Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that heaven allows...and Bowling
I've read that comedy is the most difficult genre to get right and probably the most difficult acting job to get laughs from, but watching The Big Lebowski, the Coens and every one of the actors involved make it all look so easy. This film's full of artists at the top of their game.
TBL's got everything, character acting, over the top character-vignettes, (see John...
Published on 5 Sep 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star film but a 3 star blu-ray
'The Big Lebowski' has to be one of my favourite flicks but this is a disappointing and underwhelming Blu Ray presentation. Colour is good but the picture just looks soft in HD - either the result of an uprez, grain reduction software, or latter generation source master. I know not all movies are designed to be ultra sharp and shiny, Transformers style etc. However for a...
Published 6 months ago by mr_madiba


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply genius, 22 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Truly one the greatest comedies ever made. A superbly original plot along with one of the funniest scripts film has ever produced "The Big Lebowski" has the best subtle humour (hence the lack of major box office success) of any movie and will keep you laughing every single time you see it.
On a par with Fear and Loathing... the characters in the film are so brilliantly portrayed you'd almost believe you were watching a documentary. Jeff Bridges is highly believable as The Dude, his Dudeness, or El Duderino, and John Goodman gives the performance of a lifetime and makes the character of Walter into a true great, where it could have so easily gone wrong.
A must see for any fan of laughing, if you don't find this funny then you have some serious personality issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rug, a porn star, Nihilists, bowling, white russians,, 17 Jan 2009
"The Big Lebowski" 1998 is a film so meandering that I found myself missing the many other sporadic jokes as I was heaving from laughter. The film is basically about mistaken identity, eccentric characters, and a soiled rug. This film extols the bowler, the bowling alley, even the pins. We experience an actual bowling ball POV, as the Dude (Jeff Bridges) hallucinates. This film has nihilists, feminists, millionaires, paedophiles, drugged out hippies, underachieving students, incompetent criminals, pornographers and Vietnam veterans.

This movie is open to anything , anything... Some people are turned off by absurd looniness, because it's so grandiosely different. Yet who couldn't chuckle, if not explode, when a bowler dressed in a tight purple suit licks a bowling ball's finger hole, and the camera pans down to reveal his name as Jesus (a pederast)! I will disclose no more, but urgently recommend you to buy this true escapists' feature.
Maude Lebow: What do you do for recreation?
The Dude: Oh, the usual. I bowl. Drive around. The occasional acid flashback.
Lady in'Logjammin': [on video] You must be here to fix the cable.
Maude Leb: Lord. You can imagine where it goes from here.
The Dude: He fixes the cable?
Maude : Don't be fatuous, Jeffrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Seen it 50 Times, 20 Nov 2007
By 
The genius of the Cohen brothers is not always appreciated and when I sing their praises am often thought to be quite mad. The content is so rich that every time I see it I find something new, the person bowling in the poster on the wall of his sitting room is Richard Nixon for example. They are creating art and because they are pure artists I am not crazy about everything they have made. The Big Lebowski and Miller's Crossing are perfection in my eyes, if you don't feel the same watch their other films and you may find a treasure or two of your own. What a film this is and thank you Joel and Ethan for daring to be different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific comedy from the coen brothers, 7 Mar 2007
Terrific moviemaking up their with raising arizona as the coen brothers
best work. The viewer is taken on a ride through the most barmy
and hilarious characters ever seen on film.
Who would have thought Jeff Bridges could have played a role like this,
the dude cares about little except his bowling with Donnie and Walter
superbly played by John Goodman.
The plot stems from the dude wanting his rug replaced, we are then
introduced to some eccentric people to say the least.
Hilarious cameo from Turturro as the Jesus and a wacky soundtrack that
seems to compliment the movie well. The way Bridges and Goodman
mess up the handover of the money to the kidnappers is hilarious, as
is everything else in this brilliant comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes you eat the bar, sometimes the bar eats you, 31 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What really ties a movie together? Taut direction, terrific cast, well-drawn characterization, rambling narrative, immortal one-liners, offbeat plot twists, impeccable cinematography, impressive camerawork or captivating soundtrack?..... "The Big Lebowski" is rare kind of picture which blends all these elements together.

"Lebowski" is one of the typical Coen Brothers films that you will either love or hate, there is very little middle ground. Not only one of the most re-watchable movie you will ever see; but also, along with "O Brother, Where Art Thou?", it ranks as the best off-the-wall comedy brothers have made so far.

For a film about absolutely nothing, "The Big Lebowski" has everything. Yes it is weird, wildly uneven and out of reality as its protagonist: "The Dude", unmotivated, unemployed, apathetic and unapologetic L.A. slacker who wants nothing more than to bowl, to sip on White Russian, and to puff on joints now and then. The Dude, totally stuck in the 1970s counterculture, becomes the victim of mistaken identity. He eventually finds himself in the middle of a bizarre kidnapping and ransom case. As the plot unwinds, the mystery of kidnapping becomes secondary, and all attention is drawn into the quirky characters and wacky circumstances encountered by "The Dude" in his odyssey.

I credit most of the film's energy to the chemistry, especially polar opposition between the Dude and his sidekick Walter. Against the Dude's mellow, take-it-easy style, Walter is ever-pragmatic, constantly-overreacting and gun-toting character who always makes the wrong assumptions and ends up spoiling everything. Walter's misconceptions and blunders infuriate the Dude all the time and all these situations are a laugh riot.

Last word: Like so many of Coen Brother's films, there is much more going underneath. There are lots of subtle and clever details conveying some ironical social and political messages. "Lebowski" is well-filmed and well-acted commentary on the modern social condition, but this is the kind of movie it takes multiple viewings to fully appreciate and it's worth all the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Layers and layers of rich comedy., 16 Nov 2001
The Big Lebowski has taken on almost herculean cult film status. It is rare for a film that is basically about Sweet FA to be so rich and vibrant. It follows 'the dude'(Jeff Bridges)in a quest to find vindication for the people that peed on his rug. We are constantly reminded by the fact that it really 'tied the room together'. This leads to him being involved in a kidnap scandel, and playing alot of Ten Pin Bowling. In describing the film, you feel like you are sharing a private joke with a stanger. That is the brilliance of the Coen brothers filmaking, that it feels like such a personal voyage.
Jeff Bridges excells in the part as an out of sorts, and rather late on the scene hippie. He has rarely been better. So to John Goodman, in a career star turn as an ex-Vietnam soilder, who has issues with everything to Bowling score keeping to those he served for in nam. The film meanders blissfully to a bizzare conclusion, and you are compelled to rewind it and start the magic all over again, new jokes unnoticed now leaping off the screen.
Watch this and marvel, at a director and screenplay writer on the top of their game, and a set of performances that entrance the audience. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You see what happens, Larry?, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to pick out one favorite line of dialogue in particular for two reasons. One-almost everything said in this film is downright hilarious. And Two-the F word is spoken 281 times so there's not many sentences that don't contain it. 144 sentences also end in 'man'. I also like how the characters unintentionally use each other's repeating catchphrases.

Jeff 'The Dude' Lebowski is a man living a minimalistic existence. He has no job, no ambitions and no worries. His days, be they weekdays or weekends, are spent bowling, driving around or having the occasional acid flashback. His pals are Walter Sobchak, a security expert and half-crazed Vietnam vet and Donny, a humble, mousy little man who is left out of almost every conversation.

The Dude is happy with his easy-going life of nothingness until two thugs ambush him in his house believing him to the OTHER Jeff 'The Big' Lebowski, the millionaire with a trouble-making wife who owes money all over town. These thugs are none too happy with their dumb error and re-assert themselves by peeing on The Dude's rug.

This very much displeases The Dude as this rug really tied the room together and since he cannot track down the 'Chinaman' thug responsible he decides to take it out of the Big Lebowski, as it's now HIM who owes a new rug. The Dude is welcomed into the Big Lebowski's mansion by Brandt the butler, a man so appallingly sycophantic he'd make Weylon Smither's look bad. But his millionaire namesake is not so ready and willing to give hand-outs and basically tells The Dude to get lost.

At this point things become quite complicated as a bunch of ex-pop star Nihilist thugs, a powerful pornographer, a dejected feminist daughter, a Brother Seamus (NOT an Irish Monk), a joyriding teenager, a revolting pederast champion bowler, Saddam Hussein, a mysterious cowboy and a doctor who is insistent on him removing his shorts all make The Dude's life suddenly a helluva lot more interesting. The plot thickens and thickens and the dude is dragged to dozens of different places across LA, going from limo to limo, never too far from a white Russian or a doobie.

There are zillions of idiosyncrasies in this film that keeps it new and interesting every time you watch it. Every scene and every line of dialogue is so memorable that, like me, you'll be acting the film out for years. Even on a 100th viewing you'll notice dramatic ironies, character arcs and ingenious wordplay that went right over your head before.

The acting is superb. I am a fan of Jeff Bridges but he completely disappears in this film. He truly BECOMES The Dude and shows little of his recognizable self. John Goodman, in probably the most under-rated role of his career, is the world's angriest man. Bringing frustration and smart-ass arrogance to every scene (though he's almost always right). Set well over a decade after 'nam (and during the first Gulf conflict) Walter seems to be suffering from perpetual, ever-lasting post-traumatic stress syndrome as he blows up in any situation. Take a look at his 'minor' confrontation with Smokey for example.

It's not about plot, or even characters. It's about a certain moment in time, the early 90s. And the definitive man of that time was the Dude. The rug-peeing just happened to occur simultaneously.

The Blu Ray looks great in 1.85:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA 5.1 sound and loads of extras. It comes in a Digi-Book but since it's twice as thick as their US counterparts (as is the rule in the UK for some dumb reason) it looks and feels...wrong. I'm not happy about it. But an otherwise solid purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite all time film, 24 Feb 2011
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've always enjoyed Coen Brothers' films with Millers Crossing and Fargo being other highlights but The Big L is their peak.

The story is typically Coen and is good but this film is not about the first watch or the A to B. This film is all about the character acting. Every cast member is at their best with John Goodman deserving an Oscar.

I actually wasn't too fussed when I first watched this film in about '99 but when I watched it again a couple of years later it just got better and better.

The Coens have indulged themselves after the success of Fargo and so the cinematics are superb with scene after glorious scene.

The soundtrack is a good listen on its own but really suits the film.

An exceptional film and a must for the movie connoisseur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of our time, 18 May 2003
I was introduced to this film by a friend about 3 years ago and since then I must have viewed it 50 or 60 times. The Big Lebowski is one of those rare gems that you can watch again and again and you laugh at the same jokes just as much as you did the first time you watched it.
The performances in this film are quite astounding, particularly from Jeff Bridges and John Goodman. But I think the show stealer is John Turetto as 'Jesus' and even though he speaks only 10 or 11 lines during the whole film, even one of them is a classic.
The cinematography is also brilliant. Before watching this film, I found it hard to imagine bowling being portrayed as a glamourous sport, but from the opening sequences alone, I was drawn into the Dude's world that circles around the sport.
This is definitely not a film to watch with your mum for two reasons. Firstly, the language isn't really appropriate for her, and secondly, she would never understand what was going on. But that's part of the joy of The Big Lebowski. It isn't necessary to follow every little bit of the plot, just sit back and enjoy the brilliant dialogue and fantastic performances by the great actors on display.
The Coen Brothers' finest work, even including Fargo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, but you wil have to watch it more than once, 15 Feb 2006
I can only confirm what the others have already posted: this is an excellent movie, deeply imbued with friendship, love and humanity, featuring an armada of the most eccentric characters you will ever see on screen, and all this with such a delicate and non-obtrusive delivery that will be hard to match. I am not a big movie fan but this one just got me addicted and I keep on watching it every now and then, always discovering something new in it.
But a word of warning. Just as it is the case with a really good CD, you will probably not get the most out of it when you are watching it first. When I saw it first I thought, well, it was an OK movie, but nothing else. Two years later, when me and a few friends had absolutely nothing to do, we decided to watch it again (which is very unusual of me, to watch a movie for a second time), and, well, I got hooked on it, and every time I see it I just want to watch it again to discover and rediscover its hidden merits. You know when you like a CD so much it hardly leaves they CD tray - well, it's sort of the same thing with this movie. After a while you will certainly get bored with it, but until then (and it won't happen for a while), this is top notch entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Lebowski [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Big Lebowski [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Joel Coen (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews