Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I hope you're still listening, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M (Audio CD)
Although I am giving the same number of stars (as a rounding up of 3.5) as the previous (excellent) review, I am afraid I am not quite as generous in my praise. The standard history of Lambchop is that, after years of anonymity, they hit critical and (relatively speaking) commercial gold with 2000's "Nixon" whence they have returned to below the radar. This is, inevitably, an oversimplification on many levels. It ignores the brilliance of albums such as debut "I Hope You're Sitting Down" and "What Another Man Spills" and 2002's "Is A Woman" and the fact that, happily, "Mr M" has received rather more press attention than any Lamchop release for the best part of a decade.

"Mr M" is a worthy tribute to the late, great Vic Chestnutt whose spirit infuses the tone of the album, but pales slightly in comparison with the afore-mentioned predecessors. Although a number of tracks are from the top-drawer, overall there is not enough variety of sound and consistency of song-writing to confer greatness upon "Mr M".

Wagner's real skills are in his powers of observation and the textures he deploys. Here his lyrics, while heartfelt, are full of cliches while the sound is materially the same as 2006's "Damaged" and 2008's "OH (Ohio"). Although the string ensembles provide a pathos, I miss the richness and variety of instrumentation of yore whose absence highlights the slightness of, say, "2B2" and there is nothing as raucous as "Hellmouth", as soulfully upbeat as "Give Me Your Love" or the change of song within a song as in the case of "Is A Woman".

Significantly two of the standout tracks "Gone Tomorrow" and "The Good Life (Is Wasted)" are (relatively) upbeat with the strongest melodic feel of the album. To even greater effect, "Kind Of" is a torch song par excellence. The lyrics speak directly to the senses and the song grows to an emotional climax, the tension created by the standout performance from the Tosca String Quartet. All these three songs would grace a "best of" Lambchop but to paraphrase a paraphrase, Lambchop's offal is better than most bands banquet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, slow and beautiful, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M (Audio CD)
I like Lambchop. I shouldn't but I do. This is a beautiful album filled with quiet, thought provoking songs (and instrumentals). It is an album to listen to when you are alone contemplating things in general with a glass of something in your hand. One of the best albums ever? (my criteria for a 5 star), then probably not. But a fine effort nevertheless.

Plus I'm always slightly perplexed by the 'alternative country' comparisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band ever, period, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Petter Holmqvist (Malmö, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. M (Audio CD)
So good it's silly.
Not much of a review, I know. But anyway, listen to Gone Tomorrow, and you will catch my drift, as they say. Or you won't get a thing. And then this is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Mr M, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M (Audio CD)
This album is nearly as good as Nixon. There are some really melodic tracks with an almost Van Morrison Astral weeks feel to them. Nice to listen to with a friend, glass or two of wine, log fire....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely vinyl package, 27 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is an excellent vinyl package - you get a gatefold sleeve, double 180g heavyweight vinyl, a code to download the album from the cityslang website (which I have yet to obtain, so dont know if this is lossy or lossless, let's hope it's the latter - edited to add - nope, they're 320kbps MP3's) AND a live DVD of the band. All for £9.99 (amazon price on release day).
The music? Quintessential Lambchop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovelly Vinyl, 27 Feb 2012
By 
B. Jury "benjury" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. M [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is how Vinyl should be packaged. A great gatefold double LP with each disc in a black sleeve with a transparent inlay.

The records themselves are 180g complete with pictured label.

The only issue I have is that the lead-in is very small, which makes it quite difficult to drop the stylus on it on my turntable. But this isn't a very minor blot on an otherwise great package. Its how music should be sold!

At £10 its unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album. Arrived with a tiny delay., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M [VINYL] (Vinyl)
My item arrived later than expected. But it was around christmas, which could be an explanation.
I like Lambchop and it's a fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Vinyl, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mr. M [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I decided to give this a go when I guess a mistake was made, will it be possible to get this again for a tenner? I doubt it!
Still great value though at twice the price.
Great music and a great package:
2 LPs on excellent 180g Vinyl
A beautiful gatefold sleeve with lyric notes, fresh packaging especially for Vinyl (see photos)
A live DVD
Download codes - unlike many downloads, these are top quality and with a set of 6 bonus tracks (5 remixes and a bonus track)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great talent, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. M (MP3 Download)
having just found out last year that lambchop even existed i have missed out on this talented artist who has a way with words that maybe asenine lyrically but they have great depth and are vocally & musically a piece of art which you don't get with today's singers i recommend this album and will be purchasing more lambchop albums check them out on you tube see some live performances that will blow your mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old stereo, 24 Feb 2012
By 
P. CLAYTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. M (Audio CD)
Hi Lambchop lovers! More organic but no less cosmic than say Nixon or Is a Woman that's not to say that they're not all good but these are the standouts as this one could be, well for me anyhow. Breath Deep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. M
Mr. M by Lambchop (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews