Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, thoroughly recommended
Having read & studied a large number of performance books for both cars & motorcycles over the years, I can whole heartedly recommend Total Control.

This book contains a great depth of technical information, particularly with respect to riding technique, without being unnecessarily heavy or overwhelming. It also contains the single best step-by-step illustrated...
Published on 12 May 2009 by S. Ainley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Street riding?
I bought the book expecting information on riding on streets, but the book covered mostly riding on tracks with a street bike. I returned the book.
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by G. Yang


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, thoroughly recommended, 12 May 2009
By 
S. Ainley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read & studied a large number of performance books for both cars & motorcycles over the years, I can whole heartedly recommend Total Control.

This book contains a great depth of technical information, particularly with respect to riding technique, without being unnecessarily heavy or overwhelming. It also contains the single best step-by-step illustrated explanation of correct high speed turning technique that I have ever read or been given (again illustrated with excellent photographs including images of poor, good, & superb technique). Other advice includes correct set up of motorcycle suspension, & preparation of a bike for racing use.

Lee Parks is undoubtedly a very experienced motorcyclist and is also an excellent author. He has an exceptionally clear style & an entertaining sense of humour, the combination of which make for a truly exceptional book which is both enjoyable & easy to read.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this book for anyone interested in learning good motorcycle technique, be they at a relatively early stage, or an advanced rider looking for accurate technical riding information with which to check or improve their performance. Total Control is extremely well judged in breadth & depth, & quite possibly the best "go faster" book for road use I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What this book does well., 19 Jun 2006
This book fills a much neglected gap between beginners books such as Motorcycle Roadcraft and full on specialist bike setup manuals. It covers a large range of topics with good depth considering the limited amount of space allocated to each chapter. The technical sections on suspension in particular are an excellent overview which will probably persuade you to leave things alone. Much of psychology of riding refers heavily to Keith Codes work and if you have his books then much of this book will be a waste of your time.

Overall an excellent book for intermediate street riders looking to learn a little more in depth about everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5, 21 Dec 2006
By 
David (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
As a relatively new rider, I found this book both reassuring and insightful. I found myself thinking "So that's what I'm doing (wrong)" at times, and was able to practice and improve my skills using the advice given. I will happily admit that I dip into this book every couple of weeks to refresh on the tips - "one hand to steer" - as some of it is counter-intuitive and a bit scary the first time...

I bought this book on a recommendation, and would recommend it to anyone who can take it steadily and can avoid the temptation to radically alter their riding style all at once.

VTR1000, 1 trackday, 0 crashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Street riding?, 13 Oct 2010
By 
G. Yang (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought the book expecting information on riding on streets, but the book covered mostly riding on tracks with a street bike. I returned the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Antti Auer (Oulu, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best mc books ever read. Good tips also for those having some experience. At least I got practical advices which already proven to be efficient in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you want to see what you are doing wrong on a bike, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Alan Mcthredder "Alan McT" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and 'A Twist of the Wrist' by Keith Code are wonderful books. If you feel you know how to ride a motorcycle quickly, as I did for 40 years, you are in for a surprise. They both have techniques that can make you faster and safer in any circumstance. Counter-steering properly has to be done to be believed. I was aware of it but never deliberately played with it before. And there is a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More racing than road use?, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some useful road riding tips and techniques and probably good guidance for those trying track days. Shame it is aimed at the American bikers and a lot of pages dedicated to race preparation and suspension set up, which is of limited value for Mr Average road biker. Still a good read but you'd be better off buying Roadcraft and doing the IAM Skills for Life package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Control: High Performance Street Riding Techniques (Kindle Edition)
A must if you ride a bike. I'm new to big bikes and I read some most days.
Certain it contains something for the experienced too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my friend and i should of sent it back but because it was so close to his birthday i couldn't really. It was mostly US and my friend had never heard of him either. I thought it was going to be about sprinting in this country but it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riding techniques from experience., 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good, easy to read book with plenty of apparently very sound advice. Clearly drawn from the authors extensive experience. A number of technical handling issues described with experience and exceptional clarity. Very impressive. All I have to do now is apply some of it to my own riding. You never stop learning. This is the best book of its kind I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews