Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun Victorian mystery
This was such a fun read. Annie Fuller, a part time fortune teller, investigates a family of spiritualists, certain they're frauds and up to something actually sinister. The personal conflict for Annie is very honestly handled and I appreciated that. The relationship between her and Nate develops, which I also liked. But I think what made this so fun was the cast of truly...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Reader Christensen

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars unhappy customer
bought this as already read maids of misfortune.but have been unable to read this on my kindle it downloaded in very small print.i then made the font size bigger but needed it at the top of the scale which made it too big.therfore have been unable to read this book much to my dismay.not had this problem before.so therefore 1 star.
Published 18 months ago by jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun Victorian mystery, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
This was such a fun read. Annie Fuller, a part time fortune teller, investigates a family of spiritualists, certain they're frauds and up to something actually sinister. The personal conflict for Annie is very honestly handled and I appreciated that. The relationship between her and Nate develops, which I also liked. But I think what made this so fun was the cast of truly unusual characters, well drawn, complex, and at times downright strange. I'm looking forward to more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SEQUEL TO MAIDS OF MISFORTUNE, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the Victorian San Francisco Mystery series by M. Louisa Locke.

In 1879 San Francisco, young widow Annie Fuller struggles to survive after her late husband left her penniless, with only a boardinghouse to provide her a small income. Although Annie is a financial genius, being a woman prevents her from finding work as a financial consultant, thus she creates as her alter ego, Madam Sybil, a clairvoyant specialising in business advice. Surprisingly as Sybil she becomes successful, as it seems that men prefer getting advice from a fortune teller than from an intelligent woman who understands the economy. When one of her boarders, Miss Pinehurst, asks for her help to expose a team of trance mediums who threaten her sister's health and fortune, Annie starts to investigate with the help of her boyfriend, young and attractive lawyer Nate Dawson and her young Irish maid, Kathleen Hennessey. Although Annie is determined to solve the case and help her friend, she finds herself way over her head, as she has to cope with impostors, blackmailers, uneasy spirits, and a dangerous murderer.

This historical mystery is very well written and gripping and the atmosphere of 1870's San Francisco is excellent, with beautiful descriptions of the city and the everyday life of the time. Also, as the story is set during Halloween, there are great descriptions of Halloween related decorations and activities in the 1870's. The characters were wonderfully introduced in the first book and are brilliantly developed in this one. Both Annie and Nate are very likable and realistically drawn and also Kathleen is further developed as she is given a more central role than in the first book. What I loved most however, is the way the romantic relationship is developed between Annie and Nate, and the way they deal with Annie's independence and insistence to work. As we see the events from both their points of view, it is very interesting to see the different ways they envision their future life together and face society's perceptions about women.

This book can stand on its own, but as more is revealed about the characters and their relationships develop as the series progresses, it might be best to start from the first book in the series, Maids of Misfortune: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery. There is also a short story published; Dandy Detects: A Victorian San Francisco Story, which is interesting, but very, very short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable read, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
The story arc has been covered by other reviewers so I won't go into it. I enjoyed this book even more than Maids of Misfortune, though I felt that to be most enjoyable. Maybe this is due to the fact that I've always been fascinated by ideas about after-life. I like the fact that Uneasy Spirits doesn't debunk the idea or totally agree with it. The idea is open and intelligently covered by the ideas, beliefs and attitudes of the various characters in the story. There were, and no doubt still are, many fakes about who take gullible and vulnerable people for a ride when those people are desperate for contact with loved ones who have passed away. But there are also many who do seem to have some unusual powers and can be genuinely healing.
The character of Evie May was a brilliant one and evoked something of Sarah Waters 'Affinity' I think this was very well handled and added a truly spooky element to the story. Other characters also appealed besides the main protagonists. Katherine the maid, Miss Pinehurst, Anthony Pierce. They were well depicted and believable. I do agree with one critic that perhaps Annie Fuller is a tad too independent for her own good and makes us cross with her at times. Nate is also a deal too accommodating for a man of that period, perhaps. But this is a modern take on the Victorian era, it's not meant to be Wilkie Collins, and needs to be written with an appeal to a modern audience who don't want wishy-washy heroines fainting in the arms of their stern lovers. Sassy women are the mode du jour.
The story could have benefited from some edit of the abundance of back stories for every minor character. But as many of these may appear in subsequent tales, it's allowed! Someone said, Annie is too familiar with her servants. But many men or women on their own did become good friends with their servants with whom they could relax and speak informally. The Victorians were not half as stuffy as we think. (nor was Queen Victoria)
Above all, I did enjoy descriptions of San Francisco, one of my favourite cities. It seemed to come alive more as a city in this story and I rode the cable cars with the characters! All in all, I really enjoyed the book and felt the ending was truly exciting, well written and thrilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sceptical sibyl, 12 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
This book is the second of M Louisa Locke's stories about Annie Fuller. Annie is asked to investigate a fraudulent medium by one of her boarders. However, once she starts her investigation, she discovers there is more to the mystery, and finds herself in real danger.

The author handles her large cast very well. As I have never visited San Francisco, I cannot comment on her descriptions, but she certainly paints a very convincing picture of a growing 19th century city, and the Tammany Hall politics which bedevil those who live in it.

The situation Annie investigates is interesting, as we are looking at the situation of a young girl with modern eyes, but those who explain it are using 19th century spiritualist terms. The author leaves us to make up our own minds about what is happening to Evie May.

I enjoyed this story very much. The large cast of characters is well handled, the story is well-plotted, and the love story, to me reminiscent of Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey, where an independent woman who has been injured in the past, and the man who loves her, try to reach an understanding of what each wants from a relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian mystery., 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
This is the second of this author's books I have read, and the other-"The Misses Moffat Mend a Marriage " was a short story. That I found had some light delicate touches. This however was much darker, in parts very disturbing without being explicit, written in a style appropriate to the times. The descriptions of the characters and place, Victorian San Francisco were very good, but there were too many characters I felt, & the story seemed very long. However it was enjoyable and did not just fade away or rush the ending, so I will read the one that I have missed in this series and would read more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
got it on a deal so haven't read the first one in the series - likeable characters, unusual story and will look out for this author again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uneasy spirits, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story. Having visited San Francisco, it was fascinating to match the description of the streets with the real place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me interested at all times!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
From picking up this book, right up until the end I did not want to put it down. I would take it to bed and think I shall just read a chapter. However this never happened, it would be at least three to four chapters a night. It is about a lady whom knows that 'evil' people do exist out there in society trying to con people into believeing that the spirits of their loved ones are trying to contact them. She was determined to prove somehow that the people involved were in fact crooks, without giving any thought to her own safety at any one time!

I dont want to spoil the storyline for you so will just say that is a must to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars unhappy customer, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
bought this as already read maids of misfortune.but have been unable to read this on my kindle it downloaded in very small print.i then made the font size bigger but needed it at the top of the scale which made it too big.therfore have been unable to read this book much to my dismay.not had this problem before.so therefore 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars american story, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Spirits: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery (Kindle Edition)
I can just about cope with American spelling in a book set in America and enjoyed this very much. I look forward to more in the series and developing the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews