Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 February 2012
I am away from home a good deal and need a way to remotely control from the internet lights and other appliances in the house and to monitor what takes place within.

I bought several On/Off power switches JSJS LightwaveRF Remote On and Off Socket 3 Pack Kit White, a JSJS LightwaveRF Energy Monitor, a LightwaveRF wall socket (Amazon product insert wizard can't detect it although it is available here). I also bought three D-Link IP cameras with motion detection D-Link DCS-932L Securicam Wireless N Home IP Network Camera with Infra Red.

I can now turn lights off an on in the house, monitor power consumption, reboot or turn off the cameras or the home alarm system should they malfunction and am alerted with emailed photographs and uploaded video should an intrusion occur.

As regards the Wifi link. It is easy to use, just plugs into the router, and allows all your LightwaveRF devices to be controlled from the internet with a iPhone or Android app or via a web browser. The wifi unit is the heart of the system and is essential to get full use from your LightwaveRF products. I have had mine for over a year now and it runs quietly in the background and has never let me down. My only criticism is that the Wifi link has no User Interface that can be addressed from a web browser to make setting up the system easier.

The LightwaveRF system is fully modular and can be built up and expanded as required. This item is the dearest part of the setup but it the essential core piece of kit. This is the starting point to getting your whole house online, monitored, automated and more secure.

The Good
Good price
Easy to set up
Works flawlessly once configured
Part of a fully modular system
Free iPhone/Android app
LCD information panel
Regular online firmware updates

The Bad
Minimal but sturdy packaging
No direct web interface
LCD panel information non intuitive
Poor user guide
11 comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Overall LightwaveRF rating: Generally, it does what it's meant to. Build quality is OK. Generally, unremarkable though the plug-in on/off sockets are particularly smart and are made by Siemens. However, a design flaw means that inductive appliances (things with big coils in like motors) can blow a chip inside. There are also many flaws in the LightwaveRF app...more than what you would expect for something that's been around for a few years now. The company offers its API to developers so a few others have built apps but they don't keep developers properly informed of changes, for example to the firmware in the Wifi link which have on occasion stopped competing apps from working. So my overall sense is that LightwaveRF, whilst well-priced and generally fit for purpose, has a slightly amateur aspect to it. The biggest on-going limitation is that communication between the Wifi Link and switching devices is one-way; whilst the link will acknowledge that a command has been received, no confirmation of receipt or action is returned by the switching devices itself. Essentially, if you're not near a device, you just have to assume it has responded.

LightwaveRF Wifi Link: Odd name as Wifi has nothing to do with it! The box plugs into a spare port on your router and communicates with devices on similar frequencies to more basic remote control sockets etc. Wifi is only implicated because if you happen to be in you local area network, the app will of course communicate with your router (like anything else) over Wifi.The box itself is unremarkable. It's just a white plastic box with a permanently illuminated blue display and a few buttons. Not an attractive piece of kit..just functional. You can dim the display but it will still be an unwelcome source of blue light in a bedroom. The standard mode of operation is for the box to receive commands from the app directly from within your network or via a remote server over the Internet. For various reasons, the latter is slow. You can send a command from the app and the device won't respond for sometimes several minutes. This is a little disconcerting. There are third party apps that can send straight to the box from the Internet (rather than via a server) and the response is much faster but you need to know a bit about configuring ports and have a static IP or use a DNS service to make this work.

Summary: I would buy this again as it works and it is cheaper than alternative home automation but I hope the apps, firmware and hardware evolves and reaches its potential soon. LightwaveRF STILL feels like a new technology in it's infancy.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Get one of these and some of the remote lights, sockets or switchs and start to automate and have full control of your house from anywhere in the world.. I use this system to turn lights on and off, complete sequences of lights and device activation when I arrive home and turn everything off in the house with one button... great stuff..
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
For the most part the unit allows you to do what you want. Control your LightwaveRF devices from your phone/tablet via Wifi. The response to commands through the app while on you local wifi is almost instant. Set up is easy and depending on the number of devices you have can take as little as a few minutes.

The remote feature is a whole other issue. Since purchasing and setting up the system I have had to do a full reset (including reinstalling the app on my phone) on three occasions. Initially the remote commands were working fine, there was an understandable delay of a few seconds as the message was routed via the company servers and back to the wifi link. However this soon stopped working, after a full reset all seemed to be fine only for the issue to reoccur two weeks later. Once again I completed a full reset of the system, which fixed the remote access issue. One month on the issue is back and this time a reset has made no difference.

I have contacted the "helpdesk" for LightwaveRF and am still in the middle of back and forth with them, with no solution or cause for the issue in sight.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
I bought this unit (along with some of the associated bulbs and plugs) for a lot less at B&Q recently.

This unit controls the light units very well and reliably. The device communicates with other units via a radio link and the range appears to be excellent so far; reaching further than my WiFi router is able.

Sadly though, the operating software is just not good enough. The website based interface is clunky and poorly designed. For example, you can create timers but not edit them. If you want to change a time, you have to delete it then re-add.

On January 1st, I (and other users according to the forum), had a date displayed on the unit of 32nd December! Although nothing appeared to malfunction because of it, such glaring mistakes don't fill me with confidence as to the quality of the software.

Most seriously though, the main reason for having this expensive add on is to use it as a timer to control events during the day (lights on in the evening etc). The unit's timer system does not reliably work. For no apparent reason, some timers work and others do not.

I cannot recommend this product due to it just not working as advertised. That is a shame as it has great potential. My advice would be to wait until they have fixed all the software issues before considering a purchase.
44 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This device does exactly what the manufacturer promises: provides a quick and simple installation to allow local and remote control of the range of Lightwaverf products , such as sockets and lights.
Once i plugged the unit into my router and applied power the unit booted , found the Lightwaverf server , updated its time and date and was ready fro me to start pairing my devices.
The service from Securicare was perfect , and paying the additional next day courier charge even allowed me to track the delivery driver in real time to ensure I was home in time to receive my delivery.
Disappointingly my original order was with Maplins who claimed to have stock and then sent me conflicting emails claiming they did and then didn't have the stock available, and after a couple of exchanges they eventually cancelled my order for me.

If your interested in entering the world of Home Automation this is a good place to start and Lightwaverf is proving to be a cost effective way to do it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
We use this to control the electric heaters and outside light for the Living Waters Drop In/Prayer centre on Winsford's Queen's Parade. We were able to set up timers and sequences to allow the heating to ocme on an hour before anyone turns up - this means that we don't get frozen for an hour while the rooms warm up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Works well locally, but when timers and sequences are set up it can be unreliable sometimes. I have found some remote commands are intermittently.

The customer support are not very good either, takes days to answer a ticket.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
I just bought the wifi link and 3 sockets to make switching on the lounge lamps easy, and I'm seriously impressed with this stuff. It's technology how it should be, easy to use and configuration free. You plug the wifi link into your router and into the power and switch it on, and that's pretty much it. It gets an IP address from the router, gets the latest time from the internet, updates itself, restarts and just works. Pairing with an iPhone was very easy indeed and once the iPhone was paired adding the sockets was trivial - I reckon 10 minutes from opening the boxes to having an automated lounge lighting system - really surprisingly good.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I love LightwaveRF a great system and toy.

Worked straight from the box and don't believe posts here where they say its difficult to programme or not intuitive!

OK the instructions only give basic operation but half the fun is finding the undocumented functions!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)