Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the darkness returns...
i played the original darkness back in 2007 and very much enjoyed the whole game, but it's been a long wait since then, and 5 years on the darkness has finally returned. i'll admit, it's a little different than the last game, but still remains a great first person shooter. the original developer starbreeze studios didn't produce this game sadly, so the unreal tournament...
Published on 13 Feb. 2012 by nightcrawler

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars big let-down after the original
I was very excited when I heard that the sequal to the original Darkness was coming out, but unfortunately this one is a real let-down.

The original was a moody dark game that really played up the horror angles, was an open-world format (to a limited extent, not like some of the games nowadays), had side quests, the first-world-war hell scenes were just...
Published on 23 Jun. 2012 by genki


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the darkness returns..., 13 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i played the original darkness back in 2007 and very much enjoyed the whole game, but it's been a long wait since then, and 5 years on the darkness has finally returned. i'll admit, it's a little different than the last game, but still remains a great first person shooter. the original developer starbreeze studios didn't produce this game sadly, so the unreal tournament developer digital extremes and now in charge.

you're still jackie estacado apart from a new voice actor (i prefer the original actor). jackie is struggling to come to terms with the death of his girlfriend, jenny, he refuses to use the darkness, but that is about to change. the game starts-off with a bang like before, armed thugs from an unknown organization come looking for you and begin attacking a restaurant as he sets down for dinner, suddenly, the restaurant becomes an entire war zone and jackie is badly injured, outgunned and fighting for is life. you most survive their onslaught, use the darkness and escape. i will say no more about the story due to spoiler.

the combat is a vast improvement over the first game, and now controlling the darkness is more involving and extremely satisfying. you are now able to grab enemies from afar with the demon arm and torture them in so many evil ways, you can throw anything, from cars to dustbins at enemies and it's even possible the grab bins and use for cover as you walk while in a gunfight. there is so many ways you can kill, and i've spent quite a few hours finding new ways, so, its certainly very vast. the darklings also make the return.

like in the previous game, you eat enemies hearts to gain darkness power, but this time it brings much reward. for every kill and heart eaten, you gain essence points for upgrades, just enter a purple orb when you see one, and a list of upgrades will appear. anything can be upgraded from black hole, flie swarms, guns, demon arm and much more, you'll be spoiled for choice. the graphics are now cel shaded and fit the game's comic book theme, some may not like the new engine, but i think their great, the darkness 2 is very well detailed game and has so much going for it - both in graphics and combat. unfortunately, it is a little short but it's well worth a few replays, and if your serious about shooters and loved the original, then this game will satisfy your needs in more ways then one.

there is not many customer reviews at the moment, so it looks like this game may be overlooked by many, it is a real shame because i feel they're seriously missing out on a very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im gonna get over with the reason i havnt given this game five stars. The first is that its kinda short, i played it on the 4th difficulty level and talked to everyone until they repeated dialog, while hunting down every relic and i'd say it lasted around 8-9 hours for me. The second is the vendettas thing feels tacked on and basicly...it sucks.

Okay now why its AWSOME! The characters and story are incredible, it manages to go from funny to heartbreaking and pulls both off better than most games. The voice acting is fantastic and i meen FANTASTIC! please make sure you talk to everyone and listen to everything they have to say. The story is the main star of this game and like the first game manages to be better than the comic book (and iv read most of them) its just so amazing how everything fits together and it just works.

The action is also on par with the story, the usual shooting style of fps games but with the darkness powers on top it makes a very original and brutal game. Shoot, slice, tear apart, rip spines from diffrent places it all gets very very messy :D

Its not as good as the first story wise but it is better gameplay wise and at the end of the day this is a game and one i fully recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It feeds again! shame that the portion is too small, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
John Whatmough (bournemouth, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It's been many a year but it finally has returned and it plays better than ever. you are in far more control than last time so the way you take down anyone is limited only by your imagination.
the graphics look better in play than the trailers show, however because it's focused on the comic look it looses the gritty edge it's predecessor had.
concerning stuff to do... there isn't much. you have a "hub" (which is jackies penthouse/mansion) where you can interact with a few people and then go off to your mission, the side missions from the previous game are gone which is a damn shame.
the story won't last long either, it's very short indeed and the end feels slightly rushed however you'll enjoy everything about it regardless.
lastly the multiplayer. it's a half hearted co-op affair focused on 4 characters that "compliments" the main story, it's fun for a quick blast but don't expect anything long term... it's literally there to satisfy the people who only buy games if theres multiplayer.

a classic case of a great game that should of been fantastic, worth full price? definatly but don't expect the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come to the dark, 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Fisheth24 (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Darkness is considered a cult classic and a breath of fresh air by many, the long awaited sequel has not reinvented the wheel, but it is still fun to play.

As a continuation of the first Darkness game (which is based on Top Cow's long running comic series, same universe, slightly different continuity) Jackie Estacado is still wielding the power of the Darkness and is still wielding the burden of grief from the loss of his girlfriend Jenny Romano who the Darkness is still using as an illusion to torment Jackie throughout the game.

In this sequel, the Brotherhood have arrived and they are a sort of secret religious sect, who know what the Darkness is, what it can do and how to get it, so they begin to hunt Jackie down and attempt to take the Darkness away from him.

The plotline for the "Darkness 2" is easy to follow. But it is well written and characters come to life with the sharp and occasionally witty dialog which is throughout the game. (Such as the Darkling, with various phrases as "God Save The Queen" and "Lets crush some heads")and the excellent performance by the entirety of the cast especially Michael Yurchak who gives a cracking performance of Aldolf in the Asylum sections of the game (all will be explained when you play)

Whilst watching E3 footage of the game before it came out, I had fears about the Cell shaded comic book look of the game as opposed to the realistic, dark and gritty approach of the first one, but as I started to use the Darkness to rip apart bodies and eat hearts, I had the feeling that a real approach would have turned people off from the game because of the graphic violence of the Darkness's powers. But the Cell shadedness makes it feel more like a comic and more immersive than say a real approach.

The gunplay is a lot tighter than before with only one Darkling to contend with rather than the three Darklings in the first game and the various Darkness powers that could be selected.
In this game however it's a bit more RPG like, various skill trees to go through, each giving different abilities and different effects on the game.

To get these abilities however,you gain essence by killing enemies with different attacks, or by relic hunting. (Which let me down slightly as the relics don't have any in game effects, would be cool to have a weapon made from some of the wood of Christ's cross)

similar issues to Darkness 1 arise, when the tech trees are completely unlocked Jackie gets far too overpowered, especially with how much health is taken from eating hearts, you're essentially a walking tank, big heavy and totally monstrous.

The sound is good, from the sound of bullets being fired, to the musical score and the voice acting, everything is clear and crisp, with no clipping on any of the tracks.

With similar problems to Darkness 1, Darkness 2 has fixed some of it's problems but created new ones (such as length and pointless side campaigns) all in all however, it's still a pretty fun game, with good emotional content between Jenny and Jackie, humor with Adolf and The Darkling and a gritty, noir-ish devastated world.

Pretty good game, sequel please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, much better than expected, 31 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I absolutely loved "The Darkness" and was thrilled when I heard of the sequel. I wasn't too sure about the brotherhood storyline so I delayed buying it at first, and I purchased a brand new special edition game for less than £20. After playing this game I would have happily paid full price for it at the release.

The story is not brilliant but is by no means mediocre. The asylum levels of the game are very "Shutter Island" and I feel they the concept was a stroke of genius and the execution even better. The introduction of Johnny Powell and the Darkling companion are great additions to game, and Johnny is a great device for explaining the history of the Darkness without you having to do a lot of research.

I'd have to say that the writing (especially during Jackie's Dark Room cut scenes) is some of the best i've ever seen, both from gaming and films. The quad wielding makes combat fast paced and action packed as when you combine two Darkness abilities with a pistol and an uzi it takes combat to a whole new level. Furthermore the new ability tree, in which Jackie spends the harvested "dark essence" for new abilities, is a very welcome level advancement system as you get to tailor the fighting experience to suit you.

On top of this the "Vendettas" mode add's some great campaign gameplay to what is a rather (unfortunately) short campaign. These four characters are all brilliant in their own right (especially Jimmy) and I never get tired of playing them. The only problem with this is that you can only play the multiplayer Vendetta missions online, so you can't play against your friends unless you both have the game.

The collectibles in the Darkness 2 are immensely better than the phone numbers in the first game. Even though the phone calls were very amusing and a great addition, the large quantity of them, the fact that they were so difficult to find, and the annoying person who kept upping the phone numbers neeed made them very frustrating to acquire. Yet there are only 29 relics in the main campaign, and they are very easy to spot. As an added bonus, there Johnny gives some great descriptions of the items you find.

There are a few disappointments however -

*Butcher Joyce has been demoted to extra, and he was one of my favourite character's

*Jackie's "Hitman" executions are no longer available (but they are replaced by a wide range of brilliant Darkness executions)

*The creeping darkness ability has been taken out (which irked me at first as it was my favourite ability), but without it you are forced in the middle of all the action instead of just skulking around corners, which makes for much more interesting gameplay and so could very well be an advantage.

*There are no side missions and the game is very linear which is a bit of a disappointment after the little side missions of the first game, but the upside is you don't waste time walking long distances (and enduring long loading scenes) to complete them.

* SPOILER - SPOILER - SPOILER - SPOILER*
The fact that Jackies father owned a huge mansion, which is still in pretty good shape, and the fact that aunt Sarah seems very capable of looking after Jackie, raises many questions as to why he was just dumped in an orphanage when his family clearly had enough money to put him with Aunt Sarah. But apart from this plot hole the story seems pretty solid (as always, just don't expect it to follow the same story as the comics)

BONUS ITEMS REVIEW

*The Darkness poster, about a metre tall with the game cover on the front and a brilliant piece of artwork in a collage style on the back.
*2 free comic downloads from the Darkness comic book series (brilliant content, would be worth buying the limited edition for this alone)
*2 new abilities available, Gourmet hearts adds 20% onto the dark essence harvested from eating hearts, relic hunter points out relics for you so you don't have to keep searching to find them (very helpful ability)
*A new darkling costume (haven't seen this yet to my knowledge so I can't really comment on it.

Overall, a brilliant game with great characters, battle system, script writing and graphics. Only real downside is that it could be longer.

Cannot wait for the The Darkness 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars big let-down after the original, 23 Jun. 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was very excited when I heard that the sequal to the original Darkness was coming out, but unfortunately this one is a real let-down.

The original was a moody dark game that really played up the horror angles, was an open-world format (to a limited extent, not like some of the games nowadays), had side quests, the first-world-war hell scenes were just amazing, you could detach one of the demon arms and slither off in stealth mode, etc etc

All that is gone in this sequel and what is left is a totally linear FPS, even to the extent of a door closing behind you, or you pop over a ledge you can't climb back up etc, so that you literally move from one set piece to the next. No side quests, no slithering, only 2 scenes as the darkling (and how annoying is his dialogue ??). The demon arms are now just glorified powerful melee weapons, although when you're using them, there's so much going on on screen that you lose track, and eventually wonder where everybody went (and then realise you're still holding half a torso). But still, at least you get a cuddle at the end.

Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont miss it, 19 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It seems like an age since I played the first fantastic Darkness game and along with the excellent Prey it was one of the first games for the Xbox 360 that I played through and completed and became totally absorbed into. The Darkness was an absolutely sublime game, which built to a fantastic conclusion, at least that's what nostalgia tells me and the memory is sweet enough that I'm not going to go back and check in case it ruins it. Still when a sequel was announced after such a long wait I was overjoyed, however once I caught sight of the game I was put off, I dismissed the game out of hand and that was that. Recently though I found the game heavily discounted, so much so that I would have been a bit silly not to pick it up, so I decided that in fact I would like to know what Jackie was up to these days and now that I have I am very glad that I did not let this absolute monster of a game pass me by.

For all my worries regarding the graphics, there really isn't too much of a problem, when its moving it's a whole new ball game, sure occasionally it looks a bit like a messy blur and the character models are a bit scrappy at best, but the cell shading technique really does make it look like the graphics were ripped from a graphic novel, which does admittedly seem to take away from the creepy feeling of the first game, but its fair because the Darkness was a comic already anyway, so it is more in keeping with the original source material. It softens the brutality a bit as well, which we should be thankful for, the way the Darkness tears bodies to shreds.

The Darkness 2 could have survived on its action alone, to say that it is frantic is an understatement, the enemies this time around are a lot tougher and more varied and the games action sequences see you desperately trying to do a hundred deferent things at once which surprisingly you can do quite fluidly. That's not to say that the game only has one gear because after every fight to the death section against impossible odds you are given the chance to relax for a bit as the really quite good storyline is pushed forward in some really quite interesting ways, it really does drag you in and make you want to carry on as far as your stamina will take you.

The more you play the Darkness 2 the more impressive your surroundings become and the more interesting the storytelling is, sure once you get certain bits of information you can pretty much guess what's going to happen, but it is all done in a very entertaining way and it nicely opens up the story a bit, it's just a shame that a lot of it seems like it is more for the benefit of a planned sequel rather than for this game, still it does make your mouth water for a Darkness 3 once you have completed the main story.

One downside of the Darkness 2 is that the story mode feels quite short, although that could be because its one of those games that you will constantly push in a "just one more section" kind of way. So if you get into it you may find that you end up completing it just as you are getting into your stride and getting sucked into the darkness.
There is a very slight, very light RPG element to the game which allows you to grow your darkness powers in the way that you want them, it's a bit limited but has a lot of potential for a possible Darkness 3.

A game worth buying if you were a fan of the original and a game worth buying if you want a shooter with character, away from the mindless war games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of My Favourites, 27 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I just completed this game last night, and wow, what an amazing time I had with it. The Darkness 2 is offically one of the best games I have ever played. Before last night, I simply cannot remember the last time I sat down with a game and played it right through till the end on the same day, but with this, I was hooked.

As I did not make it very far in the first game, I was unsure of the storyline, but everything soon made sense, so technically you don't HAVE to play the first game, but I'm sure it helps, and now I'm definitely going to give it a go to get the full story.

The style is fitting, almost like looking at a comic book. The violence is high and the blood flies. Never have I had so much satisfaction from killing the enemies. Tearing limbs apart and eating hearts to survive (Really, EATING HEARTS).

As with any game, there can be a few annoying points, like some of the Boss battles, but after taking a little break and coming back to it, you soon get past it.

For those of you who are achievement hunters like myself, I can say that within the space of 5-6 hours, I've managed to bag about 550 Gamerpoints. And since the game allows a 'New Game +', you can take all your upgrades through from the first playthrough and breeze through the most difficult mode, which I'm going to attempt sometime this week. Most achievements are for completing chapters, collecting all the relics and doing certain things within a level. Nothing too hard there. Besides, if you miss out, you can just restart from a previous checkpoint, so there's no replaying levels OVER and OVER. Chapter select is available after the first playthrough if you need to get any level based achievement you missed.

On top of all that, there's also co-op gameplay! So you can sit down with a friend, online or offline and kick ass together.

What a brilliant game. I'm proud to have this in my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game follows on really well from the darkness I. Like it's predecessor, the darkness II has a brilliant storyline, that is easy to follow and is extremely well written. The combat is fun, and at times challenging, with lots of ridiculous powers at your control which makes the game play very fun and at times ridiculous. Humour is mixed in quite well, thanks to your characters darkling, who is a demon with a British accent. The ending was once again pretty top notch like the first game, and this franchise still remains to have one of the best executed story lines I've ever seen. Throughout your character has flashbacks to his relationship with his dead girlfriend Jenny, and some of these scenes are very touching, much like the first game.

A multiplayer element is also available once your done with the story, so it doesn't all end as abruptly as you may think. It's quite fun, but at times glitchy, but still worth attention.

As for negatives, I felt the story was a bit too short, I completed it in a day, but I was smashing through it. The amount of abilities available was at first daunting, and one of the enemies in particular which you meet throughout the game I found just simply annoying as it made a lot of abilities (if you invested in them) redundant.

A few bugs here and there, but other than that, this game is well worth your attention, I highly recommend it if a great story and fun game play sounds appealing to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
the first darkness is a cool dark gothic cult game the sequel is a shadow of its former glory its not so much the story thats the problem i knew he wouldnt be jackie from the block anymore but its the look of it instead of a game version of a film noir you have a cartoon splatterhouse a travesty really its like its been remade by baz luhrmann the only thing that saves it is of course the most fun killing system of any game although the stealth has gone! and the darkling is very funny this game will probably appeal to teens as for me id rather watch tv on a subway platform
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darkness II - Limited Edition (Xbox 360)
£5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews