Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Revelations! Read this!
We were told that the IPCC was the embodiment of true climate science. However Donna Laframboise has found out it is a monolith of corruption. Not only has the science been seriously compromised, but the influence of advocacy groups like Greenpeace in my view, border on sinister. The book is well written and although easy to read, has significant detail resulting from a...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Prometheus

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lightweight but necessary work
This 'exposé' of the IPCC, the UN body which assesses the climate change science, has polarised its readership exactly as climate change does - you are either for or against, it seems. So the reviews are either glowing 4/5 star affairs, or outraged 1 stars. Well, my middle name has always been awkward, so I'm going to put this firmly in the three star box - it's a...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Mrs. Pauline M. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Revelations! Read this!, 15 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
We were told that the IPCC was the embodiment of true climate science. However Donna Laframboise has found out it is a monolith of corruption. Not only has the science been seriously compromised, but the influence of advocacy groups like Greenpeace in my view, border on sinister. The book is well written and although easy to read, has significant detail resulting from a lot of good research. It is comprised of short sections which make it great for busy people with only a limited time to read.

Whether you believe in Anthropogenic Global Warming or not, the validity of the science is extremely important to the current policies being pursued by many governments. These policies will affect all of us in a very profound way, therefore the corruption of the IPCC should be of interest to everyone. My advice is to read this book and make your own mind up, before these policies seriously affect your lives. Let's make sure we do not follow the Australian example and fatally destroy our economy without checking the facts properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be read by every UK voter, 17 Oct 2011
By 
RW TYRWHITT-DRAKE "Richard Drake" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most important books by a journalist in our own or any other age. But it should never have needed to be written. As Donna Laframboise makes clear, the failure of the big names of world media to subject the United Nations IPCC, widely touted as the intellectual foundation of the global warming scare and vastly expensive emission reduction policies enacted in its wake, to any kind of critical investigation is a major scandal. In their stead, a lone Canadian feminist, who once wrote a weekly opinion column for the Toronto Star, has, with the help of volunteer researchers recruited from across the globe via the Internet, achieved a tour de force.

I fully agree with David Holland that every MP should read this book. But so should every UK voter. Ms Laframboise writes with admirable clarity, humour and, where appropriate, passion - about the grave injustices and threats to our democratic freedoms she has uncovered. Something of world importance that many of us have found fiendishly complicated to explain to our friends and colleagues has been rendered not only intelligible but highly readable. If enough of our fellow-citizens take in the findings of this book then it's certain our elected representatives will do so, leading to the most radical re-think of climate policy imaginable.

I cannot thank the author enough, for applying not just her writing skills but the wisdom and compassion accumulated over many years to this complex, multi-faceted challenge. It will surely be judged the project for which she was born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the trick is done....., 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
A brilliantly written and well referenced explanation of a great illusion which is still fooling some of the people all of the time. Were the consequences of what Donna Laframboise describes not so serious this would have been an enjoyable read. It was certainly thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Taken to Task, 19 Nov 2011
By 
A. J. Cull (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
It's an all too familiar story - something that when viewed from a distance appears perfectly fine but on closer inspection turns out to be a mess. The flawless makeup concealing a face covered in blemishes, the smooth paint job disguising a lethally decrepit car, the beautiful mansion later found to be riddled with dry rot, the brilliant and charismatic politician with - alas - feet of clay.

This can equally apply to institutions. Take the IPCC, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Ever since it was established in 1988, the IPCC has been held up as an exemplary organisation, representing a "gold standard" for the synthesis of climate science. Operating with utter transparency and relying only on solid, peer-reviewed material, an army of 2,500 expert reviewers and over a thousand contributing and lead authors from all over the globe have been working tirelessly to build a superlative up-to-date and reliable picture of the science of climate change, which in turn can be used, with absolute confidence, to inform and underpin the policies of governments the world over.

Except - it turns out that this is not exactly the case. Enter Donna Laframboise, Canadian writer and blogger, who, aided by a team of citizen auditors, has painstakingly examined the workings of the IPCC, placed them under the microscope, so to speak, and reports her findings in this very timely book. And what she has uncovered is a picture radically different to the one the IPCC would like the world to see. One by one, she refutes and demolishes a number of key assertions made by the IPCC and its supporters over the years.

The IPCC's material is prepared by the finest scientific minds? Well, no - many of them are little more than activists, who have worked for Greenpeace or for wildlife charity turned climate-campaigning behemoth, WWF. People at the top of their profession? Hardly - quite a few of them have been graduate students in their twenties. The IPCC only uses peer-reviewed scientific literature? No again - many of its sources have been newspaper and magazine articles, press releases and documents from environmental organisations. And authoritative? Some of its bolder claims, for instance that 20-30% of all plant and animal species are at risk of extinction due to global warming, are based on flawed and controversial scientific studies. Behind the crisp, definitive headline statements like Ban Ki-moon's "the world's scientists have spoken, clearly and with one voice", exists something far less clear-cut - a body of work that is more like a perplexing, indeterminate mass of uncertainties, likelihoods, suggestions, coulds, mights and maybes.

In addition, the author describes the IPCC's various underhand practices, its lack of openness, its defensiveness and its arrival at predetermined conclusions. What she reveals is an unattractive picture of an organisation staffed with activists and reliant on "grey material" from partisan lobby groups, an organisation which has been set up to promulgate a certain point of view, and accordingly has employed whatever means it feels is justified, including the frequent breaking of its own rules. An organisation that is meant to be "policy-neutral", but whose chairman is an outspoken advocate for carbon prices, vegetarianism, aviation taxes and, overall, a "radical value shift" in the western world.

The next IPPC report on the state of climate science (AR8) is due out in 2013, and even if a fraction of what Donna Laframboise reports in her book is accurate, an urgent root-and-branch reform of this organisation is sorely needed, at the very least. Whether this will happen in time to make a real difference is another matter entirely.

In The Delinquent Teenager, Donna Laframboise has written a succinct and hard-hitting book, which I think should be read and heeded by those from all sides of the climate debate. It is a product of the sort of methodical investigative journalism the mainstream media have consistently failed to deploy when it comes to climate change, and it arrives at a time when the institutions of climate science, with all their shortcomings, deserve to be under more scrutiny than ever before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book yet on the politics of climate science., 14 Oct 2011
By 
Foxgoose (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
Donna Laframboise carefully traces the origins, structure and working practices of the world's leading climate bureaucracy with devastating results. We find that, far from being a disciplined and impartial judge of climate science - it is a partisan organisation which has been hijacked by green activists and political extremists from its very beginnings.

Many of its "leading scientists" turn out to be activist grad students with Greenpeace of WWF affiliations and no previously published scientific work. Its rules, procedures and time limits are regularly flouted to include more alarmist material and a high proportion of the included "science" comes not, as claimed, from peer-reviewed scientific papers - but from environmental activist's PR material.

A clearly written and revealing book - which might turn out to be a turning point in climate politics - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What were all the other journalists of the world up to while this was happening?, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Martin A (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
Some years back, I believed that man-made global warming (AGW) had been established as firm reality by physical measurements and the application of the laws of physics. I had no reason to believe otherwise - I had read in newspapers that the UN had summarised numerous scientific studies and there was no doubt about the results.

Then I decided to read up on the subject myself and understand what it was all about. With a background in advanced engineering, and experience of statistical analysis in communication systems and modelling a range of physical systems, I had enough background to read and understand what it was all about.

There seemed to be two main themes:
- The global average temperature was rising at an unprecedented rate.
- Rising atmospheric carbon dioxide levels were the cause.

I started to read up about the "hockey stick" graph, famous from its use by Al Gore. Immediately, alarm bells sounded. Most of the graph had been produced by tree-ring temperature proxies. But the last bit, showing rapid temperature rise, had been produced from actual temperature measurements. If you produce a graph where the appearance changes at the exact point where you change the data source, would you have confidence in the graph? Few engineers would.

I quickly came across the work by Steven McIntyre and Ross McKitrick. Quite apart from the question of switching data sources at the crucial point, their work showed that the "hockey stick" graph was based on faulty statistical methods and essentially an artefact of the analysis method devised by Michael Mann. Here was something that just did not make sense - global temperatures have been shown to be rising at an unprecedented rate but the analysis showing this is based on flaky statistical methods?

Then I tried to pin down the physics relating global temperature to atmospheric carbon dioxide. Alarm bells again quickly sounded for me. This conclusion is based on predictions from computer models. Oh - oh... I have enough experience of constructing models of physical systems to know that, even when the physical system is well understood, validating a model so that you can have confidence in its results is very difficult. A model that has not been validated, if you start to believe its predictions, puts you in a far worse position than if you simply say "we don't know".

How can models of the climate be verified, when there are many aspects that are - at best - only partially understood and where observations of the real system are available only for a very brief period? Even more alarm bells rang for me when I read the UK Met Office's statements that their climate models are verified by checking that they correctly reproduce the historical data used to construct them. For any engineer who has constructed models of engineering systems, such a statement is a joke (a bad one). If a model cannot even reproduce the data used to construct it, then it is clearly worthless - but reproducing the training data is far from confirming that the physical model is correct and will produce reliable predictions.

Then I found that things were even worse yet. To predict significant warming based on increased carbon dioxide, the models incorporate positive feedback effects, where the effect of carbon dioxide is assumed to be multiplied by a large factor. Any engineer who has had to cope with the ticklish instability of systems incorporating large amounts of positive feedback has extreme difficulty believing that planet Earth's climate incorporates significant positive feedback.

By this point, I had become a sceptic of AGW. It seemed to me that there were elements of religious belief in its proponents ("knowing" a thing to be true, even in the absence of evidence). They were talking the talk of science - but walking the walk of a new religion.

Yet, how was it possible that the UN's Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change could present all this stuff as "rigorous science"? I had the beginnings of an understanding of this question towards the end of 2009, when I downloaded and read the "Climategate" emails. It was very clear that IPCC lead authors had been conspiring to keep out anything that cast doubt on the AGW orthodoxy.

I have greatly enjoyed reading Donna Laframboise's book "The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert." It explains in detail how all this nonsense has been passed off as rigorous science by the IPCC.

My question now is this: What were all the other journalists of the world up to while this was happening? There were enough clues that something very wrong was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be read by every Member of Parliament, 15 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. David Holland "David Holland" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
Donna Laframboise has an original style and provides a powerful case for doubting anything claimed by the IPCC, which she compares with a spoilt brat.

The 2005 House of Lords' enquiry into climate change, which she cites, had concluded of the IPCC, "Sound science cannot emerge from an unsound process". She goes on to expose in excoriating detail the bias, concealment and utter hypocrisy of the unsound IPCC process, based on the publicly accessible recorded words of its leading participants and activists. The IPCC and its adherents say one thing but do something very different.

In 1993, the governments of the world, who pay for it all, instructed the IPCC to undertake its assessments on a comprehensive, objective, open and transparent basis. However, Laframboise provides verifiable evidence to show that none of these four requirements are met; that many of the so-called experts are still wet behind the ears; that the much vaunted claim that the IPCC reports are based upon published peer-reviewed literature is grossly overstated; and that the IPCC Expert Review process is routinely circumvented to reach the preconceived conclusions of activists.

But for those who had already worked all that out, Laframboise gives an in depth analysis of the long established IPCC social network, its pecking order and its deep links to the massively funded environmental movements. Her book is not embellished, but could have been twice the length if all the verifiable failings of the IPCC had been included.

Even if only every other page of her book is read what is left is a crushing indictment of the politician godparents of the IPCC who have not brought up and disciplined their brat properly to follow the rules they laid down, as well the norms of professional behaviour appropriate for the world's most powerful advisor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IPCC is scarcely scientific, but seriously political, 19 Oct 2011
By 
A. J. Stienstra (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
With "the Delinquent Teenager", Donna Laframboise has completed a major effort in compiling the many key aspects where the IPCC is doing a bad job. What struck me most is that during reading of this book it became clear to me that the IPCC is not so much a scientific effort to define human influence on climate, but that it is a political instrument to push through environmental policies for people who are riding the green wave. The book gives many links to experts showing that the policies the IPCC is advocating for its paymasters are very expensive, detrimental to the economy and based on very shaky science.
Donna shows up the IPCC for what it is: a malignant green monster, sucking power from Earth's
citizens to yield it to a small circle of green high priests.
The book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IPCC is controlled by political and environmentalist's forces and nothing to do with the real science, 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
Donna shows very clearly that the advice to the governments around the globe and coming from IPCC is driven by politics and various environmental NGOs and nothing to do with the real science. I was part of the Donna's led exercise, where the scientists around the world used some of their free time and went through thousands of literature references quoted by IPCC to be 100% peer reviewed papers. That was clearly stated by the IPCC's president over and over at every interview that he gave. And yet, it was a total lie. Over 5000 references cited as `scientific' came from non-scientific brochures, pamphlets and internal reports. People should take Donna's book very seriously indeed.

The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless, 17 Oct 2011
By 
P. Main - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Delinquent Teenager Who Was Mistaken for the World's Top Climate Expert (Kindle Edition)
I've read many books about climate science -- by both believers in CAGW and sceptics. Both sides cite the "facts" found IPCC reports and revere its data as above reproach. No author, after reading this book, would ever do that again.

Like most people who follow the CAGW debate, I was aware of some of the deficiencies and misrepresentations of the IPCC. But, to put them all in one place and read about them all at once, has left me speechless.

If you believe in global warming and are persuaded by the great "consensus" please read this book so you will know just who and what you are following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews