Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have all the time in the world
An original Doctor Who novel, telling an all new Doctor Who story that hasn't appeared in any other medium.

It runs for two hundred and fifty five pages, and is divided into twenty chapters plus a prologue and an epilogue.

It features the Eleventh Doctor plus Amy and Rory.

The three main characters are perfectly written with dialogue that...
Published on 9 July 2011 by Paul Tapner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Borrowed Time
'You want more time Mr Brown, of course you do. We all want more time. Let me make you an offer...'

Andrew Brown never has enough time. No time to call his sister, or to prepare for that important presentation at the bank where he works. The train's late, the lift jams. If only he'd had just a little more time. And time is the business of Mr Symington and Mr...
Published 15 months ago by kk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have all the time in the world, 9 July 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An original Doctor Who novel, telling an all new Doctor Who story that hasn't appeared in any other medium.

It runs for two hundred and fifty five pages, and is divided into twenty chapters plus a prologue and an epilogue.

It features the Eleventh Doctor plus Amy and Rory.

The three main characters are perfectly written with dialogue that you can well imagine their tv versions saying.

And the book is suitable for readers of all ages.

The prologue is rather vague. But deliberately so. But after that the prose becomes exceptionally readable. As we're introduced to Andrew Brown. An employee in a bank who is rather drifting through life and to whom work has become everything. We meet him as he has a bad day which leads to him failing dismally at an important presentation.

His luck seems to change when he meets two strange men who can give him all the time he needs. Literally. He will have to pay some back but the interest rate is very reasonable.

Then along come the TARDIS crew, after a mishap on a holiday leads to the Doctor wanting to teach Amy and Rory about a financial crisis. Visiting the bank where Andrew works, they quickly discover strange things going on there. And when someone close to the Doctor makes a deal they come to regret, it's a race against time. Literally.

There's a lot to delight in this one. Very readable prose makes the story fly by. The supporting cast are all well drawn with very believable motivations. There are some delightful throwaway lines and ideas which really add to depth to the tale and the setting. It will teach you a few things about how high finance works. And interest rates.

It does offer a few good plot surprises and twists and turns.

And one rather pleasing continuity reference.

Plus the way things are resolved is rather neat.

Since it deals with time and time travel it's a complex narrative so you do need to keep your wits about you, but you will be rewarded if you do.

And at heart it's about a very real human desire. The desire for all the time you could ever need. It does raise some moral food for thought on that, and lets the reader draw their own conclusions. Also about certain practises of the financial sector as well.

A throughly entertaining read and a well above average entry in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read, 12 Sep 2011
This original Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory novel is a perfect compliment to the current TV series. The characters are just as they appear on the show, while the villains and the plot are both definitely worthy of Steven Moffat's twisted fairytale vision. All in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beg, borrow, steal some time to read this, 13 July 2011
By 
Mr. K. Mahoney "Kevin Mahoney" (Punked Books, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It wasn't so long ago that BBC Books scored a coup by publishing a Michael Moorcock Doctor Who novel, The Coming of the Terraphiles. That was an okay book, but I was even more delighted when the latest load of Doctor Who review copies arrived, as one of the authors' names really leapt out at me. Could `Naomi A. Alderman' be the `Naomi Alderman' who won the Orange Prize for New Writers with her debut novel Disobedience in 2007? A quick scan of the accompanying press release revealed that it was indeed so. Naomi Alderman was also named by Waterstones as one of their Writers for the Future in 2007. I find it really exciting that BBC Books are able to commission authors of such extraordinary calibre, following the lead of the TV show, which has recently called on the talents of Richard Curtis and Neil Gaiman. Could Doctor Who be in danger of becoming part of the literary establishment? I certainly hope so. To make things even more stellar, Borrowed Time is partly dedicated to Naomi Alderman's cousin, Samuel West, who may or may not be the well-regarded actor of the same name who incredibly appeared in the lamentable Doctor Who/EastEnders crossover Dimensions in Time for Children in Need in 1993 only a couple of years after starring in Howards End, and who also played the Time Lord Morbius in a Big Finish audio adventure. Needless to say, all this pedigree allowed Borrowed Time to jump quite a few places on my to-read list!

It takes Naomi Alderman a couple of chapters to get going, but once she does, she really hits the ground running. Her characterisation of the Doctor, Amy, and Rory are spot on. The henchmen Symington and Blenkinsop appear to have stepped right out of The Matrix (the Wachowski movie, rather than the Time Lord databank), especially when they become `duplicated' and start hunting down the Doctor and his friends as a horde. However, Mr Symington and Mr Blenkinsop turn out to be quite literally loan `sharks', with the added propensity of biting chunks out of anyone that gets in their way, and they're a great example of how Naomi Alderman takes a simple idea to its logical (and somewhat surreal) extremes. The main plot is just as clever, featuring several employees of Lexington International Bank who have borrowed just a bit too much time from the aforementioned henchmen as they attempt to get at least one step ahead of their colleagues. Since time is the commodity that's being traded, it's not long before the Doctor becomes embroiled in the events at Lexington Bank. However, despite the fact that Amy knows the Doctor abhors dodgy dealings with time travel, she can't help but take Symington and Blenkinsop up on their offer to allow her a rare opportunity of visiting her parents. Since the novel's set in 2007, one would have thought that she'd run the risk of bumping into herself, but fortunately, the `real' Amy appears to have spent a great deal of time away from home in Leadworth in 2007. It's just as well that Symington & Blenkinsop's watch has a Blinovitch Limitation Limitation though.

In some places, especially with regards to the explanation of compound interest, Borrowed Time comes dangerously close to following Doctor Who`s original remit of being educational, to the extent that even a financial market is brought vividly to life (albeit a temporal one). Yet Alderman's novel is also very much a thriller, and her well-thought-out plot will have keep you royally entertained as you rapidly flick through its pages. Borrowed Time is also very funny, and it's very evident that Naomi Alderman knows her Doctor Who lore. As she writes in the acknowledgements, Naomi Alderman's first exposure to Doctor Who was a video of The Robots Of Death [1978] [DVD] [1963], and you can't really go wrong with an introduction like that. To my delight, Naomi Alderman also utilises the vworp, vworp noise to representation the landing of the TARDIS, something she's borrowed from the Doctor Who comic strips (if only the subtitles for the TV show would do the same!) Borrowed Time is a very clever satire on both our current 24 hours a day culture, and the 2007 banking crisis, since the novel's events are set just before the beginnings of this calamity. Indeed, in my opinion, Borrowed Time could very well be the best novel written yet on the banking crisis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time on your hands?, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a fairly standard Doctor Who story - aliens (working in pairs, why do they always seem to be in pairs of odd men who finish each others' sentences?) who can offer you back all the time you never seem to have enough of. Too good to be true? Well, yes actually.

The characters are all well put together - the Doctor, Amy and Rory are well portrayed and the characters in the bank, and the aliens, are, overall well rounded and played through the storyline.

A good, readable, Doctor Who story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Doctor Who books!, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Alex S (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read most of the Doctor Who novels released since the series re-launch in 2005, and this is definitley one of the best. All of the Series 6 (2011) novels have been amazing, in fact.

A must read for any Doctor Who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Doctor Who story, 4 Sep 2013
I really enjoyed this. It was Doctor Who meets Momo via Neil Gaiman. It was a plot that mocked the banking crisis, borrowing on credit, compound interest and loan sharks. I think this is my favourite Amy, Rory and the Doctor novel to date. It was a fun time travel story and mocked the career hungry and money hungry world we live in without being heavy handed. It was also nice to have a woman writer for a Doctor Who story as they are far too few and far between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loan sharks, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As subtle as a flying sledge hammer. If this had been one of the 1.78 books, it would have got 5 stars.

Not really difficult the guess the ending, but is a good yarn. Loads of action and the characters ring true. Not a classic, but as a holiday read it works just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Borrowed Time, 14 April 2013
'You want more time Mr Brown, of course you do. We all want more time. Let me make you an offer...'

Andrew Brown never has enough time. No time to call his sister, or to prepare for that important presentation at the bank where he works. The train's late, the lift jams. If only he'd had just a little more time. And time is the business of Mr Symington and Mr Blenkinsop. They'll lend him some - at a very reasonable rate of interest.

Detecting a problem, the Doctor, Amy and Rory go undercover at the bank. But they have to move fast to stop Symington and Blenkinsop before they cash in their investments.

A thrilling all-new adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Frequently Bought Together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun..., 31 Mar 2013
By 
Luke D. Billings "anonisthe1" (Leicestershire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Borrowed Time (Unabridged) (Audio Download)
Voiced by a familiar face from the series, this is a fast paced story with some very tense moments. We have the doctor throwing himself into a seemingly innocent corporate world. Meanwhile, Amy is left to her own devices and begins to snoop around... In true Amy fashion she manages to get herself in a huge mess.

A great listen. Some interesting Doctor back story comes up too, which is always a good sign in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My niece is a massive doctor who fan and very much enjoyed reading this book. good for any doctor who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews