Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable YA story., 11 Aug 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review

Ok so this isn't the memory of flames series. But i don't think it ever pretends to be. This is Young Adult Fiction, a genre that is riddled with cliched rubbish. Deas doesn't do that he doesn't talk down to these young readers and as such provides a series that is a spawning ground for imagination and draws new readers into one of the finest genres around. He provides great characters great locations a great world for you the readers to go to and forget reality. This is full on fantasy, just mildly toned down for the YA market and yet still providing a tale that me a 40 year old can enjoy as well.
Its fantastic work and recommended
(Parm)

Book description
Berren is not enjoying himself. Trapped in a temple, forced to learn how to read, how to write and how to recall the histories of the Saints, all he wants is to be given a sword. As a thief-taker's apprentice he imagined a world of daring night-time chases, glorious victories and a life of excitement. His dreams aren't quite coming true. So when a prince - the first and last prince he'll ever see - hires the thief-taker as a bodyguard, Berren is thrilled. When he hears that a troupe of Dragon Monks - exotic warriors and the best swordsmen in the world - are visiting, he sees an opportunity to learn how to fight. When one of the Monks turns out to be a girl of the same age, his future suddenly seems a lot brighter. But when a shadowy figure launches an attack on the life of Prince Sharda, Berren finds himself plunged into a world of danger, intrigue and terror. He may discover that being trained with a sword isn't enough - sometimes, you have to know who to fight. Sequel to the best-selling THE THIEF-TAKER'S APPRENTICE, THE WARLOCK'S SHADOW drags the reader back in to the nocturnal and dangerous world of Berren, orphan and reluctant hero. Perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan and Robin Hobb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon stop overcharging for Kindle e-books, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker Series) (Kindle Edition)
Amazon you need to respect your customers - stop abusing your monopoly over Kindle e-book distribution by overcharging. It should NEVER be more expensive to buy the e-book version than a hard copy version. Can you imagine how galling it is to receive endless spam e-mails from you telling me that the hardback version of a book is cheaper than the electronic version. And pay your taxes like everybody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the way stephen deas writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker Series) (Kindle Edition)
brilliant read couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Warlocks Shadow, 23 May 2012
This was a good book and a good easy read. Nice and quick but full of descriptions. I would say it is for perhaps a younger audience. Maybe the 14-16 as the main character is about the same age. But an enjoyable read all round and would very much recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker Series) (Kindle Edition)
Nicely delveoped characters and world, descriptive writing style, balanced with action, almost perfect.

The story mainly revolves around Berren a young 15-16 year old street urchin who seems to have this constant drive to want to master the sword so that he can gain respectability.

He is taught by a master thief taker who has another agenda going on besides thief taking and a young girl who he falls in love with.

Overall, a good plot, enjoyable story, a few unecessary twists I thought and a lot of potential for more books in the series.

In my opinion this book is a good sequel, better than the first book, though capable of being read as a stand alone too.

I have a couple of gripes with the book, which is why I am not giving it 5 stars.

1. If the hero had been taught to fight then he would not be in such constant danger, instead though he is constantly exposed to danger, but has to rely on others to defend him.

2. The next book has not been released yet.

3. Couple of flaws in logic:

4. Seems no one ever baths, though there are plenty of references to people smelling i.e. poor vs rich.

5. Short of money living on gruel, opportunity to collect wealth not taken.

6. Throwing arms and armour away while hiding one sword, makes one think why did they not hide more than the one sword.

7 Plenty of opportunity to aquire a sword, but...

8 Going into combat without a sword.

9 Not giving the thief taker the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews