Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about the 'real' thing
New Jersey's Real Estate excel for the most part on their second album, 'Days'; a collection of catchy if slightly indistinct fuzzy indie-pop/rock gems. 'It's Real', the one track from the album to get a bit of genuine radio play this side of the pond is probably the album's highlight - an irresistibly catchy, bouncy song full of 'oh-oh-ohhh''s and melodic, reverb-heavy...
Published on 7 April 2012 by Mr. D Burin

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They Do Go On
I can't make my mind up about this one. On first play, I really liked the album. Nice jangly songs with a solid pop hart. Then over the next few listens I started to get bored. Some of the songs are quite long and the riffs go on and on and on. I'm a big fan of this type of music, but I just felt that the songs had little substance and weren't that strong. However,...
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by E. R. Hartley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about the 'real' thing, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days (MP3 Download)
New Jersey's Real Estate excel for the most part on their second album, 'Days'; a collection of catchy if slightly indistinct fuzzy indie-pop/rock gems. 'It's Real', the one track from the album to get a bit of genuine radio play this side of the pond is probably the album's highlight - an irresistibly catchy, bouncy song full of 'oh-oh-ohhh''s and melodic, reverb-heavy guitar. The rest of the album is along the same lines, slightly too much so in fact; with a lack of variety being the main criticism I'd level at the album. Singer Martin Courtney's voice is also quite often too far back into the mix of songs to get its full impact across - but he gets a chance to properly air it on the album's superb closer 'All the Same', a track which feels both fresh and modern, whilst also bringing back echoes of the jangly guitar of bands from The Byrds to The Stone Roses. And it's this that makes Real Estate such an appealing band. They've adapted a lot of what made various genres great, from the fuzzy pop of Slumberland bands to the polished, complex melodies of more recent acts like The New Pornographers; and injected a new kind of laid-back vibrancy. The band as a whole are technically skilled, meaning that whilst 'Days' could do with a few more variations in style, they're musically adept enough to stop things from feeling too repetitive; and Real Estate do clearly have an ear for a pleasing, sunny rhythm.

One or two tracks feel a bit more filler than killer on 'Days', most notably the dull instrumental 'Kinder Blumen' and the underwhelming 'The Wonder Years', but they're more than made up for by the bittersweet fingerpicking of 'Green Aisles', and the youthful yearning of 'Three Blocks'. On 'Days', Real Estate have honed and improved the sound which made their debut album a likeable but rather inconsistent one. Whilst they could do with exploring some new directions musically, Real Estate are a band with serious promise, who have produced a really good record with 'Days'. Relaxed, summery and with a knowing tinge of sadness, it's an album with a good feel about it; and a band with more than enough musical skill to make that feeling translate. I'd certainly recommend this album, and look forward to seeing where Real Estate go with their next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatific, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
No one creates such a peerless soundtrack evoking a lazy, Endless Summer like Real Estate. The eponymous debut LP was a fantastic, fuzzy beach bum's daydream that quickly became a favourite of mine to banish the blues and accompany the sunshine. The follow up is more of the same blissful 80s inspired jangle but boasting its tunes this time round with a clear, crisp production reminiscent of Stephen Street's work with The Smiths. Calling it stoner music does it a great disservice - the mood is more of an innocent breeziness and the musicianship is so tight and entrancing it's hardly the aimless jamming the phrase conjures.

As before I imagine for the first-time listener it will take a few listens for the distinct mood to wash over and take a hold. A criticism often levelled at Real Estate is that the songs can seem repetitive but this misses the point - it is meant to be a trance-like flow, creating a locked groove from a perfectly formed riff and running with it. This is how a cohesive album with a statement of intent should be. Closer repeat listens reveal beautiful, subtle little details in percussion, phazing guitars and vocal harmonizing which dip in and out of the mix. I wonder whether closing track 'All The Same's title is accompanied by a wry smile from the band...

It's kind of pointless to separate out tracks but the singalong joy of 'It's Real' is an irresistible woozy pop rush that stands out.

This is getting heavy rotation in my car and is destined to be the soundtrack of this summer for me - if you have room in your heart for this kind of chiming guitar pop, you'll rarely find better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They Do Go On, 30 Nov 2011
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
I can't make my mind up about this one. On first play, I really liked the album. Nice jangly songs with a solid pop hart. Then over the next few listens I started to get bored. Some of the songs are quite long and the riffs go on and on and on. I'm a big fan of this type of music, but I just felt that the songs had little substance and weren't that strong. However, having come back to the album after a few weeks, I've been enjoying it a lot more discovering some subtle depths to the arrangements and am generally becoming favourably inclined towards the NJ combo. Not a very useful review, I know. I'd definitely recommend a listen...or two...or even ten. They aren't going to change the world but they might leave a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stuff (strong 4), 2 Aug 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
Originality seems to be becoming a point of contention more and more when discussing the merits of contemporary rock bands, mainly because most modern groups seem to find the centuries of music offered up to them via the internet's various streaming sites too irresistable not to cherry pick from. Real Estate are another indie band that's been criticized and revered in equal measure, essentially for combining the wet spring reverb of late 50's Surf Rock with the alternative jangle of IRS years R.E.M. I would say Real Estate are little unfortunate to have the dreaded revivalism tag thrown at them so wantonly though, as it's a fairly original synthesis of styles even if the merger fails to really mask their said influences.

Whether you find the music on Days the bands sophomre album a triumph or not, will probably come down to how ascetic you are about these things. Personally they had me with their stellar single "It's Real". That song couldn't be anymore of an instant classic if it tried, the delicious chord progressions and heavenly harmonies make it one of those songs you just always want to hear regardless of your mood. "Easy" is another standout from the album, it has the uniquely brilliant quality of evoking feelings of nostalgia and tranquility in equal measure and the title couldn't be any more appropriate as this all sounds so gosh darn effortless to them. It makes you wonder why they didn't go the whole hog and call the album easy, but that probably has a lot do with how the lyrics are principally concerned with the sacred feeling of youthful abandonment.

"Green aisles" in particular highlights this bands modus operandum by defiantly reminiscing about the joys of living a life thats aloof and uncomplicated "Our careless lifestyle, it was not so unwise." Hardly Keats you're most likely mumbling to yourself, but when Martin Courtney sings it you can't help feeling moved by his sentiments. Take "Wonder Years" to, initially a pretty typical sounding love song but with lines like "The wonder years passed me by, faraway but still on my mind" you're reminded of that indescribably tragic feeling of what life felt like to be young opposed to just hopelessly lovesick. I should point out that this isn't some sort of concept record about suburban bliss it's just music that has an undeniably wistfull vibe, which kind of brings me full circle. A nostalgic sounding record about nostalgia, was bound to invite some naysayers to point their fingers in retrospect i guess, but i'm thoroughly convinced that most who listen to this superb album won't give a monkeys about any of that and will just want to get lost in this music's shimmering grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Timeless album, 23 Dec 2011
By 
N. Thorp (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
What a great band Real Estate are. I heard 'It's Real' on the radio a couple of times, and was instantly hooked on its Beach Boys / Indie vibe, and I had to check them out.

A few plays on Spotify and I was hooked - their first album is really good too, although the recording of that one is a bit too 'Lo-Fi' for my tastes. No such reservations on this second album though. Beautiful chiming guitars, blissed out vocals and great songs - what a cracker. Like I say, part mixture of the Beach Boys, The Smiths, Jonathon Richman and a cult favourite of mine, the Feelies.

Give it a few plays and it will sneak into your psyche - key tracks: Easy, Its Real, Kinder Blumen and Such a Shame. However, the entire thing is great. One of the albums of the year - definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting guitar pop, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
I recently heard 'It's real' being played frequently on 6music and decided to investigate further as it is such a gorgeous, melodic, feel good tune.

Turns out the album is a bit of a belter too, chilled out summery guitar pop tunes are plentiful (if a bit short). The closest modern day contemporaries that I can think of are Fleet Foxes and Band of Horses but I think Real Estate are better than either of them. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album i've heard in years!!!!, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Days (MP3 Download)
Stunningly simple album, with beautiful melodies, great songs and wonderful songs from start to finish.

If you like a blend of Crosby/stills/nash/young mixed with The Stone Roses debut album then this is for you!!!!! Buy it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. G. Sharpe "Book Reader" (Essex, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Days (Audio CD)
I have listened to this many times and it is brilliant, three blocks is the best track on the album. Give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All the same & easy., 7 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Days (MP3 Download)
Let me start by saying that this album isn't full of 'catchy gems', isn't 'conveying feeling' and doesn't quickly engage.

It's all rather samey, one-paced, uninteresting, uninspiring, quite dull sounding 'background music'. Yeah! just what the world needs - more background music!

Nothing unique or original here. It's all a bit limp and flat. A good cure for insomnia no doubt. 2 stars for being able to play instruments well. Assuming these guys work as real estate agents, i'd say 'don't give up your day jobs just yet'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Days
Days by Real Estate
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews