Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers all my 'prayers'
An excellent book which deals with pretty well all the arguments I've encountered, and a few that I have yet to be presented with. I imagine that this will be the case with almost everyone who reads it - and it's written in a very readable style.

I am by nature a nitpicker, but I can find very little which I would change or add to this book. However, a note...
Published 22 months ago by george scott

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A response to the response
This book is certainly an entertaining read, although it is not all that well written and the arguments get a little thin here and there (enthusiasm is great but it is no substitute for ingenuity and accuracy.)
I agree with him in what he is arguing against, I just feel that you can weaken your cause if your own counter-arguments fall a little short.
Also there...
Published 17 months ago by daisycow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers all my 'prayers', 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book which deals with pretty well all the arguments I've encountered, and a few that I have yet to be presented with. I imagine that this will be the case with almost everyone who reads it - and it's written in a very readable style.

I am by nature a nitpicker, but I can find very little which I would change or add to this book. However, a note explaining how unintelligent an 'intelligent designer' would be - Richard Dawkins and Jerry Coyle both like the recurrent laryngeal nerve in the giraffe, or even ourselves as an example.

It has got to the point where I almost welcome doorstep evangelists, especially of 'The Bible is the word of God, and is therefore true' variety. Get them to agree that it follows that if the Bible is not true, it cannot be the word of God, and use something from this book. Alternatively, use the fact that the nativity stories in Matthew(M) and Luke(L) are almost completely contradictory. If you do not have a Bible handy, it goes like this.

Joseph was 'of the line of David' through Solomon(M) or Nathan(L). After a total of 28(M) or 41(L) generations, his father was Jacob(M) or Heli(L). After the birth, wise men(M) or shepherds(L) attended, and then there was a flight to Egypt, to avoid the massacre of the innocents, then heading back to Jerusalem, after being told that it was safe, then being told that it was not safe, (was this some kind of joke?) and turning aside to Nazareth - i.e. not their point of origin(M). OR, back to Jerusalem for the rites of purification, and then back to Nazareth, which was their point of origin.(L).

At this point,fundamentalists often try to employ diversion tactics. Incidentally, the period of purification for a woman who has given birth to a girl is twice that for boy. Doubly disgusting.

I agree with FB that you will (almost) never get a 'believer' to change their views, but I hope that I may have sown the first seeds of uncertainty, and who knows?

Well done, Frank Butcher, I've really enjoyed reading this book, and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars praise the lord, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
really great book. good fun reading it. any one who likes argue with religious must have this and i would like christians and muslims reading it. i like the price as well . thanks alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A response to the response, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
This book is certainly an entertaining read, although it is not all that well written and the arguments get a little thin here and there (enthusiasm is great but it is no substitute for ingenuity and accuracy.)
I agree with him in what he is arguing against, I just feel that you can weaken your cause if your own counter-arguments fall a little short.
Also there is a bit of repetition which gets a tad irritating and could be avoided.
I think a bit of editing to tidy up the arguments, get rid of the repetition and to get the style more polished would have made a big difference.
But definitely top marks for enthusiasm and effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
As an atheist I found this an entertaining and informative read which is ideal for dipping into during journeys or reading before bedtime. I have also silenced some of my friends' arguments using the points in this book. :) Very cheap, too. I like. Well done to the author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disjointed, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
As an atheist agree with most of the writer's views and know some of the arguments. Like some of his metaphors that I haven't hear before BUT some of his arguments are argued more than once e.g. the flood has been covered twice when less than 25% through the book. Needs editing and merging of the two sections. His argument against faith schools is all well and good but appears in what seems to be a random place.

The arguments are good but the book needs a good editor so it follows more as in title seems disjointed. I can see where the reviewer who only gave one star is coming from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atheism, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
Atheist do not really have a problem arguing with the religious because they have generally thought through their position from a standpoint of reason but, it is always good to have extra ammunition and this book provides it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God I'm an atheist., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
It's OK. By the author's own admission, nothing you haven't read before if you've read anything else on the subject. some unforgivable duplication of certain sections. This has been mentioned by other reviewers and I can't understand why it is still being sold with this issue. Unless it's deliberate to 'fill' the book. Do I sound cynical? Of course I do.....I'm an atheist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative. God will be pleased., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
Easy read, excellent and informative book, providing in-depth analysis of just how naive, dumb and brainwashed humanity can be. Also outlining the socially accepted mental illness AKA religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is what it says, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
A short list of what it says with a few good rants thrown in towards the end. Several typos makes it drop a star but otherwise an enjoyable and insightful read. A shame it's not longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atheist responses to religious arguments (UPDATED) (Kindle Edition)
This books contains a few gems but is massively undermined by the very poor standard of writing and editing. Whole chunks appear twice, in some case just a few pages apart. There are also some errors that show poor research. This is not so much a book as a badly cobbled together series of pieces.
Some of the points are well made but it needs to really needs more work to count as a book (that you have to pay for). There is, for example, no table of contents or index. If there was some structure to it I can't say it was apparent to me. Given that it has been updated those issues really should have been sorted out.
I so much wanted to like this book, it is close, but no cigar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews