Customer Reviews


710 Reviews
5 star:
 (299)
4 star:
 (226)
3 star:
 (95)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, didn't want it to end!
This was the first book by the author I have read, and I will definately move on to some of his other titles. The characters are all well formed and thought out, and I liked that the story wasn't predictable and has many happy and sad twists and turns.

I would love there to be a sequel to find out what happens next, it is well worth paying for and I would...
Published on 13 April 2011 by F.Allan

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Enjoyable read, perfect as a Holiday book
I had never read a Nick Alexander book until now and to be honest wasn't sure what to expect - a male written novel with a central female character, I was intrigued.

The character of CC is written in a well rounded, exciting and realistic way, as are the other 'main' characters, I particularly enjoyed the Victor character and the part he played throughout the...
Published on 19 April 2011 by Stacy


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, didn't want it to end!, 13 April 2011
This was the first book by the author I have read, and I will definately move on to some of his other titles. The characters are all well formed and thought out, and I liked that the story wasn't predictable and has many happy and sad twists and turns.

I would love there to be a sequel to find out what happens next, it is well worth paying for and I would whole-heartedly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable story xxx, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I enjoyed this story, it took me a few chapters to fully settle into the story but when I did I found myself immersed in what was happening and I was always keen to read on to find out what the next chapter had in store.

I warmed to CC as a character straight away, she's easy to like and as she progresses throughout the story she is easy to understand and more of her personality is revealed, enabling the reader to perhaps connect with her character that little bit more. Her journey was very compelling to read as she went through the highs and lows of her life, her struggles and of course the scenarios of being single and the missing boyfriend. I didn't warm to the other characters as much as I hoped to, even though they were very well-written, but that didn't affect my enjoyment of the book one bit.

I found this story had a real mix of emotions in it. There are some seriously funny moments and scenarios that will make you smile, but on the other end there are a few twists and turns and even some sad moments that will take you a bit by surprise. As well as a bit of a roller coaster ride, the plots are intriguing and will have you turning the pages to see what happens next.

The Case Of The Missing Boyfriend is an easy to read, enjoyable story with a mix of scenarios and emotions to keep you glued to the pages. Try this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Enjoyable read, perfect as a Holiday book, 19 April 2011
By 
Stacy (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never read a Nick Alexander book until now and to be honest wasn't sure what to expect - a male written novel with a central female character, I was intrigued.

The character of CC is written in a well rounded, exciting and realistic way, as are the other 'main' characters, I particularly enjoyed the Victor character and the part he played throughout the story. All in all this is an extremely easy book to read, it took me 3 sittings of an hour or so each to finish it. Really, it's the perfect holiday read.

On the downside, I found the plot of CC's mother and the Morroccan lad slightly unbelievable and the tangent in which the book went off when CC decided she was a humanitarian against cows being tethered in a tiny barn did, I feel stop the original flow of the book.

I am aware Alexander is himself a gay man, and his fiction is gay fiction but having as I do gay friends myself the so called 'ficticious' gay charcaters in this book were a tad cliched in parts also.

Buy this for a light, easy read. For something more substantial buy the new Freya North novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-crafted and enjoyable read, 20 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all of Mr Alexander's novels (I think!) and loved every single one of them. The Case of the Missing Boyfriend is no exception! CC, the main character, is quite a gal with a great job, lovely flat in London, fabulous friends (gay and straight), an out-of-control mother and a loyal pussycat at home who often appears to be her only source of comfort in a wildly disturbing world of mad parties, (kinky) business trips abroad and speed-dating. However, CC has had quite a few knockbacks where men are concerned and with her biological clock ominously ticking, all she really wants to do is settle down with the right man, move to the country and live the good life. But, the main ingredient (the boyfriend!) is of course missing from her life and continues to elude her despite her friends' constant encouragement to forget her hangups about casual sex and to seize any opportunity whilst she still can. Often hilarious, often rather sad and poignant, but always entertaining, this is another wonderfully crafted story full of interesting characters who come alive to such a degree that you feel as if you have just taken part in a scene yourself. Incredible! Does CC find that elusive perfect man? Will her mother marry that 23 year old Moroccan toy boy? Can her best friend Mark make it work with Ian? Will Danny ever recover from his depression? Read the book and find out. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and well written!, 25 April 2011
A few days ago I read No Cure for the Broken Hearted and thought that the author should have told the story from a male perspective because I didn't think that he did the female perspective with enough authenticity. Nick Alexander on the other hand does the female perspective incredibly well. I got this book free (I grab all free books and read them when I have the time) and I perhaps wouldn't have bought it even though it is now only cheaply priced as I hadn't read the author's work before. I'm so glad I snapped it up when I did because I would have missed a fantastic book!

Nick writes CC's character with an astonishing sensitivity. He captures the hope, dreams and fears of woman at a pivotal point in her life as though he has experienced these issues himself. I can relate especially to anger CC feels on receiving news of her ex and his new family, when he had always insisted that he had never wanted a family and she had stifled her own inclinations and wishes to keep him happy.

Yet another great author I have discovered through cheap and free Kindle books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars original take on the search for a happy ending, 12 Feb. 2013
On the surface, The Case of The Missing Boyfriend appears to be a classic `chick lit' tale of a thirty-something woman looking for love but it's actually an in depth look at lead character CC's life over the course of a year as she copes with the ups and downs thrown at her. As the novel started, CC reminded me very much of a cross between Bridget Jones and Carrie Bradshaw; she lives and parties in London, has a successful and glamorous career in advertising, owns her own flat and has a fabulous gang of gay male friends to keep her entertained and a couple of close female friends to put things in perspective.

On paper her life is perfect but in her heart she's not happy; her dream is a farm in the country complete with partner and child. At the age of 39 and with some bad relationships behind her, she's beginning to question if she'll ever find the right man or have her dream. It's a question most of us have asked at one time or another and I found it quite refreshing that CC was entirely honest with herself about her desire to find a partner and have children. What surprised me though as I read was that this isn't really a novel about CC finding her ideal man but actually about her taking an in-depth look at herself and trying to figure out what will make her happy.

I liked the layout of the book and with snappy titles, each chapter was like a little short story of its own which built up in the first part of the book to give a detailed picture of CC and her life. There are some very funny moments, particularly in part one as CC finds herself in Nice with an rich and intriguing business man and tries her hand at speed dating but despite the comedy there is little real romance for poor CC and the second part of the novel is altogether darker as recession hits and we find out more about CC's family and her previous relationships. This is a novel that isn't afraid to tackle difficult topics head on including depression, loneliness and suicide.

CC goes on quite a journey through the course of this novel and her story certainly made me think about what makes us happy and the terms in which we view success. With a surprise twist at the end, this is a story that will keep you guessing right until the very last page and I found it an original and ultimately uplifting take on the search for a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Boyfriend, 22 April 2011
First book by Nick Alexander that I've read but if they're all to that standard, I'll be reading more. Flowed along well, easy to read and to relate to. As I read through the book, it became more intriguing that the book had a female main character but was written by a male - well done to Nick - you got it right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cold hearted read, 10 Jun. 2011
Really poor book. Deserves to be only 49p on kindle. At no point could I warm to the main character, the author had obviously forced themselves to try and write from a womens perspective and as a result a clinical feel to her character was generated. Real disappointment and note to author stick with what you know best and it's not women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick gets it right every time!, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
MrsKatyS (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case of the Missing Boyfriend (Kindle Edition)
I am a huge fan of Nick Alexander and so far I have loved every single one of his books - this one is not an exception!

The Case of The Missing Boyfriend centres around the main character who has a fantastic flat in London, amazing friends, an awesome job, a crazy mother and a cat living with her. While her life is seemingly fantastic business trips, parties and dating we learn that she hasn't always had everything she wants. She wants to find herself a fantastic man to settle down with, buy a home in the country and have lots of babies. This book centres around her quest to find herself a new boyfriend - the one!

This book tells the story fantastically well and I was intrigued by the time I read the first few pages and gripped by the time I had read 10! At times this book is sad then funny and then sad again but I loved it anyway! There were enough emotions running through me to keep me gripped to the very end and I felt that the other characters in the book were interesting and engaging.

I really found myself getting swept up with this book and I finished it in just two days. Another fantastic job from Nick and I can't wait for the next book! 5/5 from me - buy this today you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Lee-watson "Sammy Kitten" (Crawley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case of the Missing Boyfriend (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book because it was free and had a few stars more than the other freebies. It Sat on my kindle for ages until last week when I needed a trashy novel fix, and I didn't expect much from it, but it was actually rather enjoyable. There's nothing major I can pick out that did it for me, it just had me hooked. The story doesn't majorly go anywhere, especially compared to the dystopian stuff I've been reading lately but it was a lot more pleasant to read than the usual chick lit or whatever category it falls into and was real enough to be believable without being annoying and managed not to be exaggerated. A lot of these sorts of books are generally normal people doing normal things but the gay people are over the top, the drug use is unnecessarily heavy, the main character gets an unbelievable promotion or proposal etc that has you rolling your eyes or sneering but this stayed on the realistic level throughout with enough drama to be interesting. Would definitely recommend as a holiday book or something to dip in and out of on your lunch break or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Case of the Missing Boyfriend
£0.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews