Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the BNH!
Classic tracks! Timeless hits! This collection is 38 tracks of total listening pleasure! I love N'Dea Davenport and her voice here is a highlight but it's clear that the boys shine by themselves and also with the other vocalists like Sieddah, Carleen and Nicole. They have this raw, organic funky sound which you can't help but nod your head and shake your feet at.
The...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by J. Taylor

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Digital Clips!!!
Having lost a few BNH albums over the years, I thought I'd buy this for a trip down memory lane.
Music is fine but the manufacturing is off.....

Just starting listening and have already heard two digital clips....

Track One (Disc1) at 0.42
Track 14 (Disc 1) at 1.10

I thought it might have been the way iTunes imported the track...
Published on 28 Sep 2012 by ross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the BNH!, 11 Jan 2012
By 
J. Taylor "chicoeldivo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
Classic tracks! Timeless hits! This collection is 38 tracks of total listening pleasure! I love N'Dea Davenport and her voice here is a highlight but it's clear that the boys shine by themselves and also with the other vocalists like Sieddah, Carleen and Nicole. They have this raw, organic funky sound which you can't help but nod your head and shake your feet at.
The entire Brother Sister album was a classy masterpiece and it is represented here by about 8 tracks - all of which still sound as great as they did back then. Even my friends who don't have a clue who the BNH are, know their version of Midnight at the Oasis! But Fake and Dream on dreamer are just as good.
The Shelter album is also well represented. However, my absolute favourites are the early early hits like Dream come true and Stay this way - which have been on my playlists since 1990. This particular version of Dream come true is fantastic! But where is Never ever? If this is supposed to be the "fullest picture yet", then surely Never ever should be on here?!
There are also gems here that I had never heard before like the super smooth, funk meets hip hop stylings of Who makes the loot featuring Grand Puba and Soul flower featuring the Pharcyde.
I would have liked it if Surrender had been on here too - featuring Nicole. The totally under-rated album with Nicole is only represented by the brilliant Boogie. This just meant that I had to dig the album out in order to get my full fix and hear Surrender, the other single released from that album.
Overall I love how this collection mixes everything together and flips back and forth between the Heavies back-catalogue. Nothing sounds old; it all sounds as fresh and funky as the first time I heard it. I really hope that there is more to come from the Brand New Heavies and N'Dea but in the meantime, this (and, of course, a few live shows!) will make do.
Long live the Brand New Heavies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Vibes, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
This collection will brighten every grey day! It is still a great pleasure to listen to this fantastic band which evolved out of the Acid Jazz movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
A great compilation from a great band. Full of timeless classics from Bluey & co. 2CDs. Has all the favourites & more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Acid Jazz at its best, 19 May 2013
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
For those in the "know", the Brand New Heavies were at the forefront of the scene in the 90's. This collection of their music, is great for fans that were there "back in the day", or the new fans that have just discovered them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Digital Clips!!!, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
Having lost a few BNH albums over the years, I thought I'd buy this for a trip down memory lane.
Music is fine but the manufacturing is off.....

Just starting listening and have already heard two digital clips....

Track One (Disc1) at 0.42
Track 14 (Disc 1) at 1.10

I thought it might have been the way iTunes imported the track (Apple Lossless) so I checked on my Marantz CD60002 cd player, same digital clicks at the same spots.

Not cool at all that the masters weren't checked before duplication....complete joke & very annoying.
Bought from Amazon so I might return, it's not their fault it's the manufacturer Demon Music, so probably not worth the hassle.
Mental note on the manufacturer that their quality control sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The best - not really, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
According to thebrandnewheavies.net, BNH themselves chose the tracklist. Then how come one of their biggest hits "Never Stop" is missing? What is included are the obvious choices. That might be just fine for the average consumer, but with little effort this release could have been much so much more exciting - and appealing even to BNH fans.

The Heavies' 3 most popular albums (BNH, Brother Sister & Shelter) are massively over represented here, but nothing is included from "We Won't Stop" (2003). As this is supposed to be a retrospective, it would have been appropriate to include tracks with Linda Muriel, Jay Ella Ruth and Sy Smith on vocals.

My choices would have included "Got To Give" (1988), "Dream Come True" (w/ Ruth), "Put Yourself In My Shoes" (w/ Muriel), "Never Stop", "Mind Trips", "Surrender", "Keep It Coming", "You Can Do It", "We Won't Stop", "Love Is..." [w/ Sy], "Music" [w/ Sy] and "What Do You Take Me For?" [w/ Russo].

This would have also been a great opportunity to release some great non-album tracks like "C'est Magnifique" and "Touch Of Your Love" on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dream come true.....possibly, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
Was always a fan of the heavies, but only knew their commercial stuff. This CD covers the best of the commercial and non-commercial tracks. It is great to have all their good stff on one compilation but I think that there is perhaps too much on this CD. Sounds weird to be complaining about too much but if you consider being spoilt for choice, there is a danger that you may find yourself skipping tracks halfway through listening to them and ultimately missing a hidden gem that you have never heard before. This is not a critisium of the band as their talent is evident and this is a great listen, my critisium is of the record company trying to cram too much music onto an album. Less is more and spliting these tracks over two compilations in my opinion would have been a better bet, yes I know this option is cheaper for the consumer but less tracks would be a more refined listen.

I still recommend this album for the fans & the curious but I do advise really listening to it and perhaps not all at once. Apologies to the Heavies for the 4 stars, but I think your record company have put just a bit too much filling in an otherwise tasty sandwich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two or three great tracks, thirty duds., 13 Jun 2013
By 
J. Wightman (Newbridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of 20 Years (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of Midnight at the Oasis, a track from my well-remembered past. However, the rest of the album is mostly filler and quite weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of 20 Years
The Best Of 20 Years by Brand New Heavies (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews