Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginning, Middle, but No End
The plot is quirky, and, once you get used to the idea, extremely gripping. All the more disappointing, therefore, to discover that the book suddenly stops, about 4 paragraphs into a new scenario, at 92% of the download, with the coy "And the story continues...". This is not a novella, this is an episode, and I feel cheated and almost betrayed. The author should consider...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Annie W

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - the story is not complete
This is really disappointing. I was enjoying the book and its cast of strange charaters but the story is incomplete, in and of itself and ends on a cliffhanger. Presumably, if you want to know how it all turns out you'll have to buy the next book in the series. I felt totally conned by this ploy by the author, and no - I won't be buying any more books by him.
Published on 12 Jun. 2012 by Lynda Wilcox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginning, Middle, but No End, 20 May 2012
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
The plot is quirky, and, once you get used to the idea, extremely gripping. All the more disappointing, therefore, to discover that the book suddenly stops, about 4 paragraphs into a new scenario, at 92% of the download, with the coy "And the story continues...". This is not a novella, this is an episode, and I feel cheated and almost betrayed. The author should consider that, if he wishes to gain and then maintain reader loyalty, he has to play fair, not just in terms of his plot-line, but also to reader expectations. While leaving a plot in limbo at the end of an episode of a TV serial is conventional, and expected, that really is not the case in a book, unless it is clearly spelt out in the blurb. While the plot and characters are engaging enough that I might well invest 77p in what will, in reality, be Episode 2, I am left with the suspicion that this ploy will continue, and that the price of each instalment will increase. I've given 4 stars because of the plot quality, but am extremely disappointed by the abrupt non-ending - and amazed that most other reviewers either don't mention it, or don't find it peculiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, poorly edited, 18 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this fun thriller on my Kindle, and the characterisation is excellent. However, the book is riddled with spelling mistakes, incongruous figures of speech, incomplete grammar and formatting errors. These don't ruin the story but they get in the way and now I'm not sure I want to fight my way through part 2. Reading should be a pleasure, not a challenge. Why not hire a competent editor, Stephen? Your books deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good company!, 12 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
Droll and different,with interesting and engaging characters.Well written and told,a thoroughly entertaining and engaging tale.I will certainly be reading more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner I couldn't put down, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
I got this book shortly after acquiring a Kindle as it was a free choice, based on having read some of Stephen's novels and the somewhat quirky description. Once I started I couldn't stop reading and when finished immediately bought the next book (through the wonders of Kindle 3G) to continue the story, and now am eagerly waiting for book number 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
Stylish, amusing, holds your attention throughout, I like this writing. The authors best work so far. Much less keen on the drip-drip publication. Will probably wait to buy the complete novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - the story is not complete, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
Lynda Wilcox (Northamptonshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Ghosts (novella 1 of the In the Company of Ghosts thriller series). (Kindle Edition)
This is really disappointing. I was enjoying the book and its cast of strange charaters but the story is incomplete, in and of itself and ends on a cliffhanger. Presumably, if you want to know how it all turns out you'll have to buy the next book in the series. I felt totally conned by this ploy by the author, and no - I won't be buying any more books by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews