Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The children of Swyzer return as Knights of the Crusades...
Well, well, well what a little gem. It is a mixture of Templars meets vigilante with a strong sense of justice. The author has interwoven many details from the Holy Crusade and the exodus of the Swyzer children draws parallels from those crusades.
The author has managed to capture the essence of fear that hovered in that era, when strips of land were ruled by minor...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by Cheryl M-M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
I chose this book as I enjoy historical fiction and was not disappointed by this story, love, intrigue, a twist in the tale, great fun, cant wait to read the next instalment
Published 4 months ago by Andrew Davies


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The children of Swyzer return as Knights of the Crusades..., 13 Jun 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Well, well, well what a little gem. It is a mixture of Templars meets vigilante with a strong sense of justice. The author has interwoven many details from the Holy Crusade and the exodus of the Swyzer children draws parallels from those crusades.
The author has managed to capture the essence of fear that hovered in that era, when strips of land were ruled by minor despots. It is also hints at the creation of the country of Switzerland. People lived in terror of being accused of heresy or witchcraft and subjected to torture and death.
Which brings me to one of the other interesting subjects in this book. The author has researched various techniques of torture used in that era and how the accused had to prove they were worthy of God and/or not a man/woman of witchcraft. It is written in a way that captures the moment and image without use of gore or graphic details.
It ended on quite a bit of a cliffhanger and I am left with a need to know what happens next..arrgh. Commendable storytelling and a joy to read.
I received a free copy of this book for my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging read, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this story. Characters are well drawn and evoke empathy I am interested in pursuing the tale further. clever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good work, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
A really good book. Very atmospheric and surprisingly polished. Well worth a read. I have struggled to find really good historical fiction on the kindle but I can happily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALTDOORF (The Forest Knights), 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This is a thoroughly good read with fast moving storyline and characters with good depth. This is the first Swift novel I have read and I would recommend it to those who enjoy historical fiction with a basis in historical fact. I have already downloaded book two and look forward to catching up with the principal characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare surprise, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Great, rich and clever plot, great action, great characters. I have read a fair few historical fiction books and must say that these two "Forest Knights" have really impressed me. Couldn't put them down, which is not necessarily what one might be after, but it didn't hurt !

The style is slick and very accessible. I found that a great strength of these two novels is the harmonious balance between riveting, testosterone fueled action and meditative contemplation.

I was pleasantly surprised by the subject matter (the backdrop of fledgling Switzerland) and that is what got me interested in the first place. It was highly entertaining to read about the "big picture" circumstances of my country of origin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Prepared for an All Night Read.........., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This is my first foray into the writing of J.K.Swift and this book deserves it's 5 stars, well written, has truly believable characters and well researched even though some of the historical fact may be a little distorted to meet the need of the story...... it is fiction after all.

A thoroughly good read and I am in the process of downloading the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Writing Style, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This book doesn't mess about - great characters with a great story - the writer gets on with it without delay unlike some books that take ages to get going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Bought it because it was free. And what a surprise! Well written, very good story and if you know history a little bit it's pure joy. Author`s knowledge is superb. It felt like being transported 600 years back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book, a great start to a factional history of the swiss republic. It is refreshing to read these genre of books that is moving into the post Roman period of history. The dark ages are being explored and put to paper by a lot of writers, and it provides a new back drop on an important time in many countries evolution. This promises to become an excellant series of books of a country that i had never really given much thought. Highly recommended and well done J K Swift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very skillfull reimagining of the William Tell legend and the formation of Switzerland, 22 April 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ALTDORF: The Forest Knights: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
J.K. Swift has done a fairly solid job of recreating the William Tell legend, and with it covering the creation of Switzerland in the two volume Forest Knights series (the second one is MORGARTEN (The Forest Knights: Book 2)). And while the author himself admits to lots of it being his own interpretation, the books will at least give you a fairly good overview of the times and the main events (Tell and Gissler themselves being more creatures of legend than reality (it appears that historical records of either could not be found, according to the author)).

The book more or less starts with the return to 'Swiss lands' of several 'Schwyzer' children / orphans, who have been sold into Hospitaler service in Outremer some thirty years before, in the late 13th century. These are then faced with various machinations of the Habsburgs, who are intent on absolute domination of the lands.

The author manages to weave in several personal stories into this historical background and the book overall comes with a good balance between action and scene setting that will likely appeal to a fairly wide readership.

If you enjoy getting a feel for different times / places through lightly fictionalized accounts, I am sure that this book does a solid job of giving you just that for the creation of Switzerland. The fact that the Kindle version came free of charge (as a teaser, I suppose), certainly does not harm and I am definitely going to read MORGARTEN (The Forest Knights: Book 2) - the second one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews