Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed much of James MacMillan's work since I first heard Isabel Gowdie. I don't share his religious convictions at all but I recognise he is powerfully motivated to write music of meaning and beauty. This collection is a fine set of works. I lent it to a friend who needed some solace and he found it deeply moving and asked me to get him a copy. The recording quality is excellent, with good balance and soundstage. It would be a nice intro to MacMillan's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modish but with great feeling., 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
The ghost of Allegri is never far off in this Miserere
and other, more contemporary choral writers from the Baltic and North America
are brought to mind too, on the other tracks, but who cares?

Here is the joy of a creative composer working with a Rolls Royce of a choir
that is simply marvellous to hear and questions of originality are irrelevant.

Let's hope the classical radio stations don't play this disc to death!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. M. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
The works on the CD comprise the most beautiful 21st century choral compositions I have heard. The Miserere in particular is incredibly beautiful. The Sixteen under Harry Christophers are in fine form as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real pleasure to discover, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
This CD was advertised in the December copy of "Gramaphone", and, since Macmillan is a composer I've long thought I should become acquainted with, I boughti it.
I'm really pleased with it : the singing is superb, and the music is outstanding! You think you're listening to a "classical" miserere, then the music takes an unexpected direction . There's a slight shock to the system, and then pleasure . I was expecting jangly, discordant , "difficult" music, and instead found beautiful harmony.I'm going to buy more of this composer's work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 20th century route to bliss, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Diane Clifford "DC" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
This is a lovely performance of favourite music. For people unsure of 20th century choral music this is a good introduction. For existing addicts it is just the thing.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choral perfection., 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
Breathtaking perfection of sublime music. The standards this group set remain in a league apart. Bettered only by hearing them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent recording, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
very pleased, will be taking it to my local recorded music society also having heard Harry Christopher and the sixteen live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning recording of phenomenal pieces, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
The expression of Macmillan's motet settings is, in my opinion, unparalleled in contemporary composition, and this recording by The Sixteen couldn't convey it better. The title piece, Miserere, is sensitively performed without losing a dramatic edge, and the Strathclyde Motets are full of character. A fantastic purchase, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macmillan: Miserere/ Tenebrae Responsories/ Strathclyde Motets (Coro: COR16096) (Audio CD)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews