Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential for any Ape Fan!
Planet of the Apes is one of those films that stays with you. No matter how old you were when you first watched it, it's imaginative imagery and pulp story really gets inside you and changes you forever. I have always loved these films and I was super excited when I heard that 20th Century Fox were going to release a definitive collection of every Ape movie on Blu Ray and...
Published 19 months ago by Drew.B.

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent
The films deserve 5 stars. But this packaged product is flawed. It is rediculous that all films do not have the same subtitles. The first 6 have many european language subtitles but the last is offering only chinese and whatnot. Laughable compilation decisions never ceases to amaze. It's like buying a three titted cow, usable but still flawed.
Published 10 months ago by Leif Knudsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential for any Ape Fan!, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Planet of the Apes is one of those films that stays with you. No matter how old you were when you first watched it, it's imaginative imagery and pulp story really gets inside you and changes you forever. I have always loved these films and I was super excited when I heard that 20th Century Fox were going to release a definitive collection of every Ape movie on Blu Ray and boy did they do a good job! All 7 films have been given the Hi Def treatment and they look and sound better than they ever have! Fox also packed each disc with enough extras and insightful titbits to keep you entertained for many more hours. If you are an Ape man then this box set should be a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Bought for a xmas present for someone, love the films well packeaged good quality set of blue rays here and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
This is a great box set containing all the films and at a bargain price.less than 20 for all these films on blu ray is a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
It's very nice to see again all the saga of the old films. But I must admit that hadn't seen all of them and some of the old one are really bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOOOOO!, 10 July 2012
By 
K. Wellman (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Great value for money, paid 19.99 for this where as I would have bought the blu-ray of Rise anyway which probably would have cost me at least a tenner. All the films are in here 2 of which I dont think I've ever seen on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have boxset!, 18 Dec 2011
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a must-have boxset of my favourite film franchise. Each film is within a thin DVD case. A beautiful thing. The only downside being you know another boxset will be released when the sequel to Rise is released.

The great thing about the Planet of the Apes franchise is the longetivity of it; 43 years so far as the idea behind it is still as fresh today as it was back in the 60s.

For the ignorant, the boxset covers the original film 'Planet of the Apes' (my favourite film of all time), a film with obvious then-topical political themes and one-liners still quoted today and an ending a film-maker would die for! The four sequels 'Beneath The Planet of the Apes', 'Escape From The Planet of the Apes', 'Conquest Of The Planet of the Apes' and 'Battle For The Planet of the Apes', despite their ever decreasing budget created a much loved world. Tim Burton's average 're-imagining' 'Planet of the Apes' threatened to destroy the franchise but you can't keep a good thing down and eventually 2011 saw the 2nd yet successful attempt to relaunch the franchise with 'Rise of the Planet of the Apes.' The characterisation of the apes and special effects was, for me, the success of the film, with unfortunately the storyline being a little too simple and linear to my liking.

I rate this boxset a 5 out of love for the franchise and a superb boxset produced.

Still waiting for a definitive boxset which includes the TV and cartoon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars German Audio/ Deutscher Ton!, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Ich schreibe dies Information für alle, die sich diese Kollektion aus Deutschland bestellen wollen.
Die Filme verfügen über eine deutsche Tonspur! Auch das Menü ist in Deutsch (falls euer Player Deutsch als Standardsprache eingestellt hat).

Den Schuber an sich finde ich nicht sonderlich hübsch. Jede Disc ist in einer eigenen Slimcase-Hülle. Ist mir aber relativ egal, da der Preis einfach unschlagbar ist. (Nach Deutschland 33Euro mit Versand für sieben Filme!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Ape, 15 Jan 2012
By 
Jonathan G. Lloyd "JOn" (Chestefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed this outing in the Planet Of the Apes series. I remembered the original films from the 60's & 70's and the 2001 remake. hoped that the remake should had a sequel but that never happened. I hope that there is a sequel to this new chapter. the effects in the new film are great as is the references to the original films.

Go get it if you like adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Marathon!, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Sure what else would you spend 20 on for this many hours entertainment?
I had a monkey-marathon the other night and it was great fun. Great value for money. The latest movie I think is brill, and on blu-ray is superb. Some of the old movies are naff, but it's a good laugh all the same. Some I never even saw, some brought me back. The original is still a legend movie, just not as dramatic or actioned as I remember. All in all, I think it's a good buy for the collection.

Edit March '13 - I can't believe the price of this has more than doubled since last year. For 20 it was great value, but 45, eh I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars planet of the APES, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
What a blast from the past ....takes me back to my teens ....lol
its great to have all the films in blue ray ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11330d98)

This product

Planet of the Apes: Evolution Collection [Blu-ray] [1968]
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews