Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Hilarious!!!
This game is absolutely amazing I have played a great deal of it already and I have been laughing all through it:

Pros:
Good Character Custimization
Great Plot
Cool Characters
Can have a ZOMBIE voice!!!!!

Cons:
A little buggy
Homies wont go into your car in missions
Published on 11 Dec 2011 by Emma Densley

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely bonkers
I have a confession to make: I don't usually buy this sort of game and I'm definitely not its target audience, being more of an old-school RPGer. It just so happened that I was in a gaming doldrums of sorts, willing to try out something different, and let myself be dazzled by all the hype surrounding SR3 as well as the flashy aesthetics surrounding the game (great job...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Pearnon


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Hilarious!!!, 11 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is absolutely amazing I have played a great deal of it already and I have been laughing all through it:

Pros:
Good Character Custimization
Great Plot
Cool Characters
Can have a ZOMBIE voice!!!!!

Cons:
A little buggy
Homies wont go into your car in missions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great new installment. Not perfect, but very good., 2 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. B. Mcardle "benmcardle" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So I loved Saints Row 2 and have been waiting for The Third to come out ever since. How does it compare? Well - its similar but different; it keeps most of the good bits of SR 2 and improves on them and bins off the less good bits. There are a couple of disappointments, but I'll come to them later...

So the plot is fun - silly and occasionally jaw dropping. The second mission on the plane (I will say no more) is one of the most genuinely awesome gaming experiences that I've had; the gameplay was simple, but the visual effect... wow! Having worked my way through around two thirds of the main plotline, it is funny, kinda clever in parts. Not quite as engaging or dramatic as parts of SR2 (nothing to touch the SR2 Brotherhood plotline, certainly), but solid. Another nice touch is that, as well as the better graphics, customisation goes a bit further than SR2. As well as boosting your characters resistances and skills (with money, rather than by completing the minigames, with certain boosts locked until higher levels), you can customise your weapons to be better, including (in some cases) being able to shoot explosive or incendiary ammo.

One of the things I liked most about SR2 were the minigames and these are back in abundance - and most of them are a lot more polished and good fun than the ones in SR2. As well as the old favourites, there's also a version of Mayhem played with tanks, a survival maze where you shoot people dressed as hotdogs and a truly brilliant version of Escort which I won't spoil for you (but anyone who has seen Talladega Nights will love the reference). The tasks are all engaging but not of them are too taxing.

This touches on one of the issues that was a bit disappointing - the game difficulty (at least on normal) is very low. While this is kind of nice and means you don't end up playing the same tasks over and over again (like the higher levels of Trail Blazing in SR2), there isn't much of a challenge. Maybe the harder difficulty levels will be different.

Other good bits - better soundtrack than SR2 I reckon, less fiddly vehicle customisation, fun new characters (Oleg and Kinzi are both ace; Zimos is good in a quirky, Marmite-love-him-or-hate-him kind of way). Although some reviews elsewhere have criticised the cityscape as being too samey, I don't think this is the case; it isn't as varied as SR2, but that always seemed a bit over-artificial to me anyway. There is some variation, and it isn't as dull and samey as Liberty City in GTA 4 was.

Bits I didn't like - Shaundi has turned from cute stoner babe to Cheryl Cole semi-lookalike with a chip on her shoulder (although minus the Geordie accent) and the character is less engaging for it. There isn't as much out and out silliness in the same way that SR 2 had (fewer weird secret locations) and the gameplay isn't as rude or, for want of a better word, 'edgy'. This is played up to in some parts (when doing the minigame in SR3 that was, in SR2, drug dealing, your character is distributing naff Saints Row merchandise), but there is a definite feeling that aspects of the game have been toned down to avoid criticism. There aren't the same options to customise your cribs to the same extent either, which is a bit of a shame, but they're actually pretty sweet anyway so that's not so bad.

All in all - worth the wait and worth buying new. Great for dipping in and out of and playing casually, if you liked SR2 (and/or thought that the GTA series has started taking itself too seriously), then you should buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely bonkers, 30 Jan 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have a confession to make: I don't usually buy this sort of game and I'm definitely not its target audience, being more of an old-school RPGer. It just so happened that I was in a gaming doldrums of sorts, willing to try out something different, and let myself be dazzled by all the hype surrounding SR3 as well as the flashy aesthetics surrounding the game (great job from the marketing department, it has to be said).

Contrary to all expectations and much to the surprise of those acquainted with my tastes, this... ended up being a lot of fun. A whole 40+ hours lot of fun. The story is largely forgettable, the graphics aren't really up to today's standards - for an updated engine, no less - and the game can be a bit too silly at times, but it really just is a *fun* game. It gives you all the toys you could want on a city-sized playground and simply lets you have a go with the playstyle you feel most appropriate. A retro cybersteampunk dilletante? Check. A matrix-style vamp femme fatale? Check. Jason Statham wannabe? Check. Hardcore gangsta rap pimp with a zombie voice? Check. SR3 lets you go wild with your in-game persona and that's just the beginning. The over-the-top setpieces have been lauded time and again, and rightly so, and the voice acting is all-around excellent, with the main character voice sets (all six of them, plus zombie grunts) filled to the brim with personality, almost granting a new experience all by themselves should you choose to have another playthrough with a different voice.

Saints Row: The Third is not the type of game you commend or respect. It doesn't want to be respected, nor does it need to. It's unapologetic in its craziness but somehow manages not to be gratutious on its own (that's up to the player). What it lacks in memorable characters it mostly makes up for with nice character moments and a number of quotable one-liners. It's an easy game with fluid controls and a gameplay that seldom - if ever - gets in the way of fun and will never be a top game contender in any chart, nor will it be fondly remembered as a great piece of storytelling. It's the gaming equivalent of the craziest, booziest night out you've ever had, of which you can only recall bits and pieces.

And that is not necessarily a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun, 24 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The game play is brilliant and really fun. That's pretty much all this game is about:

Stupid, funny, wild ass fun.

If your looking for a good story and such then this game isn't really for you, but if you love hectic and fun game play then give this a go. The game is actually quite short but the game adds plenty of hours if you choose to play coop and the "Whored" mode.

Great game play, descent graphics/sound, predicable/poor story. But it does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 17 Mar 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I absolutly love this game it has improved so much from the first and second game. The graphic level and the gameplay are great I finished this game within 5days as I was totally hooked. The side activites are still good and there are also some new activities. At this moment I cant think of anything that needs improving. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun!, 23 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Saints Row: The Third is a brilliant game and well worth the hype and anticipation. I was a big fan of Saints Row 2, mainly because me and my friends could have endless fun and laughs with it. Also this type of gameplay suits my style well.

The storyline is as unrealistic as it gets. Within the first 10 minutes, you'll realise this. But, this is definitely not a critisism. It's a compliment. Too many games of this nature are engaging with realism and this game gives you a well needed break, and just lets you relax and have fun. To put it another way, it resembles an action movie (where everything is very unrealistic). The graphics are also a nice touch. Again, non-realistic and cartoonish. It has a nice style that I never get sick of.

The multiplayer I see/hear a lot of people complain about. Even though I agree with them to a certain extent, there are still "multiplayer options". What I mean by this is that there is a "co-op campaign" which does what it says on the tin. You and a friend can share the story mode together and help each other with side missions and such. This can be done online(confirmed). I'm not sure about offline(split-screen), someone else may confirm this. The other "multiplayer option" added is "Whored Mode", which is a generic 'horde mode' Saints Row style. Also a very fun new feature.

I think this game is highly enjoyable for the amount of content provided and the endless hours of fun you and a friend can share. I'm sure the future will bring fun DLCs.

I would have given the game 5* had it of included bigger multiplayer modes such as 'team deathmatch', 'free for all' etc.

EDIT: I can now confirm there is no way to play OFFLINE co-op. Me and a friend tried this using two different profiles on the same Xbox AND signing in as a Guest, but no luck. The bottom line is, there needs to be two Xboxs involved to achieve co-op. This is an annoyance for those who either don't have Gold or simply just wish to play the game together on the same console. A big let down in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saints row, 22 Sep 2012
By 
M. Jones "LEEDS NUT" (SOUTH WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
the game was bought for my daughter. she loves it and plays it with her friends on line they all like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saints good Row, 26 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Is one of the most entertaining games of the year-end...fun in your gender makes you spend hours in front of your xbox and never get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Fun and Fantastic!, 23 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Saints row the third is a hilarious addition to the saints row franchise. It is a fun one to play with friends too because of all the funny situations and dialogue (from killing police with a giant purple dildo to finding a big muscly naked guy and making join your gang!!). The character customization really allows the game to give personality into your character. This game also allows you to customize your own cars, weapons, clothing and facial features. The story of saints row the third is epic too, you will find yourself being more and more engaged in the story and game play over time or you can mess about in the city with hookers and zombies. There are uncountable ways to play saints row the third and that's why I'm giving it a 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun! Fun! Fun, 20 Aug 2013
By 
M. Bedford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
SR3 is a good game, it's fun, it's funny and you're going to have a great time. Hands down, end of story.
That however doesn't make it a great game - it's really not - the city of Steelport is a let-down after Stillwater (think how GTA4 was a let-down after San Andreas) and some of the missions are awful - literally drive across a city to talk to somebody.
What makes SR3 work is that it knows it's limitations story wise so just lets you have as much as in-between as you can. From the weapons, to the outfits and even car customisation (GTA take note as you've lost this feature), this game has everything.
If you just want to kill a couple of hours having a good time, then this game is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saints Row: The Third (Xbox 360)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews