Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Am Sherlocked....
Having watched and thoroughly enjoyed the first series, I awaited this second one with eager anticipation. I wasn't to be disappointed....
It's just an absolute sheer delight from start to finish. As well as having thrills and humour (I do so love Martin Freeman's deadpan comic timing), it was actually incredibly moving at times (refer to Freeman's speech at the...
Published on 20 Jan. 2012 by Lady Claire

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... series rolls on and the first episode was a delight; Irene Adler as a dominatrix
The Cumberbatch-Freeman series rolls on and the first episode was a delight; Irene Adler as a dominatrix? It certainly worked even though the denouement was silly and medically suspect - and the epilogue was great fun. The Hounds of Baskerville was less enjoyable and the mad scientist storyline failed to live up to what is expected from a major story. But the final...
Published 11 months ago by NB


‹ Previous | 1 2 348 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes for the 21st Century, 16 Jan. 2012
By 
N. Lemans (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic second series, I didn't think they would be able to best the first, but they did. I was in tears at the end of the final instalment! The actors and characters are all perfect, modernised very well, but the original Holmes and Watson are still perfectly visible within their modern personae. This is an instant classic, the best TV that I've seen in a long time, and my pre-order is already in place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV I've seen in a long time, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
Gabriela Veronez Chaytor (São Paulo (Brazl)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching a few minutes of an episode by accident on tv while flicking through channels one night, I was hooked! I made sure I caught it the next time it was on, which wasn't easy, considering it isn't really promoted in Brazil, and ended up watching the whole 2 series in one weekend.

Sherlock is the most intelligent, surprising, delicious tv series I've ever watched. Benedict is superb, but none of the other actors fall behind. The writing is intelligent, engaging and surprisingly funny. It's so modern and much more interesting than any other adaptation out there. You can't help but being Sherlocked.

Just wish there were more extras in the Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 31 Jan. 2012
I really think that Gatiss and Moffat hit it out of the park with series. It's simply amazing. The work that they put into these shows is astounding. The cinematography, the scripts and the actors are seriously spot on. Benedict and Martin have such great chemistry and Andrew Scott really nailed that portrayal of Moriarty.

So many people that I've shown Sherlock to have just simply fallen in love with it.

As for the US buyers, Sony blu ray players don't play 50i. Samsung, Panasonic, and LG blu ray players do. So if you're having trouble playing it in the US, it's most likely because you don't have the right player. I have a Sony and a Samsung and it wont play on my sony due to it being strictly a 60i, but it will play on my samsung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fabulous Baker Street boys, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only finished watching these discs three days ago, but I'm missing them already! Like Season 1, this is a mini-series of three eighty-seven minute TV movies, based on stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle but reshaping them very freely. Up for re-imagining this time are Sir Arthur's A Scandal in Bohemia, The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Final Problem.

The series continues to be an unalloyed pleasure. The writing is wonderfully ingenious in the way it contrives both to honour Conan Doyle's invention and to give us the pleasure of surprise by constructing enthralling new plots on Sir Arthur's robust foundations. And the acting, as before, is a joy. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman must surely be at least as good a Holmes and Watson as any of their splendid predecessors; Moriarty is played superbly, Mycroft sublimely, Mrs Hudson delightfully - there are no weak links at all. Sherlock's heartbreakingly endearing pathologist is, in her way, as perfect as a Mozart sonata.

The extras comprise commentaries and an entertaining nineteen minute behind the scenes featurette. The quality of the picture and sound are fine, if not quite the equal of the very best. But nothing should put you off buying this unmissable collection. After watching the stunning cliffhanger that concludes the final episode, I'll be spending many a happy hour wondering how on earth Mr Moffat and Mr Gatiss are going to solve the problem that they've set themselves in launching Season 3...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sherlock season 2, 28 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I throughly enjoyed Sherlock on TV, so I were more than delighted when it came out on DVD. It is good to see old familier stories brought up to date, and with a different twist in the tale. A real cliff hanger at the end. How did Sherlock defie death. Can't wait to find out.

I think that Benedict Cumberbatch plays Sherlock brillently. However he manages to remember those complicated lines, let alone say them so quickly I just dont know. He seems not to be listening or taking notice as to what is going on around him, then all of a sudden he springs in to action and knocks everything for a six.

Martin Freeman as Watson is the one who tries to keep things on an even keel, but he keeps being pulled in different directions, first by Sherlock, and then by Mycroft or Mariarty, but his loyality is to Sherlock, and he is heart broken when Sherlock dies.

Besides Sherlock and Watson, I think Mrs Hudson played by Una Stubbs portraies a motherly figure. She enjoys fussing over 'her boys', even though Sherlock frustraits her with his untidness, but she puts up with it. I think that in their own way Sherlock and John have a great affection and respect for Mrs Hudson

From season 2 I enjoyed The Hound of the Baskerville, the most. What a great idea to bring modern science, beautiful moorlands, and a well known and loved story into the 21st Century.

Congratulations to all who worked on the making of such a well thought out drama series. All I can say is when will series 3 coming out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, just Excellent, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The BBC has really done itself proud with this excellent adaptation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's legendary Detective Sherlock Holmes and after a fantastic first series Sherlock returns for an even more exciting second series!

The series is set in the present day with Sherlock Holmes using Modern Technology such as the Internet and Mobile Phones to aid him in solving his cases.

Benedict Cumberbatch plays Sherlock Holmes with the right amount of obtuseness and enigmatic genius needed for such a character. Martin Freeman is cast as John Watson, Holmes Afghanistan Veteran Flatmate cum Sidekick who is able to bridge the gap between Sherlock and the Audience when solving complex cases.

In the three episodes of this series Sherlock has now gained a significant public following and his relationship with John Watson and Detective Le Strade are still unusual but have grown.

All of the episodes are very engaging,interesting and entertaining but nothing quite prepares you for the final episode and Sherlock's Final Showdown with Moriaty.

Episodes;

1 - A Scandal in Belgravia
2 - The Hounds of Baskerville
3 - The Reichenbach Fall

The BBC's Sherlock is a must watch for anyone who enjoys a good story with good acting and an entertainment factor of eleven out of ten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
A. C. Palma (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a Sherlock Holmes fan and want some new material, look no further. Under the hands of Holmes fanboys Moffat and Gatiss, Conan Doyle's legacy is safe: the underlying humour, intelligence and, yes, even cheekiness, are all here, mixed up with a lot of winks and nods to fans of the original.
After proving his mettle in season 1, Sherlock is back for 3 more 90 minutes long episodes, and these pack quite a punch. If you thought Sherlock was high quality TV before, prepare to have your mind blown.
The scripts are amazing in their intelligence and intricacy, the cinematography (especially of Paul McGuigan's for the first 2 episodes) is a true masterpiece. And what about the acting? Only Benedict Cumberbatch could pull off those deductions, Martin Freeman those facial expressions. In particular Lara Pulver, guest actress in the first episode, is fantastic and well deserving of another turn as Irene Adler in the future.
As a series this is definitely 6 stars! However, as a DVD, it surely deserved more extra material. A very short Making Of, as well as audio commentaries for the first 2 episodes is all you get.
All in all, a must have for all Sherlock fans and Sherlock Holmes aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as Season 1 but very enjoyable Sherlock Season 2 Blu-ray, 18 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cinematography is not as strong as Sherlock Season 1 but Season 2 is still very enjoyable and remains a fresh and intriguing take on Sherlock Holmes. The picture quality is great but it's a shame there's no high definition audio, and that the commentaries and extras are rather limited.

For me, the first part, 'A Scandal in Belgravia' is the standout episode, with the best locations, cinematography, 'baddies' and script. Nevertheless good entertainment and I'm thoroughly looking forward to Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Picks up from series one, and follows on to the eventual conclusion.

Continuing the the updating and adapting, with great respect for Sir Arthur Conan-Doyle's original that if new to Sherlock Holmes then everything is shiny and fantastic. If you are a fan of the original then there is so much respectful acknowledgement and nods that it becomes fun to see how this has been done.

Such a shame that those who adapt don't seem to have the same care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great episodes with a dull one inbetween, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Sherlock really is great, episodes one and three are genuinely impressive, however the second was just boring.
I wholeheartedly recommemd it simply for episodes one and three.
Episode one really makes you think and literally everyone I know who's seem it loves the interpretaton of Irene Addler and Episode 3 gives a real challenge for the mind and you really feel for Sherlock and Watson.
Cumberbatch and Freeman really are an excellent double act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 348 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD]
Sherlock - Series 2 [DVD] by Benedict Cumberbatch (DVD - 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews