Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful selection of Ashton favourites - pure gold!
Frederick Ashton has claim to be my favourite choreographer and whose work unfailingly exudes style, charm, poise and humour to name but few of its attractions. All of these are clearly exhibited in this marvellous disc of choreographic confections.

Les Patineurs depicts various scenes set in an imaginary world of ice-skating. The music is by Meyerbeer arranged...
Published on 20 April 2012 by I. Giles

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Les Patineurs
One of my favourite ballets, arrived promptly, well packed. The actual recording is faulty and breaks up now and then
Published 19 months ago by Pam Hollingworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful selection of Ashton favourites - pure gold!, 20 April 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Frederick Ashton has claim to be my favourite choreographer and whose work unfailingly exudes style, charm, poise and humour to name but few of its attractions. All of these are clearly exhibited in this marvellous disc of choreographic confections.

Les Patineurs depicts various scenes set in an imaginary world of ice-skating. The music is by Meyerbeer arranged and orchestrated skilfully and wittily by Constant Lambert in 1937 and seemingly just as fresh today as it was then. The ballet remains a popular repertoire ballet with revivals most years. The key figure is the `Blue boy, who takes on the role of the `King of the Ice' demonstrating his superior skill at various moments throughout this 27 minute ballet. This role is expertly despatched on this occasion by Steven McRae whose star role is surrounded and enhanced by equally expert pairs and small groups of featured `skaters'.

This fun piece is followed by the 42 minute `Divertissements' which consists of 6 unrelated highlights from previous creations. It is invidious to single out particular pieces or dancers for special mention in such exalted company but for me the `Voices of Spring' pas de deux featuring Carlos Acosta at the height of his considerable powers with Leanne Benjamin must get a special mention. The complete highlight for me however, is the show-stopping performance by Tamara Rojo in an Isadora Duncan cameo where her acknowledgement of applause, still in role, is worth the price of the disc alone!

The final short 24 minute ballet, Scenes de Ballet with music by Stravinsky was reputably Ashton's own favourite ballet and one in which he felt he had achieved the nearest to `symmetrical geometric movements' which achieve their effect from any angle including that seen from the wings. (Information derived from sleeve notes). This is an abstract and modernistic ballet and as such fits the music. It is conceived in eleven short continuous sections and features groups of `four boys, eight girls and two soloists' (sleeve notes) all of whom perform to perfection on this occasion.

This disc, recorded in 2004 and 2010, features current and recent stars of the Royal Ballet all in sparkling form. The costuming is as stylish as the choreography and the music is performed as well as possible. The chosen repertoire is simply wonderful and performed to a very high standard and with evident enjoyment throughout. The camera work complements this balletic feast perfectly and the sound is presented in fine DTS surround or stereo formats. There is an engrossing 30 minute bonus in which we see three extended rehearsal extracts with explanations taken from Les Patineurs.

The whole experience is a total delight and is sure to give enormous pleasure to any purchaser. In my opinion, this is pure 5 star gold!

............................................
Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

Sounds like fun!
(U.K. review)
............................................

A note to the anonymous negative voter:

The voting system is specifically only about reviews being 'helpful' or 'unhelpful'
Goodness only knows what you find to be `unhelpful' about this review.

A negative vote without reason is not helpful to anyone. It does not contribute in any useful way to discussion so no-one can learn from you.
If you have a different view or find the review 'unhelpful' then explain, giving your reasons, and share your views in the comment option as intended.

Your opinion might then add to the total useful advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything of Beauty - Joy forever, even if it is not a blu ray, 11 May 2012
By 
Satish Kamath (India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Les Patineurs is perhaps one of the first sequences of Ballet Music I fell in love with and became ingrained into my musical psyche - I still have the Vinyl record of Charles McKerras conducting this from my dad's collection dating from 1962. (Seeing) The very name of this ballet recorded on DVD - and I just ordered it. All that is to be said about the ballet has already been reviewed by Mr.Giles and I have little to add. Yes, like one reviewer mentioned, I think the Blue Boy could have been a little better, although I have not seen any other version of this ballet live or otherwise. But I can imagine.

BUT SURPRISE :

I thought the other two ballets, whose music by itself is not as popular as a sequence unlike the Patineurs, was a revelation - A further revelation about Ashton's genius, that could be matched only by another great, Ronald Petit... I find a great deal of similarities in the approach, especially their objective of making an evening of ballet both absorbing and entertaining, no questions asked.

The choreography in the Divertissements is a work of a genius and beautifully danced. Of all those, the only one I found to be a little on the superficial (meaning no great treatment, just the usual grind) side was the Tamara Rojo's Brahms solo. Somehow it didn't match the magic of the others.

As far as the Stravinsky Scenes de ballet was concerned, I was blown away. I have known the music well, and to see it danced exactly the way I imagined it could be, was so satisfying. The whole reminded me of the comment telegraphed by the person who commissioned it in the first place who wrote to Stravinsky, "YOUR MUSIC GREAT SUCCESS STOP COULD BE SENSATIONAL SUCCESS IF YOU WOULD AUTHORISE ROBERT RUSSELL BENNETT RETOUCH ORCHESTRATION STOP BENNETT ORCHESTRATES EVEN THE WOKS OF COLE PORTER." To which Stravinsky replied: "SATISFIED WITH GREAT SUCCESS."

So was I with this DVD. Pity those lovers of Ballet who dont have this one in their collection. How I wish ballets like 'La Boutique Fantasque' or 'Gaite Parisienne' and Glazunov's 'Scenes de Ballet' and 'Seasons' are produced and recorded.... I hope this DVD and its sales may prove that point to the powers that be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this excellent disc from the Opus Arte label No OA 1064 ..., 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. M. Roebuck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Founder choreographer of The Royal Ballet, Frederick Ashton created more than 100 ballets over a 60 year career. Showcasing three of his shorter works, this excellent disc from the Opus Arte label No OA 1064 D reflects the breadth of his sophisticated, elegant and widely popular style. Les Patineurs evokes the Edwardian skating rink, with all its youthful charm and humour, in contrast to Scenes de Ballet where sharp geometric shapes and the music of Igor Stravinsky are combined to create perhaps Ashton’s most modernist work. Divertissements, a collection of eight short dances, features some of Ashton’s most lyrical choreography, including pas de deux set to Romantic masterpieces by Tchaikovsky and Massenet. Extra features on the DVD include artist and backstage interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars about time this was released on dvd! (by debbie loves ballet beds uk), 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
i saw this some time ago on tv and am now very happy that it has been released on dvd...excellent selection of frederick ashtons beautiful work which is performed by recent stars of the royal ballet. excellent quality and value for money...love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
All arrived on time, dvd as described, very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet DVD - Frederick Ashton, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I would recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys Ashton choreography. It was extremely varied and colourful and the dancing was beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashton ballets, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Two very different Ashton ballets, & a series of pas de deux & solos, all very well done. They show Ashton's musicality & versatility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it just for Les Patineurs, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I caught part of Les Patineurs on Sky Arts and liked it that much I searched for it on DVD. Although a little pricey (I would expect Bluray for this price) Its definitely worth it, absolutely love Les Patineurs, the other divertissements and scene de ballet are very good (Tamara Rojos turn in the style of isadora duncan is eye opening to say the least .. I think Tamara must be the first 'method' dancer I've ever seen!) but really for me its all about Les Patineurs which is a beautifully charming piece, very Ashton but also (as some of the dancers discussin the extras) also an incredibley demanding work even by modern standards (it was created in 1937)

Treat yourself its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And About Time Too!, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
At last the Royal Ballet has published a decent swag of the works of Frederick Ashton. The whole DVD is a treat for Ashton fans, and for anyone who likes classical ballet. How wonderful to see Scenes de Ballet (and to be able to return to it time and again to study its marvels), not to mention Les Patineurs, Thais pas de deux and other treats.
The dancing is of a high standard, the camera work is straightforward and unfussy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hello, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: Les Patineurs/ Divertissments/ Scènes De Ballet [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Hi Dear,

Sorry about the late review message. I bought this as a gift it was well recieved and im very happy with that thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews