Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read !
If you enjoyed The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings or any other fantasy type novels, then you simply must give David Gemmell a chance. He wrote many books, based around particular 'worlds' which make up a series. Sadly he died a few years ago so these excellent books won't be supplemented in the future. I firmly believe him to be the very best fantasy author of recent times and...
Published on 23 July 2009 by R. Buchan

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but not compelling
I had been waiting eagerly to read David Gemmell's first novel with a female viewpoint character. In his male-viewpoint novels, this author often has compelling female characters. So I expected something really special. Alas, the storyline differed little from the type of historical novel in which a young woman is a ruler's heiress and has to fight to ascertain her claim...
Published on 9 Oct. 2000 by rain_dancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant but not compelling, 9 Oct. 2000
I had been waiting eagerly to read David Gemmell's first novel with a female viewpoint character. In his male-viewpoint novels, this author often has compelling female characters. So I expected something really special. Alas, the storyline differed little from the type of historical novel in which a young woman is a ruler's heiress and has to fight to ascertain her claim. She's a bit more assertive, a bit more aggressive than the average historical heroine, but that's it. The flashback scene to where the heroine was trapped in snow really jarred with me. If I was inside an airpocket amidst a lot of snow and had to survive for as long as possible, my priority would be air. The last thing I would do was to light a match for light and warmth and thus waste oxygen. Yet she is celebrated for her cleverness of keeping herself warm and cosy with a single match. It's a good story, pleasant escapist reading. But if you are looking for compelling situations like in David Gemmell's Legend or Lion of Macedon, then this book would not be the first one I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read !, 23 July 2009
By 
R. Buchan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you enjoyed The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings or any other fantasy type novels, then you simply must give David Gemmell a chance. He wrote many books, based around particular 'worlds' which make up a series. Sadly he died a few years ago so these excellent books won't be supplemented in the future. I firmly believe him to be the very best fantasy author of recent times and strongly urge you to give him a try. He links accepted historical information and moulds it into fiction in such a way that it is very believable and draws you into that world. You really won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ironhands daughter, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Try Gemmell tale. Good folks, evil folks, a smattering of magic and demons. Some surprises and much bloodshed. A good entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn fantasy, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Classic gemmel what more is there to say, fun,mildly deep and not overly taxing to read. Always worth the effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top draw as usual, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Another classic from the late great Mr Gemmell. Since his untimely death, and seeing as I hadn't read all of his work, I have restricted myself to one of his books a year,

Five stars for this one, and if you've never read a Gemmell novel start right here. You will be transported to another world, though a rather familiar one, (he hints at a similarity to 12th century Scotland in a round about way.) with action, twists, and all the usual quality that came from his pen.

A master of his genre at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears flowed, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic book.... it hits the spot!! Fascinating characters and a great story with great hidden undertones... can't wait to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest adventure author ever, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
David Gemmell is a "cant put down" writer this book hust charges along from start to finish, The plot and characters are magnificent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 2 Feb. 2013
By 
S. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. It was good to find a David Gemmell book I had not read before. Thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, great writing, didn't want it to end. Highly recommend his whole series, such a shame he passed away before his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars david gemmell, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As always a David Gemmell read is an experience and always very cleverly written. The story gripped me from beginning to end. It was very graphic in places and at times somewhat bloodthirsty, but the plot was sublime and though I looked for story sections that were not explained later in the book, as I always do, there were none and no holes. Terrific book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ironhand's Daughter (Hawk Queen Book 1)
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews