Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe in Paris
This is not one of the best books featuring Joe Sandilands, but despite that quite a good read. I loved the Indian trio and felt that not only were they very good reading, but I learnt quite a lot about Indian and the Raj.
Published 11 months ago by Booklover

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the weakest of the sandilands mysteries
If you're new to the series, don't start with this one. You might not read any of Cleverly's other Sandilands novels. Look for one of the books set in India (e.g. The Last Kashmiri Rose) or Tug of War (set in the French countryside). Skip The Bee's Kiss (which also rates only 3 stars). The Indian novels are strengthened by their exotic locales, and Tug of War, while not...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by David W. Straight


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the weakest of the sandilands mysteries, 17 Aug 2008
By 
David W. Straight (knoxville, tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're new to the series, don't start with this one. You might not read any of Cleverly's other Sandilands novels. Look for one of the books set in India (e.g. The Last Kashmiri Rose) or Tug of War (set in the French countryside). Skip The Bee's Kiss (which also rates only 3 stars). The Indian novels are strengthened by their exotic locales, and Tug of War, while not in an exotic setting, is a richly-textured and satisfying tale, carefully crafted and driven by characters rather than action.

Folly du Jour, set in Paris, tries to rely on fast pace and violence. The author attempts to glamorize things with Lindbergh's arrival in Paris and with Josephine Baker--but these are not successful. There's a sense of confusion, a patching in of elements from previous novels. The Paris underworld, the Apaches, play a major part. It's not quite as corpse-strewn as Hammett's Red Harvest, but it comes close. So what you get seems minimally different from a thousand other pulp-fictionish crime novels, which is sad, since Cleverly has proven herself capable of much better work.

Contrast this with Tug of War, which had one long-dead corpse. There was no action, no violence--which seemed a bit odd, but only at first. That novel was carefully written, and had a beautiful quiet strength. It didn't need shootings, killings, and car chases to achieve its power. The India novels have more action and violence, but it never gets out of hand, and if you pruned out the action and violent episodes, the stories would still have been powerful. Unfortunately, The Bee's Kiss wandered away from these strengths, and Folly du Jour has gotten even further away. So try instead Tug of War or The Last Kashmiri Rose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe in Paris, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is not one of the best books featuring Joe Sandilands, but despite that quite a good read. I loved the Indian trio and felt that not only were they very good reading, but I learnt quite a lot about Indian and the Raj.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a pleasant reading experience!, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Not one I would recommend. Have read most of this series and really enjoyed the 3 set in India. Unfortunately I have liked them less and less.! "Tug of War" was reasonable then I went to "Folly du Jour" but have found it hard to wade through and glad to get to the end! Lots of unnecessary description which made it quite unsavoury and needlessly graphic at times!
Hope Joe Sandilands will be seconded back to India!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Sandilands Mystery Well Worth Reading, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Folly du Jour is the final book of the Sandilands' series. They should be read in order as Joe Sandilands progresses in his Met career, becoming more cunning and equally more likeable as the series progresses. Author Cleverly has crafted all stories extremely well, developes her characters completely and includes excellent descriptions of the environments surrounding each mystery. I particularly enjoyed the relationship with his adopted niece Dorcas and their travel to France in The Bee's Kiss. A very readable series and I am sorry to see Joe Sandilands disappear into the book ether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Atmosphere, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Lila M (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This is not the best of the Joe Sandilands series, but it is a very good read
and, if you enjoy the series, then don't miss this one. Good French
atmosphere and characters. I did guess who had done the murders but that
didn't detract too much from enjoying the story. I think, overall, I enjoyed
the India series rather than those with the French settings, but that is
personal choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Read, 20 May 2013
By 
Ms. M. A. Morris "Magsmegan" (North London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I love all these novels with the Joe Sandilands character, I have to say though, that I particularly like the earlier ones set in India. Wonderful easy and engrossing reads all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Escapade, 8 Jun 2013
By 
C. A. Challis (Kent (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Joe in France and going to the Follies to see Josephine Baker. The start of a great read and keeps you guessing the identity of the killer until the last few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detective Nostalgia, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Stanley (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
this series uses historical detail to make the characters lives, situations and actions believable. Very enjoyable read for the older reader or history student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Sandilands adventure!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Once again this is an excellent storyline with good characterisation by Barbara Cleverly. Up to her usual standard and gripping from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folly du Jour (Joe Sandilands Investigation Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, in fact I love the whole series, hard to put down and get an early night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews