Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars383
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2011
The best film anf finally its out of the vault on Blu ray. Also love the 3rd film as it is an interest take on the first film. 2 sides to each story!

However I did buy it from Disney store as they are selling for £25 compared to Amazon at £35. One time i have found Amazon to be a lot more expensive
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2009
There can't be many people who haven't seen the original Lion King but this gives you the chance to see all three films in the trilogy. The first is the best and you might not revisit II and III that often but it is nice to have the full story in one collection. A classic.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2004
This is the definitive Lion King box set, but isn't really worth the money if you own any of the other DVDs. I bought the original lion king a few months ago when it was out in the collectors set, and the Lion King dvd in this pack is the same 2 disc collectors edition. The other two films, Lion King 3 (or 1 1/2 as it's also known) and Lion King Two are the same as the previos releases. There's some special features on all three, Lion King's 1 and 3 being most impressive as a 2 disc set, but all in all this pack is only worth buying if you don't own any. And I must say, The Lion King, that is, the first one, is the best anyway, so if you have that then it's not really worth buying unless you are a die hard collector (like me).
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 September 2015
The Lion King:

Never seen The Lion King before buying the DVD, only really wanted to watch it as friends kept nagging me to.

But really glad i took the chance on it, while yes, it does start pretty sad and at one point i even shed a tear, the second half is so funny, so heart-warming, so uplifting, that it more than makes up for the start of the film.

Will I be watching it again? Yes, 100%.

-----

The Lion King 2:

Didn't enjoy the 2nd Lion King as much as the first, and truth be told I got bored in places. Please don't get me wrong, i'm not saying it's bad, or a awful film, it's just not as good as the first, for me.

The film centers on Simba and Nala's daughter Kiara, who falls in love with Kovu, a male rogue lion from a banished pride that was once loyal to Simba's evil uncle, Scar. Separated by Simba's prejudice against the banished pride and a vindictive plot planned by Kovu's mother, Kiara and Kovu struggle to unite their estranged prides and be together.

Most of the original cast returned to their roles from the first film, apart from Rowan Atkinson, who was replaced by Edward Hibbert as the voice of Zazu for this film and its prequel.

----

The Lion King 3

Out of the 3 Lion King films this one is by far my favourite, just because I totally love Timon and Pumbaa, but then again, who doesn't.

Hakuna Matata is the 3rd & final installment in the Lion King trilogy. The film is a prequel/parallel to The Lion King, and focuses on Timon and Pumbaa before, during and after the events of the original film.

The original cast returns to re-voice their parts, save for a few exceptions: Rowan Atkinson (the original voice of Zazu) was replaced by Edward Hibbert; Jonathan Taylor Thomas (originally Young Simba) is replaced by Matt Weinberg; and James Earl Jones and Jeremy Irons (Mufasa and Scar respectively) did not reprise their roles.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
I will keep this short as everyone knows just how much of a classic The Lion King is and I havent met a soul who didnt love it as a child. Whether you like the two sequels or not it is nice to have the full collection in one very smart-looking boxset and on blu-ray to boot. Great set and well worth the price - I look forward to crying all over again!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2015
It doesn't get much better than this guys, all three 'The Lion King' movies together on DVD, housed in a cardboard box set.

No matter how many times I see 'The Lion King' (1994), my favourite Walt Disney film by far, it will always always inspire me, make me laugh, and yes, I admit, make me cry. The first entry in this wonderful franchise is quite simply an animated masterpiece. Inspired by William Shakespeare's 'Hamlet', the story is incredibly strong, which teaches kids so many very important messages in life, like the importance of true friendship, loyalty, and never forgetting who you are and where you've come from, as well as having to have the courage to overcome any obstacles you may need to, regardless of how big they might be.

It is the tale of a feisty lion cub called Simba who one day will become king of Pride Rock. The only thing standing in his way is his greedy and ambitious Uncle Scar who leads young Simba astray, resulting in him running away from home. Simba grows up with the hilarious best friend duo Timon and Pumbaa, a meerkat and warthog who raise him like their own son. Simba adopts his new pals' care free, rootless, and bug munching lifestyle until one day, his past catches up with him. After confrontation, he must decide when the time is right to return to his birthplace, face his responsibilities and reclaim his rightful place in the 'Circle Of Life'. It's is a timeless story with characters that were destined to become family favourites.

After the huge success of the first film, it would take one outstanding sequel to match the appreciation that both audiences and critics gave to the predecessor, and 'The Lion King 2: Simba's Pride' (1999) is not an outstanding sequel, but it's nevertheless a solid and powerful follow-up. All of the original all-star voice cast returned for the movie, and I have to say that, aside from the brilliant 'Can You Feel The Love Tonight', this film has even greater songs, my favourite being 'We Are One'.

Here we are introduced to Kiara, Simba's strong-willed, independent daughter who craves an exciting life away from her protective father's watchful eye. Despite Timon and Pumbaa's efforts, she quickly encounters danger. The danger is in the shape of another young lion, Kovu, who has been groomed to lead Scar's pride. The two lions quickly befriend each other and come to realise that they aren't so different - persuading Simba is the difficult part.

The final film in the trio is 'The Lion King 3' (2003), which explains Timon's early years and how he met Pumbaa, but ultimately tells the story of the first movie - through the eyes of the two buddies.

I don't think that this one should be taken all that seriously, it's just a bit of fun viewing, contradicting the first in places, but don't look into it, just watch it is my advice. Timon and Pumbaa take their audience on a backstage peak at how 'The Lion King' could have been. From their unique perspective, the results are hilarious, tounge-in-cheek and really, it makes fun of itself and the first film. This is definitely one for the Timon and Pumbaa fans.

So, in short, a Walt Disney classic that happens to be my favourite animated movie of all time, a wonderful sequel, and a fun little third. If you don't already own them separately, now is your chance to have them all together in one.

Note: 'The Lion King' DVD here is the 'Diamond Edition', and frankly, it should have been more. Whilst the film looks incredible, the menus look wonderful with music playing in the background (as do the other two), the only special feature on the disc is a retrospective with the director. I can never rate the film anything less than five stars, and that's what's important, but come on Disney - 'The Lion King' deserves much better.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I love these three films i've had them on video from when i was younger and i loved them then and i love them even more now in high definition. Perfect there is no other word to describe it. it's fantastic a real joy to watch. films to watch over and over again and not get bored. Songs are brilliant xXx
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a fantastic set all three lion king movies in one box for me the best is the first one a very moving film it starts with sim a being born and then growing up seeing his father die running away finding a new life with a hog and meerkat to then come back to save the pride from his evil uncle scar. This has everything family love honour betrayal and a lot of funny moments the soundtrack is great done mainly by Sir Elton John and Tim rice
The second and third are good and worth watching but I mainly love the first one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
This set is fantastic, it comes in a very nice solid box with the three Blu-Ray cases inside, there are plenty of special features for all three of the films and all three films have subtitles in English, English for the hearing impaired, Spanish, Portuguese and Dutch.
I don't think anyone needs a review of the original 'Lion king' film, we all know it's one of Disney's best, but if you haven't seen the sequels then I'd definitely recommend this set.
The second film is a continuation of the first story and though it doesn't quite have the same impact, it's a good, well made sequel , not just a second rate money spinner.
The third in the series isn't really a sequel at all as it plays along side the first film except it's from Timone and Pumba's perspective and it's very clever and very funny to see it from their point of view.
So all in all a great set with tons of extras and it doesn't cost much more than the Dvd set, a bargain I say !
1616 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
... I bought this box, because in the product information there is written, there would be German audio on the blu rays. I was really disappointed, when I unpacked the blu rays, and saw there was no German audio on them. Sending the blu rays back to uk would be too expensive.
But it is still a great box of three great movies, it just does not match the product information.
review image review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse