it does the job very well. The camera with the 'quick release plate' attached clicks into place firmly and orientation is simply a case of loosening the finger knobs, moving the camera into the desired position and tightening up again. There is sufficient control for partial tightening so that movement is allowed without the camera slipping. I'm very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaavie KS-0 ballhead, 6 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaavie Full Metal Ball Head with Quick Release Plate (Electronics)
What a great item and at a fraction of the price for the same quality device from other manufacturers. Uk Highland has to be one of the best sellers on Amazon, what a fantastic service very very very quick. Thanks guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews